We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Customer Service Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I recently took my elderly parents on their first trip to Boston. The Copley Square Hotel offered the perfect location with excellent access to historic landmarks and restaurants. The rooms were small but comfortable and well appointed. I am a hotel bed snob, and I found their beds particularly comfortable. Having done extensive research on hotel options in the area, we could have spent more elsewhere and stayed in larger rooms. We could have spent less elsewhere and sacrificed location and ammenities. The rooms fit our needs perfectly.

The pinnacle of our experience was the customer service provided by the front desk. We definitely put them through their paces: medicine to be kept cold, use of a hotel wheel chair for two days, extra umbrellas, directions, recommendations, etc. Each member of the front desk staff was friendly, responsive, and professional. We all felt the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had an excellent experience. This was my only chance provide my parents with a memorable trip to Boston. Thanks in large part to the efforts of the hotel staff, the trip was a tremendous success. I will definitely stay here again when in Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    548
    150
    42
    23
See reviews for
297
645
131
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently, my husband and I spend our 20th anniversary here. Granted, it is in a fantastic location. That's about all that I will say for it. For the amount of money that we spent, I would rather have stayed home.

Upon check-in, we mentioned that it was our anniversary. The person at the front desk didn't care. Not that he really should have, but he could have pretended. When we have stayed in other hotels in the area on our anniversary, not only have they cared, but they sent up champagne.

When we entered and exited the hotel to take walks, the staff just stared at us. No friendly hello or goodbye. So, if you are interested in that, this is definitely your hotel.

The room was clean, modern. It was nice enough. If you want to spend a ton of money and have less than friendly staff wait on you, go for it. But, I'd rather not. You can find MUCH nicer hotels in Boston and for 1/2 the price.

Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTMLexUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at Copley Square Hotel for business because of a conference nearby. It was a nice hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom itself was very spacious. I loved the desk area and chaise lounge for unwinding after being on my feet all day. The only downside to the room I had was the size of the bathroom; it was very small. I didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy much of the hotels amenities outside of the free wifi and wine hosted by the manager the last evening. There was an unfortunate miscommunication with our transportation needs on the last morning for getting from the hotel to the airport. However, it was remedied after a short time by the concierge. Overall, it was a lovely stay in a great location and I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJK427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. It is the second oldest hotel in Boston. Very quaint, has a boutique feel. They had a welcome reception with wine from 5-6pm that was nice. The restaurant owned by the hotel was not open for dinner, but we used it as an office to work as it was quiet. It did not open til 7am for breakfast, which we considered to be late.
The rooms were small, but very nice and clean. Small bathrooms, a colleague had a hard time with the door opening right to the shower door, it was that tight of a space.
The hotel workout room did not open til 6am and only had free weights and a treadmill.
It is very centrally located to lots of attractions and good restaurants. The front desk people served as a concierge and were very helpful. I booked on hotels.com because the price was right. It was a nice stay for a business trip. Would not recommend for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeHeck828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful, helpful, professional and friendly staff. Stayed here five nights on vacation in Boston and an additional night five nights later after a trip to Maine. In the less expensive rooms the bathrooms are small. On my final night I upgraded to a slightly more expensive room with a larger bathroom and a street view. All rooms feature modern decor and are extremely clean and efficient. And quiet. Free wireless is included, and cable TV with pay movies. A free bottle of water is included each day. Another great amenity is free morning coffee (unlimited - great for this coffee addict) and a free wine reception in the afternoon. Front desk directed me to a great Italian cafe for dinner on my last night, Papa Razzi. Easy walk to Green Line, just two blocks, and lots of buses at Copley Square. Easy walk to Newbury Street. Not super luxury like the Fairmont 2 blocks away but much less expensive too. Recommended for the visitor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street and on a high floor for more natural light. In the least expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staff was incredibly welcoming and friendly, but in a very genuine way, not like hospitality robots. Made me feel like I was an invited guest and their only interest was me having a good time. Very clean rooms with up to date and working amenities. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and it was ideal being close to Newbury St, shopping malls and the subway. We stayed in Room 704 (king) and our adult sons in 221 (two double beds) and both rooms were quite spacious. No nightclub noise. The bathrooms however were tiny and despite the usual environmental info about re-using towels there were no rails to hang them on, only one hook behind the door so no option but to leave them in a pile on the floor every morning and have them replaced. Breakfast staff were a bit vague but nothing wrong with the food. We took advantage of the free wine at 5pm on a couple of evenings which was nice, although I think it's bad form not to offer some basic nibbles like nuts or crackers with alcohol. Only downside for me was that for a relatively expensive hotel it would have been nice to have a fridge and the ability to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room.

Room Tip: High floor probably a good option. We faced the street but no noise on level 7. Level 2 above the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadaRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing