We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel not far from Harvard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My friends and I chose to stay at this hotel since it was not far from Harvard and since I had enough Hilton points to get the room for free. As in all Doubletree hotels we were each welcomed to the hotel with a warm chocolate chip cookie. Staff were courteous and friendly. Our room had two twin beds in the bedroom and a double sleeper sofa in the living area. There was ample space in both rooms. Didn't feel cluttered even when the sleeper sofa was out. Twin mattresses were Sealy pousturepedic with a mattress pillow pad on top and were very comfortable to sleep on. In fact it was so comfortable that we decided to sleep in an skip the morning plans.

Self parking is on the expensive side at $35 per night with in/out privileges. But money saved by taking the hotel's complimentary shuttle service makes up for it. The hotel has shuttle stops at the aquarium, Copley square and Harvard Square (hourly from 7:30am-7:30pm). The shuttle ride to Harvard from the hotel only took 5 min.

The fitness room was very impressive. It was spacious and had a good variety of machines. It even had a shower and two bathrooms in it. Earbuds were also available for free since several of the machines had tv screens on them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank komodokd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is very luxurious. It overlooks the river, and is located close to Cambridge, where you can find Harvard University. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to various locations, and the drivers are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very big, and will more than satisfy even the fussiest person. Very nice, would definately stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich250807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Wow after our experience in NY (see review Affinia), Doubletree Suites by Hilton - Boston was just what we needed.

The room was modern & clean with room to spare for our family. Eventhough we arrived early morning our room was ready and available.

The staff were fantastic......attentive, thoughtful, helpful.

Even with the cd weather outside the kids made use of the indoor heated pool.

Location wise the hotel was perfect for our needs. General Boston visitors may want something closer to the centre. Getting into the centre was easy and inexpensive.

Nothing negative to say.... Even with refurbishments occurring at the hotel we loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I was on a 10 day business trip and this hotel was great. Very conveniently located near Cambridge and Watertown. Good location if you have a rental car or your own--easy to get in and out of. Staff is very friendly and it felt like I was more like in an apartment community than at a hotel. Beautiful location right near the Charles River. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajadoradelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay in the hotel as a first time member of the Hilton Hotels. We stayed for 3 nights in the Doubletree on Soldiers Field Rd and although it seems far away from the center of the city with no public transportation near by, the hotel provided a shuttle to take us to Harvard Square, Copley and other important sites of the city. The staff members were friendly and VERY helpful. Upon our arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded to the 14th floor suite, were we had a beautiful view of the river. The suite was very comfortable, ample and quiet. Although we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the only down side was the food. We found it to be not too tasty and very expensive, maybe because we order our meal late at night (the first night) and at the bar of the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed two nights on business, staff was very helpful. The front desk folks were great and welcoming. Beautiful, clean and a very nice/quiet hotel. Views of Cambridge and the river. Roomy suite and great breakfast. Very impressed. I will stay there again even if not the closest to my meeting locations.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the 2nd floor bar. We could hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilianamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree on Soldiers Field Rd. in Boston for a night and was very impressed. The hotel is built around a large internal atrium and the room was large with a living area separate from the bedroom. The fellow who checked me in (Brian) was friendly, efficient, and extremely helpful. The room was clean, well lighted, and had a refrigerator and a microwave. The one drawback about the room was that the vent in the bathroom was very loud, and I could still hear it even if the bathroom door and the door that separated the bedroom from the living room were closed. There was also some highway noise (the room I was given overlooked the river, which was lovely, but also Soldiers Field Rd., which is not).

I had six people from my office staying at the hotel as well and I wanted to take them to dinner. The restaurant was closed but they were service restaurant food in the bar. There really was no table large enough for seven people but we were able to sit together in a corner, with a couch on one side and some chairs at the other. The food was very good, but the service was a bit overwhelmed by the number of people in the bar looking for dinner service.

The breakfast the next day was easily able to take care of our party and was very good. There was a standard hotel buffet; the food was hot and fresh, and very good. Kudos to the hotel for have a great staff in the morning.

The hotel's fitness center was large for a hotel. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, several cardio machines, and so cables.

The hotel is within walking distance to Harvard Square and offers a shuttle service to the square if you want. It really is a very nice hotel with nice staff and facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £83 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, all-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of the Charles River, just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, refrigerators, and flat screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing