We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better way to see Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No better way to see Boston”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I should start by saying - I live in Boston... and yes, I stay here. Whenever I can.
- When we come into town with the kids - we stay here.
- When we have friends visiting for the weekend - they stay here.
- When I have clients in town - I put them up here.
There is simply no other place to stay in Boston that provides a family friendly atmosphere, flawless business amenities, great dining options (on site!), a phenomenal location (access to EVERYTHING via the T) and super friendly service.
The front desk and concierge staff will exceed your expectations and the rooms are twice the size of any other brand-name downtown hotel.
If the fact that the entire hotel is shaped like a ship doesn't impress you, its copious amenities surely will. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room - if you can't get one when booking you can usually sweet-talk the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontknowhowshedoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    731
    220
    88
    40
See reviews for
715
589
50
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Access to freedom trail and T-station for transportation was excellent. You are only 2 stops on the T from the airport. Very easy to get to. My only complaint is that the guy at the front desk talked me into eating at the Marriott restaurant when I said I wanted clam chowder and I was going to go to Legal Seafood. The Marriott clam chowder was not that good. But otherwise I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MySeaBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Boston Marriott Long Whart for a couple of nights for a work/leisure trip - one of us worked while the other one played tourist ;)

The hotel is located right by the water and close to Fanueil Hall Marketplace. There are a LOT of shops and restaurants within walking distance. It is close to Northend and, trust me, you are going to want to go back to that area especially for the cannolis at Mike's Pastry (yum!) Note about Mike's Pastry: the shop is crowded but do not be intimidated; it is well worth it but I guess I should write a separate review about this place.....

Since the lobby is located on the second level, it had a rather odd "sense of entry" into the hotel. There was some construction going on during our stay and it can get loud in the daytime. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffets at the Waterline restaurant located on the lobby floor were good - not great but good if you want the convenience of a decent breakfast.

Our special thanks to Alex from security for administering first aid due to a sprained ankle and for the cannolis!!! You made us feel most welcome during our stay at the Marriot Long Wharf.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingCows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Lovely location within walking distance of many attractions and one of the Trolley bus companies. It was an "impersonal" hotel, with little sense of customer intimacy but very comfortable rooms, restaurant and helpful concierge and reception. Gym and pool also nice and views over the harbour very pleasant. However........if you are a Marriott Gold Card holder don't raise your hopes that you can enjoy the lounge and complimentary breakfast......it was like a rugby scrum and staff members in this lounge were rude and uncaring.....lots of kids when we were there too. Instead, just pay a lotta dollars for a vey nice buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order by a wonderful, mature and elegant Chinese female chef in the normal restuarant.

Room Tip: ask for harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thanks for the note, depending on the number of Gold and Platinum Guests in-house, the concierge lounge could see some high volume as you have described. Our new breakfast buffet in our Waterline Restaurant is a great option for breakfast. We have upgraded our offerings and now the daily buffet has over 50 items including our signature Lobster Omelet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Mystic, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

A nice conversion job here of what I guess was an old warehouse. A bit industrial but that is due to its size and maybe felt that way because it was a busy night we stayed. Nice fairly spacious rooms but not so great bathroom products. Liked the bar, the man did a mean vodka martini. Helpful service from all concierge to barman. No complaints and would stay again. Plenty going on in the area.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have a good view - one side over harbour, the other the Aquarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
You are correct, our location is the best in Boston. If you like the regular vodka martini at the bar, you would enjoy some of our new infused vodka martinis that we create and change weekly. Currently working on a caramel and apple infusion, it's delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel is located right on the Wharf. We were on the concierge floor and the concierge lounge has huge picture windows that look onto the water. The views from both the lounge and our room were beautiful.

The hotel is located next to the Boston Acquarium and the IMAX theatre, is a close walk to Boston North area and is near the Freedom Trail. Location is great.

The check in for the hotel is located on the second level.

Rooms had the typical great Marriott bedding with very comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. I always think Marriott could improve the quality of its toiletries, and this hotel was no exception.

Serve was excellent. We were allowed both an early check in and a late check out, as we were at the hotel during Hurricane Irene. This accommodation was very beneficial in light of canceled fligths and inclement weather.

The appetizers, drinks and desserts in the concierge lounge were plentiful and of good quality. One of the reasons I prefer Marriott's with a concierge lounge is I love being able to go in and obtain a diet coke, a bottle of water, a piece of fruit etc., throughout the day without spending $5 from a mini bar for a diet coke.

Would definitely return if in Boston again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Beautiful property undergoing renovation, but don't let that stop you from experiencing it. The concierge lounge far, far exceeded our expectations. The concierge with the "keys" on his lapel was world-class. Even the housekeeping staff was pleasant and attentive to details. They even have an employee at the bottom of the escalator acting as a concierge-at-large. WHAT SERVICE! I cannot wait to stay at this property once the renovations are complete. LOVE this Marriott property. Plus, the trolley and the T station are both right at the property's edge, so location is prime. $$$ but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,582 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#50 of 83 in Boston
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing