We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location & Quality”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

First of all, let me say that my review rating is higher because what I got for the rate I paid. It was under $320 for 2 nights including tax. If I would've paid more, maybe I would've given a less overall rating.

My trip is based on 2 people – on a 3-day weekend getaway.

Location: Let me say that this hotel is across the street from Faneuil Hall and Quincy markets. Which is a plus, since you can eat breakfast/lunch/dinner/snacks, and even desserts for low prices. You are 3 blocks from little italy - which has great cafes and gelatos. You are across the street from the Aquarium, Legal Seafoods Restaurant, 7-eleven and steps away from the blue line (subway station) and the Trolley stops.

Hotel: Our flight arrived 10am and we were surprised that upon arrival at the hotel (before 11am) we were given a room. This is a plus. We got a king bed in a corner room - 3rd floor. It was HUGE vs other hotels. We had a window street view, which was ok for us to help check the weather. Very clean spacious room and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good, clean and enough towels for us, no vanity outside though. I had to ask for a shower cap at the front desk, because it was not in given in the room. The corner room given was far away from the amenities, not noisy for us at all. It was quiet and perfect for naps.

The hotel has a big exercise room that hubby used every day. Granted, the indoor pool/whirpool are pretty small and if there are kids around, it makes it impossible to enjoy it. But it is a plus if you have family that would like to enjoy and kill and afternoon there.
The lobby offers computers to check in your flight and print boarding passes. We did some research and used to make reservations for our 2 dinners. There is an starbucks inside the lobby of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again. It was a perfect stay for 2 on a chilly weekend.

I did not use the valet/parking (which is over $45 per day), the restaurant/bar, concierge services and lounge, or any room service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElTiburon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    718
    217
    87
    40
See reviews for
700
576
49
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and I were in Boston, from Maine for one night, meeting friends from Connecticut. We all stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf, because you always know what to expect w/ Marriott, which is consistently good service and nice amenties, plus the excellent location. We did request a room on the 6th floor and did not get it, but it was a pretty booked night as it was the start of Feburary break for many students/families. The 4th floor was fine, had a view of the aquarium and could see the water. We were right next to the elevator and worried a bit, but it was super quiet. The room was small, but fine for two people. Had a great, comfortable, king bed with those great Marriott linens. There was a coffee station, "cooler" type fride, safe, good closet, full size ironing board/iron, hairdryer and lots of storage for clothes and a good desk to work at w/ a lot of outlets for charging electronics. The TV was very nice. The shower head great, the pressure for the toilet, not good and no fan in the bathroom. The shower caused a lot of humidity and you could see the damage in the paint on the ceiling above the shower. My pet-peeve, a fan in the bathroom to get rid of excess moisture/humidity is needed! The decor of the room was okay. I liked the pictures of old Boston and all very nautical. The decor itself was a bit 90's. The lounge/bar area was great fun, beautifully decorated and had good service. The drink/wine choices excellent. We did the breakfast buffet the next moring and it was awesome! We had a table that looked out on the water, it was snowing, lobster omelet, good friends, time w/ my husband, it was perfect! You can't beat the location. We walked to dinner in the North End with no problem and walked to the shopping at Fanuel Hall/Quincy Market the next day. It's close to so much and easy access to many T-stops. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. It's a great place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I'm a long-term Platinum member and have, for the most part, enjoyed Marriott facilities all over the world. Long story short, I thought that the Long Wharf - and it's concierge lounge (which I had previously frequented) would be a nice place to share a birthday weekend with my two sons who attend Boston-area colleges. Had no problem committing to the 80,000 points required to book two rooms with idea that we would have access to the beautiful views and space that I knew was accorded by the lounge. Imagine my surprise to discover, upon arrival, that the CONCIERGE LOUNGE IS COMPETELY CLOSED ON SATURDAYS AND DOES NOT REOPEN UNTIL 2 PM ON SUNDAYS. Be forwarned, those of you wishing to exchange all of your hard-earned business points on a weekend with the family. The king room we were assigned was directly across from the elevator. Sometimes can't be helped, I get it. But the constant voices/dinging of the lift resulted in no sleep for either of us. There was really no good space for our family to enjoy the cake I'd brought along. The water pressure in the showers was non-existant and the towels were of a Fairfield Suites quality. The half empty bottle of someone else's K-Y jelly hidden in the folds of the curtains completely turned me off. Hairy bed, small rooms, cramped (at best) bathroom. Not a category 8 hotel in any way shape or form. Have asked for some point compensation from Marriott, but nothing forthcoming so far. Best service? The $48 parking service. Employees courteous and prompt when we were SO ready to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sierrashoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations on many levels, for that I am truly sorry. I undertstand that our Director of Hotel Operations has been in contact with you since this review was written. I do hope you are satisfied with his actions and I would invite you to contact me if I can be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Came here with my family for the school vacation week. Heard it was right in the middle of all of Bostons sights. The hotel itself was conveniently located near public transportation, and was typical of other Marriott hotels with regards to cleanliness and comfortable beds. Unfortunately the complements end there. The Room Service Receptionists were extremely rude, and the Front Desk Personnel even worse. My son was scolded because he tried to take 2 cookies. When my wife was trying to clarify hours for the pool, whe was responded to quite unprofessionally by a staff member named Shannon. Not a place I will be returning to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. OH MY, I am disapointed to hear that our staff service was not up to our high standars during your interactions. I value this feedback and will use it in a fashion to provide more consistent levels of service and hospitality in the future. I would invite you to contact me directly the next time you are visiting Boston with your family. I would be happy to coordinate an exceptional stay for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, Vt
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Longwharf Marriott is a great hotel in a great location, especially if you want to do kids stuff in Boston. It's next door to the aquarium and a T station is right next to the hotel, and it's very close to Quincy Market. The staff is friendly, the hotel is very nicely decorated, the rooms are well appointed and clean and the food is a step above the standard hotel food. I can definitely recommend it for your trip to Boston.

Room Tip: Try to get an even number, they look out over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
293 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and 3 days over President's weekend and could not have been happier with this hotel. The staff was courteous, professional and very helpful. The hotel was clean, well maintained and comfortable. Our room was spacious for a city hotel, clean and comfortable. The hotel was crowded due to the holiday weekend with lots of families and the hallways and common areas (including the nice little pool) were energetic and a bit loud. The location was great - easy access to many fun activities for the family (a few blocks to the North End, across the street to Quincy Market/Fanuiel Hall, and 100 yards from the New England Aquarium). Also, the breakfast buffet was terrific! Our only complaint was the cost of parking - $46 per night (this is pricey even for an urban center). We would definitely reccomend this hotel to other travelling to Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall to avoid some of the noise created by the atrium style of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHRESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Sounds like you had an enjoyable experience, I appreciate all of the kind remarks regarding the hotel service staff and amenities. I am thrilled you loved the breakfast buffet, we like to think it is the best in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We arrived in Boston several days after Winter Storm Nemo hit the East Coast. It was amazing how the tarmac at Logan Airport was clear and no snow accumulation visible. I had called the hotel to get a feel for the aftermath of the storm and was advised by a representive the walks around the hotel were shoveled and it really was not all that bad. We took the airport shuttle bus to the Boston MBTA subway. We purchased a Charlie Card and took the Blue Line 2 stops to the Aquarium station. Had we paid more attention to the signage it is possible to emerge just steps from the Hotel entrance. We took the exit across the street and came out right by Quincy Market. The Marriott is just across Atlantic Avenue and near many of the top sights in Boston.

The hotel is kind of a similar shape to the South Market Building and has a modern atrium style interior. Check-in was easy and they welcomed afternoon guests with an assortment of cookies. We had a room on the 5th floor with a view of the water and facing the North End. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was nice and stocked with several sets of towels. The bathroom doors were a little different and swung out to open.

We had access to the concierge lounge on the 7th floor and went up for the appetizer and dessert service. The lounge consists of two rooms with great views of the Harbor.
They had a couple of computers and a printer for guest use. The breakfast is also served in this room and we enjoyed both meal offerings.

Just across the street from the hotel you can find Faneuil Hall Marketplace, the Hard Rock Cafe, Customs building and lots of shopping. We want to come back in Summer or Fall and explore more of Boston. We quickly determined on this visit the Marriott Long Wharf would make an excellent base of operation in Boston.

Room Tip: The North facing view on a high floor is pretty hard to beat!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of the Boston Marriott Long Wharf. You are correct when you say that our location is ideal. We find that many of our guests enjoy the convenience of staying with us, parking their car and experience everything that surrounds the hotel. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,556 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,849 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#51 of 83 in Boston
1,443 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing