We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable room”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My stay at the Double Tree - Boston was very nice. The hotel itself is somewhat dated with the very large, sterile looking open atrium. My room was small, but comfortable - a very strange short closet that couldn't accommodate my longer dresses, but it wasn't a huge issue. The bar was friendly and served good drinks - also a nice breakfast at the restaurant. Nice location if you're going to be in Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston - Cambridge. We're pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay and were able to experience good food and drinks in the restaurant and lounge. We hope to see you again should you be traveling back to our area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    655
    227
    92
    62
See reviews for
605
323
97
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We truly loved this property. We reserved a room for three people, two adults and one teenager. Even our teenage nephew was impressed with the view of the Charles River. It is about a 20 minute walk to Harvard Square and easy access to Fenway Park. Our room was on the 16th floor, extremely quite, 2 story suite with a loft. If you can get this floor, you will love the view. I met a friend for drinks and light food on the garden terrace restaurant that overlooks the Charles River. She is a lifelong Boston resident, and was amazed. Breakfast is included for Hilton Honors or can be upgraded for $6.Parking is$35.00. There is a free shuttle to Harvard Square that runs about every hour. Take the shuttle, parking I this area is a challenge, and the traffic is annoying.
Front staff were very friendly. Rooms come with fridge, micro wave. Rooms are immaculate. Room service quite good. There is music offered but need to check schedule.

Room Tip: Try to get top floors to access view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sr201753j9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It is such a pleasure reading this review and hearing about the wonderful time you had during your recent stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your bi-level suite on the 16th floor and were able to see such amazing views of the Charles River from your suite and our roof top bar "Over the Charles". We hope we get the chance to see you again should you be returning to our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff, from the shuttle drivers up to the GM, were fantastic during my family's recent stay at this hotel. Be sure to go up to the newly opened Roof-top deck that has a full bar and food. All the rooms are suites and have microwaves and mini-fridges so you can stock-up on items. Great bar and great food in the bar on the second floor and a full-restaurant next to the bar. There is also a renown Jazz Club in the hotel so the joint is usually jumping. Easy to get to and from the hotel - free shuttles to Harvard Square, Copely Square and the Aquarium downtown and all three of those locations have easy access to the T so you can travel anywhere from there. Shuttles run at various times throughout the day and there is a schedule at the front desk. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge! It is great that our location was so convenient for you and that you took advantage of our shuttle that we provide to/from Harvard Square, Copley Square and the Aquarium. We appreciate the feedback about our roof deck bar; Over the Charles as it is newly opened to the public and we welcome the comments to see how we are doing. We hope to see you again soon should you be traveling back to the Boston/Cambridge area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Extremely noisy hotel. Do not go this hotel if you need your sleep. We could not fall asleep due to loud talking (which echos due to the open space in the middle) and laughing. We left a day early and stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kalpana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We’re sorry to hear that we were unable to provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. We understand the importance of a good night's rest while traveling, and we appreciate your feedback about the nosiness due to loud talking and laughing. Your comments will help us manage these issues moving forward, and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

i had arrived late night, when i arrived there was a room guest/ some one else. who came to my taxi driver and started hugging and kissing him. My driver left me to the door in hurry and left. i thought why there is no security guard and came to reception. and the man followed inside to reception and there was the security guard just sitting and looking at that man. i haven't used any room Service but the Rooms were too clean and morning breakfast was good. Although from room perspective a very good experience. but if you are coming late night then at least security should be outside to assist you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're so sorry to hear about the strange encounter you had when you arrived to the hotel late at night. Because it was an outside taxi company we unfortunately do not have any control over their drivers and cannot explain what or why that happened. We do have a security guard on duty during the overnight and we will be sure to address this matter with them to try and prevent anything like this from happening again in the future. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast in the morning. Should you be traveling back to the Boston/Cambridge area again in the future we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent a week here - including 4th July - after 5 weeks touring in Canada. The hotel upgraded our booking at no extra cost and gave us a suite overlooking the river and the city. We watched the whole firework display on 3rd July from our room and had a great view.
The suites are spacious clean comfortable and quiet. Although not in the centre of the city the regular free shuttle to the city centre and Harvard made it easy to do all that we wanted. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the bar and restaurant were good and we had a very enjoyable stay here. Would recommend it to anyone who was visiting Boston.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewdoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the riverview suite you received upon check in - the fireworks are fantastic so it is great you were able to experience this from the comfort of your room! It is great that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle and enjoyed the bar and restaurant on property. We're happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel to anyone traveling to Boston and we look forward to the opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It started out rocky. Our room wasn't ready so the girl had us wait "10 minutes" over on a bench. She left in that time and 1/2 hr later we went and asked what was going on. We were told our room was ready, she didn't know why we were still waiting . We waited 20 extra minutes for nothing. That should be addressed with your staff so that doesn't happen again. We had asked for 2 double beds when we found out at the hotel you don't have that. We had to take 2 singles or a king. If you don't offer double you should take it off your website. After that issue it went up from there. The room was clean. The staff were friendly. The shuttle around town was a big bonus. It made it a lot easier to tour Boston. Our over all experience was great, minus the first hiccup.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so disappointed to hear of the lack of communication regarding your room being ready upon check in. This is in no way acceptable and the information should have been relayed to the next team member once the original front desk agent left the desk. We will be sure to address this matter with our management team immediately! Regarding your room type, it is unfortunate that you were unaware of our room types – the information listed on our website states that they are twin beds so I am unsure where the confusion came from. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that we were able to turn your thoughts around and provide you with a pleasurable stay. It is great that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle and that you found our staff friendly and rooms clean. We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Boston/Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing