We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good service and location”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was a great location to get to Cambridge locations. The rooms were spacious and had a great breakfast to start the day. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Free cookies!! Cabs available outside the hotel. We went to Harvard Square by cab. Great spot for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get river view. You can watch the rowers go by in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    655
    227
    92
    62
See reviews for
605
323
97
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We only spent 3 nights/2days in Boston with our two kids aged 7 and 10 and planned to have one day sightseeing, and one day with friends in Princeton. Therefore we didn't need to be downtown, and this hotel was a fabulously practical choice with amazing value for money. We had a 2 room suite for the same price as we would have paid for one room in downtown Boston in a similar hotel. The hotel is situated right next to the Mass Turnpike and has a huge parking garage. Parking cost is steep at 35 USD per night. The hotel could be clearer as to how to go about paying it, as we paid cash at the machine every morning, only to find we'd been charged 35 USD per night when we checked out! (this was quickly resolved though).

The suite on the 15th floor was fine (ask for a riverside facing one, less noise from the highway), great view of downtown and Cambridge and the Charles River, very nice king size bed and a comfortable enough pull out sofa bed for the kids. The rooms & bathrooms were generally clean, although we had to ask for new sheets for the sofa bed as the one that was on there had a discarded earrings label on it along with several hairs. Housekeeping came almost immediately though and remade the bed so that was fine.

Fusion restaurant served nice all-American food and the staff were ever so friendly. Breakfast was excellent, a wide variety of foods and again, very friendly and helpful staff. When the omelet-station lady wasn't there, the F&B manager stepped in and fried me a few eggs straight away!

We took the car into Boston on the Saturday, parked underneath the Boston Common and were pleasantly surprised to find we only needed to pay 12 USD for the entire day (tariff for weekends only) - useful for those who'd like to avoid taking the shuttle bus.

We'd stay again, it was a very practical and pleasant place to stay at for a family with youngish children.

Room Tip: ask for a riverside room, these are quieter and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The rooms were nice, the staff was inconsistent...the manager was very nice front desk not so much. The location is not far from most sights but it isn't close to anything. A great place for a run on the Charles river but not walkable anywhere. The cookies were great!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChiHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
2,147 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Minutes from everything, Fenway to Harvard to downtown to financial district to the harbor. This is a true quality hotel with great rooms and great service. Prices are on the high end of what I would pay for all those kudos, but I would definitely do it again at the same price. This is one place where you get what you pay for and what you get is great in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Scenic beauty as it is right on Charles river and located closeby to Harvard and also to downtown. Opt for a suite as a standard room would be smallerby american standards. You get a large size cookie as welcome on check in. Nice !. The Hotels' complimentary shuttle service to Harvard Square and Copley Place is very impressive as it runs religiously on schedule, and on time. This gives you access to entire Boston.... and what a place to have a stroll along the Charles river... There is also a Supermarket closeby for your grocery... staff has been generally helpful and polite.. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Get a room with direct view of River Charles, but stay away from the elevator as it can get very ann...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AnujkAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

While we did enjoy our stay at Doubletree, I'm very disappointed that we were misled by the advertised "all suites" hotel. We did not have a suite. In fact, what we had was a conference room with a bedroom attached to it. Not at all what we expected to find! However the actual bedroom was clean and comfortable so all was not lost. We had expected to have a suite with a couch and an area where we could meet friends and have some wine before dinner etc. but instead what we had was a conference table and chairs - quite a surprise I must say. Buyer Beware.

Room Tip: DO NOT be fooled into thinking ALL rooms are suites. In fact, some are classified Standard King and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siameseckat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

From an electricity outage (beyond their control) to putting us in a room with two twin beds to having a wedding directly below my room with pounding bass until 12 am, this was one horrible experience. Contrast this with our stay the next night at the Westin convention center and I have to say this hotel is sub-par. It is in a great location, but that does not make up for bad rooms, bad service and an excuse-making staff.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawagner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing