We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

I have been trying to figure out how to write this review. The hotel was clean, the employees were pleasant, the turn down service was nice with a little paper review of weather for the next day. The room we were in was small on the top floor - but cozy. Bathroom was small but no big deal once you squeezed round the door.... There was just nothing exceptional about the stay, or staff, or room, everything was just fine. If i go back to Boston again I think I would like to try a different hotel - not because it was bad but because there was nothing memoriable about the stay to make me a loyal customer. Oh and at night there is noise, as a heavy sleeper I heard nothing but my husband mentioned a couple of things to me in the morning - so if you are a very light sleeper I suggest you go to a different part of town. Also if you are coming from the airport take the tube - you can get anywhere for $2 and its really easy to navigate around.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xperiencedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    555
    152
    42
    23
See reviews for
307
650
138
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Azores
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

The hotel is very confortable and has the best location. Rooms are not vey large but are ok for the purpose. The service is very good, and very convenient with free coffee in the mornig and a happy hour (free wine) on the afternoon. I shall stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveller_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

Booked a deal through Priceline for under $100 -- pleased with the deal we got. Great location for our needs, staff was attentive. We wanted a room with two beds and were offered one for $25 more a night. This seemed like a lot, and we hesitated -- clerk eventually offered it to us for $20. It was worth it for us, but we still felt nickled and dimed. Website states that they have coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day in the lobby -- this was not true at all. Coffee was out till 11am, and then I was offered to buy some in the restaurant. Disappointing for a heavy coffee drinker :)

Other than those quibbles, it was a great stay and the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I only live 45 minutes away but I had to do some business north of Boston so I decided to get a room on Priceline for last Saturday night. We got the CSH for $110 which was a good deal. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived that it was very updated and modern, dare I say "chic" even. We didn't valet park ($42 a night) we got a meter about 1/2 block from the front door and we only had to feed it Saturday from 5:30 to 8:00. Check-in was easy but they insisted they only had "Boutique Queen" rooms (or some silly name) unless we wanted to upgrade for $50 to a Premier King or something like that. So, be warned about that, especially if you're using PL. The room was very modern and nicely decorated but very small and the one window faced a wall. Fortunately there was a closet to put our luggage because the room basically held the bed, desk, 2 nightstands, and sort of bureau-thing w/ a TV on it. The bathroom was also nicely updated and not too small (bad showerhead) and everything was very clean. When we checked in they informed us there is a nightly wine reception from 5 to 6 so we headed downstairs and managed to enjoy 2 substantial glasses of Merlot on the house. I had made reservations at City Table for dinner which ended up being just 1/2 block away and that was perfect as it was 17 degrees and windy, and after a great meal we had drinks at the Mandarin Oriental bar. Boston is a very expensive city for lodging so it was a real treat to be so close to everything for such a great price (Copley, Prudential, Back Bay, Newbury St., etc. are all right there). The room was tiny but fine for one night, more than a weekend and it would have been too small. The hotel was very quiet and the interior room meant no traffic noise which was nice. Bed was comfortable and sheets were nice but needed more pillows.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

this was the first time i visited boston. I'd been to new york, washington and las vegas before, so i expected alot from the city. The hotel was lovely, i can not say anything wrong about it. At night when we returned, the heating was on, our beds were turned down and the radio was turned on. The room was cleaned brilliantly everyday and the staff were so polite and helpfull! The hotel is brilliantly located close to the prudential center and newbury street-where there are plenty of stores. A T stop is just around the corner as too is John Hancock Tower and the Boston city Library. Macys and other stores are a 20 minute walk away in chinatown-however, a walk to these is a pleasure, as the streets are wider and less crowed then those in New York. We came to boston to do some shopping, and it proved fruitful. My wife found the shopping to be better then that in NY, especially as no sales tax was put on the majority of our spending(clothes).

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrypolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Best hotel in Boston. Excellent staff and service! This hotel made me feel like home! The hotel is so clean! I stayed in several hotels over the years but this hotel had to be one of the best. I recommend this hotel to any travelers that stay in Boston. If you want to feel like home in a hotel on vacation this is the hotel to spend the night in..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Great location steps away from the Prudential Center. Low rise hotel meant you could hear street noise. Old building re-done in a modern style. Rooms were clean, down comforters that were too warm with AC that would not go below 65. Staff was extremely kind and welcoming and professional in every way. No vending machines in this hotel at all, so bring your own mixers. In the end we could have stayed at a few other hotels for the same money had had nicer room and better experience. Priceline lists this as a four star hotel. I'd say 2.5 stars. But again the hotel staff we interacted with were as nice as one could find. Great people, nothing great about the property itself. and, anticipate the $42 valet parking or $39 in the garage at the Pru.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldFagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing