We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Must admit that I selected this hotel by default. Had no idea just how convenient and spectacular this hotel is. Friendly service, very clean, quiet rooms and terrific location. Steps from the north end, T station right out the door, major water events within a 9 iron and awesome views, this is a magnificent hotel for visitng Boston. We were with our grandson and everything was perfection. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We went to Boston to tour the city and stayed here. Overall, this is a nice hotel with a great location. Very close to Quincy Market, NE Aquarium, the waterfront and the Italian section of Boston. Rooms were clean and the pool and gym are excellent. Only complaints are relatively minor...we expect that for the price you would get queen beds instead of twins. Also, service by the bartenders in the restaurant and one of the bellhops did not meet my expectations for a hotel of this calibre. Otherwise, would definitely stay there again due to location and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylamon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

stayed recently at the Boston Marriott Long Wharf with my teenage children and husband. Loved the location, you can not beat it. Right out of your doorsteps was the harbor for boat rides, whale watching boat rides, ferry to Providence RI. Also right there is the Aquarium. Literally across the street is Quincy market, which we had a couple of dinners there and lunch in the very large food court with all kinds of fun foods!..

The Rooms in the hotel were clean and comfortable. My only problem is I felt that the entranceway and lobby in the hotel was not clean. The windows( and there are many) always had many fingerprints all over and was never cleaned. The lobby also seemed in need of a refurbishment. This would not happen in a more expensive hotel. Not that this hotel is cheap but you are paying for the location. Location, Location, Location!!! We would go back to this hotel because of the fabulous location. Great for younger or older kids! My children were 16 and 17 and they loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We walked all over Boston with four teenagers on a family vacation and the Boston Marriott Long Wharf was a great location as our home base. But the rooms were smallish/dark and EXPENSIVE. We had two rooms (interconnecting doors) and frankly you can't call those "double" beds fit for two people. Room service was very efficient and delivered an extra roll away bed that we tried to squeeze into one room, but at that point there was no floor space to walk! Internet connection was ok but we had to pay, which given the cost of the room seemed a bit much. Lots of families so plenty of kid-noise in the hallways and early bird diners. The rooms felt even smaller thanks to the half-moon windows which kept out the light and partially obscured the great view of the harbor. We opted for the Marriott special rate that included breakfast and found the breakfast buffet to be good value for money with teenagers, The restaurant service was slow (understaffed and a bit stressed) but the food was filling. The hotel gets a steady stream of visitors and is clean enough, but for the price of a room - could have been cleaner. The concierge at the hotel was super helpful with all our questions and helped us make good use of our short time in Boston. The front desk was very efficient, if a bit brisk in their manner (they clearly are accustomed to processing large volumes/bus loads of guests). There was a small hitch in our bill and they corrected it quickly and with an apology. The doormen were very good with advice about airport transfers, but a bit aggressive in grabbing our luggage before we were ready to move and would not let us handle our own bags....trolling for tips. Our teens loved the pool/spa/workout room on their down time, but the bathrooms were so small that it was hard to find space for all the towels and wet swimsuits (a common challenge if traveling with four teenagers but probably not a big deal for most visitors). The teens also liked the Starbucks downstairs and used it as a meeting place. The adults found it a bit dirty and depressing albeit very convenient. But the Marriott Long Wharf location was perfect. We took the trolley tour that departs just out front. We walked ALL OVER the waterfront and into the market area. We wandered up to the Italian quarter and hung out watching the street performers. We WALKED to both Cirque du Soleil and the Blue Man Group shows. We met friends and had no problem connecting whether by subway or car thanks to the central location. Bottom line: for a 4 day "visit Boston" holiday we loved the location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

As all the other reviews say--this is a great location. Walk out the door and you are a 2 minute walk to Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market, The Aquarium, street vendors, great sidewalk restaurants and a lovely view of the harbor. There is a small park outside the hotel that featured some local bands playing, and people sat and picnicked--it was such a nice atmosphere. Yes, for a 2 night stay in a harbor view room, we paid about $1000 all told for the room and taxes and parking , but this is a nice hotel set on the harbor in the middle of everything in Boston--they can charge whatever they want, and those rooms will get booked just for the sheer convenience and beauty of its location. So just enjoy your stay in this hotel, and know that it IS overpriced. The staff was very nice--it was our anniversary and they sent little snacks to our room both nights of our stay. Very thoughtful of them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We would stay at the Marriott Long Wharf again but the one downfall is parking is very expensive if you drive there at $44.00 a night....There is a Starbucks in the hotel, the people were friendly and helpful, the restaurant in the hotel was good. Just outside is a Legal Sea Foods restaurant and also right nearby is the New England Aquariium plus the wharf is right there for Harbor Cruises, whale watching,etc. You can also take a trolley tour starting right at the hotel. Everything is in walking distance...great restaurants in the North End or Italian district. The hotel was a bit pricey but worth it for al it has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chips57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We always stay at the Boston Long Wharf Marriott when in Boston. It's right in the heart of everything. You can get all the local tours practically right in front of the hotel. You also can take many boat tours at the Long Wharf Pier. If you want to take a trip to Cape Cod, just jump on the Provincetown Ferry and you're there in 90 minutes. This hotel is just beautiful. The service is perfect, the decor lovely, restaurants fabulous and the surrounding area cannot be beat. You can't go wrong with this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marygrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,734 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 84 in Boston
8,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £143 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston, Massachusetts. Our beautiful Boston hotel features 400 rooms, 11 suites and a concierge lounge with harbor views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing