We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, comfortable hotel with a night club problem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hip, comfortable hotel with a night club problem.”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This hotel has a great location in Coply Square, across the street right in between the Marriot and Westin. It has a hip, small boutique hotel feel and has been beautifully rennovated. I stayed in one of the Edge rooms which outstanding windows in all directions. The only problem and it was a significant one was the noise. The first night it was simply "city" noise and very understandable if just a big magnified by the position of the room in the hotel. If you like it very quiet, be sure to ask for a room that will be quiet. The second night there was a fire alarm at 2am, pulled by someone in the night club downstairs. The third night, a Friday night, it was as if there was a party in the room and there was no getting away from it. I had memories of frat house row in college. Young people from the night club were in the street yelling and playing until well past three. I will say that the night club is not owned or managed by the hotel owners and when I complained in the morning, the staff was very empathetic. They suggested that they are trying to work on the problem and assured me that there are quieter rooms in the building to try next time. I think this place has great potential and I am likely to give the promise of a "quiet" room a chance next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    602
    166
    46
    27
See reviews for
347
706
148
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The staff in this hotel are excellent, especially those working the night shift. They are a credit to the company, very helpful and great atitude. Hotel is well located with everything you could want within walking distance. Rooms are finished to a very high standard. mine had a shower only so if you wanted a bath it was not possible. Room was also on the small side but as I was travelling alone it did not bother me and it had a large desk (well lit) to work at. Free internet worked well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Just got home from staying at Copley and I have to say myself i thought it was one of the best hotel's i've stayed at in New England especially because of the price. When I had asked my girlfriend she had said it was the best experience she has had in Boston, and she goes every year and stays in a different hotel each time... For the price we got and the free upgrades we got, i think i know where i'll be staying every time!.
-Nate

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

From the warm personal greeting to the amazingly comfortable bed, our stay could not have been better. They did a great job with the renovation and an even better job with the staff. Everyone was very warm and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valhalla, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We travel to Boston frequently on business and pleasure and always stay at the Copley Square Hotel. The management team is exceptional, the staff courteous and the rooms comfortable. The best part of the rooms are the black out curtains which make sleeping easy. A nice bonus is the managers wine special from 5-6 each night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhyland1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Located in the heart of Backbay Copley Sq Hotel is a chic habitat (without the attitude) for business and leisure travelers alike. This boutique hotel is updated and contemporary with very chic décor and a very cool vibe. One would expect attitude here, but there is none. Upon arrival I was promptly greeted and the concierge was eager to help during my stay. I value great service and I definitely received that at Copley Sq. The location is also unbeatable, within walk distance of shopping on Newbury and in the malls, dinning, and watering holes.

The only cons of the hotel are the size (and cost) of the standard queen bed room and lack of late night dining options. I had a ~210 sq ft room with a queen bed, so there wasn’t much room for hanging about (but as I learned one wouldn’t want to spend one’s days in a hotel room while on vacation!). The bathroom, which was very clean, was tiny with just enough room for one to take a few steps, but not more. The bed was very comfortable and clean, closely rivaling my bed at home.

I found the lack of late night dining options an inconvenience; however there are late night spots located in the area given that Northeastern University is located about 10 minutes from the hotel. Pizza from BHOP was the meal de jour. The place is loud and littered with NU and Wentworth kids, so beware.

Copley Sq. Hotel is also home to the popular MiniBar and Saint lounge. I spent my time at Minibar, but didn’t experience Saint, which has gotten mixed reviews from the locals. Minibar is cool, but service was hit or miss. Some bartenders were attentive while others couldn’t handle the volume of customers. To be sure, it was good time as I had my beautiful girl friend occupying my time.

Overall, Copley Sq Hotel is an excellent option for those who want to stay in a chic hotel in the heart Backbay, but also want to avoid the corporate like atmosphere of the nearby hotels such as the Westin and Fairmont. One doesn’t get much value here, but is accommodated with great service and clean rooms. I intend to make future visits.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel's website first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, MD
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This was a great place to stay.The staff was professional and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable. There are many nice touches...wine hour and in room offerings.Great location.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaxnFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,258 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing