We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There to meet friends and made more with the people that worked there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There to meet friends and made more with the people that worked there”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My Wife, 4 year old son and I were looking for a place to stay in Boston last minute. Called a few places and could only speak with agents taking reservations from a central location - not in Boston. When I asked spicific questions to these agents about the hotel they were representing and the Boston area the weren't very helpful. Then I called the Copley Square Hotel and John answered. He was so plesent on the phone and gave me the sense that he was exactly the guy I had been looking for. He gave us perfect directions to the hotel and was super helpful in helping me find the perfect room for me and my family, not to mention he deflected some of my son's incessant questions which really helped me check in :). From there Ronaldo helped us get setteled with our bags. He answered all or questions and made us feel at home in our clean and well appointed room with free wifi. The location is perfect and our room was nice and quiet - we actually slept in. The staff never made us feel rushed when we were checking out past check out and the valet got our car quickly with smiles and friendly conversation.
It all started with John with, a great first impression that will have us choosing The Copley Square Hotel whenever we visit Boston! Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    574
    159
    44
    26
See reviews for
324
676
142
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Maybe one of the strongest qualities of this hotel is their service. These people are doing literally everything in their powers to make you feel comfortable in their hotel. The rooms are a bit small for my personal tastes but they are very well arranged. The location of this hotel is right in the middle of everything: you can walk easily towards every attraction of the city. Unfortunately there is one important drawback: the noise during night. Because, it is in the middle of the city, the noise level is a bit high, and if you are sensible like me, you won' t rest well during night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is a very nice boutique hotel. The staff here really go out of their way to make sure that your stay is the best possible. Right from the first encounter with the valet, the staff were outstanding. Special mention to Keith on the front desk for both the extra ordinary hours that he worked, as well as the amazing service that he provided us with. The hotel is located in a very good part of town, in the Back Bay area near the restaurants and shopping area. The Orange trolley service and the Boston ducks leave from near by, so it allows you to access the entire city from nearby. A couple of small details let the place down a little though. For the price we paid, I'd expect to have a small refrigerator in the room. The shower faucet was a little loose, but apart from that, it was an excellent place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

or perhaps not, there have been so many. The Copley Square Hotel was a class unto itself and a place I felt quite comfortable. Others have commented on beds, linens and the like but I was most impressed with the staff. I tend not to notice imperfections in the physical plant when I receive warm and genuine service as I did from first handshake on arrival to the last on departure.
What I needed most was rest, quiet and active listening. I did not ask for any out of the ordinary treatment but all was quiet nonetheless. The only exception being Sunday morning when I slept through two alarms, phone calls and bellmen knocking on the door with my breakfast. Fortunately, the staff persisted and eventually I managed to wake. Breakfast was in a sad state but that was my fault and I refused a remake so the coffee could flow.
There were several small encounters where someone seemed to read my mind and each one accruing good cheer for the Copley Square Hotel and my good fortune in selecting it for my temporary abode. All in all an excellent property that is unique in a way that a chain hotel can never approach. The primary reason for all of these praise words is the management team led by the GM. In the vernacular, the Copley Square Hotel Team "gets it". Well done, folks. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms tend to be a bit on the small side, but unless you are hosting a party in your room, no il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I really liked.the hotel's location. Just ideal. All.of the staff went out of the way to be helpful. I enjoyed the free coffee in the am and the wine hour in the pm.

The rooms are small and showing a little bit of wear, but the bed and linens are great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky_VA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It's in a good location for fun (shopping, restaurants, etc.) but the quality of the hotel is not the best if you're a business traveler. The towels were abysmal but the bedding was nice. The room was dark and the heating didn't work despite numerous attempts. The hotel is relatively quiet and off the beaten path so that's a plus but I wouldn't stay here again for a business trip. The Fairmont Copley down the street looks better.

Room Tip: The hotel was quiet but I didn't think the quality of the room was up to business-par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Copley Square hotel is well located, just a couple of minutes to Newbury St or Boylston, only a few blocks to Boston Common. Front desk staff very helpful. Doormen gave us some great recommendations for restaurants nearby. Our room was a little compact, but well planned and very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing