We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things that made our stay so special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's the little things that made our stay so special.”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Our suite was very comfortable. We could walk to the Harvard Stadium for the football game. It was nice that the hotel provided snacks and coffee service in the room and fresh, warm , chocolate chip cookies at the desk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    655
    227
    92
    62
See reviews for
605
323
97
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay in Cambridge at the DoubleTree Suites. It's likely that this was once an Embassy Suites property, as the open atrium/glass elevator architecture look familiar. A little tricky to find our way into the parking lot - but that's typical Cambridge driving - GPS wasn't great help. Parking is pricey, but also typical Cambridge cost.

The room was great! Booked through the Hilton website, and took the option for a 'subject to availability' reduced rate upgrade for a corner, riverview suite for $30 more? WELL worth the extra cost! View of the Harvard boat house was terrific - and we watched the crews out working hard on Saturday morning.

Bar food was... Ok. Prices? Typical. Service was good, responsive and friendly, though. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet (which was included in our 'bed and breakfast' rate). Front desk staff members were friendly and fun!

There was a drumming convention of some sort the night we stayed - but we had no trouble with noise in the room (10th floor).

Overall - recommended if you're looking for value, comfortable lodgings near the universities. Shuttle is available to take you to Kendall Square, other venues in Cambridge.

Room Tip: If you use the Hilton website to book, you can have the option for a 'pre-purchased' lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here twice during our tour of New England - at the beginning and at the end of the trip. This is a great place to stay in Boston. It is right on the Charles River so you can watch the crews rowing in the morning. It is in walking distance of MIT, Boston University and even Fenway (yes, we like to walk!). The hotel has a free shuttle that will get you to Harvard or to downtown Boston. This service is great so you don't need a hotel right in downtown Boston. The staff at the front desk is very helpful and room service is very responsive. The on-premise restaurant is a great place for breakfast. They have a continental breakfast buffet or a full breakfast buffet. While you can order off the menu, the buffets are the way to go. A good value for a great breakfast. I'd stay here the next time in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallagrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the DoubleTree Suites in Boston. It's kind of out of the way, yet close to everything in Boston as well. The rooms were nice, the staff was accommodating. They helped us with getting to Fenway Park for a Red Sox game. Plus the cost of the room was very reasonable for Boston. Would stay here in a heartbeat in the future!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a River view. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SearsPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here when visiting our Daughter at College. On the River, great views- easy walk across Bridge to everything. Beautiful rooms and very comfortable beds.
Loved the fact that it was reasonable with out being outside the city.
Hilton properties are always fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose a room high up overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here one night when we were exploring Boston. I thought the location was very convenient; it is right off the main road and we were able to walk to the subway (took 10 minutes or so). The staff was helpful in giving directions and the concierge went out of his way to help us after we'd checked out and needed back into our room to get my husband's jacket. The hotel seemed a little dead but that was fine by us!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
575 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have stayed at the Doubletree Suites on Soldiers Field a number of times and again had a very good stay, for four days at the end of October. As Diamond members, we were upgraded to a two-level suite on the 16th floor, which had an amazing view of the Charles and parts of Cambridge and Boston.

The king bed in the loft part of the suite was very comfortable, and I loved the television built into the main bathroom mirror. Now that's cool!

Our stay happened to coincide with Hurricane Sandy, and we had no problems. In fact, we spent part of the day that Sandy struck in comfort in our suite, playing bridge and watching the rain come down (and sometimes up).

Further on the plus side, the shuttles to Harvard Square and elsewhere are convenient. Breakfast (the continental buffet, usually around $16, is comped for Gold and Diamond members) was very good.

I do think the parking charge of $35 a day is a little steep -- that adds up to $1050 for a month. I understand that parking in Boston is expensive, but this hotel isn't in Cambridge or downtown Boston -- it's literally at the end of the Mass Pike.

With the various hotel taxes and parking, we paid around $300 a day. Again, that's not terrible given the high hotel prices in Boston, but it's hardly a bargain.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the top (16th) floor if possible. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing