We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was my third visit to this Marriott and it was even more enjoyable than the prior two. Our room was ready for an early arrival, including a cot in the room and we had an excellent view of the harbor and North End of Boston. We were also afforded a late check-out. All accommodations were great and the updates to the hotel since our last visit were most pleasing. We enjoyed the pool and spa as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room when facing the aquarium side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bal1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    702
    211
    83
    38
See reviews for
687
562
48
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Room was decent, with a great view of the park and harbor. Room was clean, quiet and roomy. Internet connection was fine, tv big. Conference rooms were really good, big but comfortable. The aquarium was close, enjoyed the tour. Close to the airport. Gym was adequate, with new equipment. Staff were fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomspottiswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Marriott Boston Long Wharf on the way to visit family for 2 days/1 night at the end of September. They have a bit of construction at the front entrance but other than that, it's a lovely hotel. The lobby, hallways and rooms are very nice and clean with pleasing decor. It has a light contemporary feel to the place with a degree of classiness. We had a partial view of the wharf which was great. Staff we interacted with were very polite and friendly; from the maid to the front desk to the concierge. (He had fabulous recommendations for eating establishments and we followed them all to our satisfaction.) This location is close to EVERYTHING first time travelers to Boston would like to visit. And Starbucks is in the first floor lobby (if this is important to you...and it is to me!) We will stay here again when we travel to Boston. Can't wait to visit Boston again!

Room Tip: Ask for a wharf view....high enough to see all of the wharf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DachsieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have been to this location before children a number of times. However, did not realize how unsafe the inner balcony design was until my 22 months old son tried to climb. We almost lost him, I just turned around for 2 seconds to open the hotel door when I saw him half way up on the balcony. There is no safety measure built under, so it's a straight drop to a few floor down. It was a scary experience. Tried to write and talk to someone in the hotel regarding this matter but no one seemed to notice or care. Also, there were a lot of drunken people being very loud outside the corridor in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge, vt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Excellent location and even better staff. But we do have to say, lack luster beds (not up to normal Marriott standards we have come to expect) and beefy priced. We did take advantage of accumulated points and promotions - but were less then impressed w/ property appointments. We were warned of "under construction" status - but our concerns were outside of construction. upon our next visit to Boston, we will consider alternative location for our stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BryceFarmView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Boston, close to so much. There is a lovely park next to the hotel and you can take a water taxi from the airport for only $10 - it drops you off at Long Wharf. My only complaints about this hotel is that the bathrooms are incredibly small. The first room they put us in was in the open hallway near the elevator and it was terribly loud all night long. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a better and more quiet room. I would ask for a room away from the open atrium area. The concierge could use some guidance - they gave only a small amount of information rather than filling in some of the details most tourists would need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the open atrium area, it gets quite noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent the weekend in Boston and had a nice stay at the Long Wahrf except for our visit to the pool. There was a couple having intercourse IN THE POOL. It was too bad- really ruined the pool experience to say the least. I have spent lots of time in New Orleans and never has this happened there, so I certainly didn't expect it in Boston when my family went to the pool for an evening swim. Eeewww is all I can say. I think they were too drunk to be embarrassed- and after we yelled at them to "get a room" they just went out to the deck to finish what had been interrupted. Yuk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#49 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing