We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's SO nice when a hotel takes care of everything for you.”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel staff took care of everything for us and made us feel like Welcomed guest. The room was fabulous, we walked to Newbury st., MFA, Cambridge. What a great city. Would recommend this hotel to everyone for a perfect location, romantic place and excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Eliot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for two nights on the occasion of a parents weekend at Boston University. The hotel is incredibly well situated for the University and also for all the attractions of Newbury Street. The staff were attentive and helpful and although the hotel has no fitness center, they give out passes to a sports club about a two minute walk away. It is a boutique sort of a hotel and as such although it has a restaurant it does not have any public rooms to go and sit in or meet visitors. Due to a mix up of our making we ended up in a guest room rather than a suite. It was comfortable enough but in need of some work. The ceiling had several brown spots and the ceiling light fixtures had sustained some water damage at some stage. The stopper in the sink did not work and perhaps worst of all the door did not lock automatically when you closed it. The air conditioning did not ever seem to shut off and the soundproofing to our neighbor was non existent. The fact that he was loudly ill during the middle of the night confirmed this. It sounds awful when I write this all down but it really wasn't. It was a series of things and that would prevent me from staying there again despite the great location and affable staff.

Room Tip: It is a suite hotel and so if you happen to book a suite as we had intended, it may be that the stat...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Eliot Hotel in Boston October 17 and was blown away. This hotel is a classic old hotel that you actually get a key. Beautifully appointed, there were fresh cookies and strawberries in the room upon arrival. A large room with sitting area that opens up to a large bedroom with king size bed and a large bathroom with marble from floor to ceiling. Perfect. The bar has a great selection and is very cool. Perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knealagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed with 2 other family members in this hotel for two nights in September 2012, and we were all very happy with the choice! The staff members were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, and the beds and pillows (4 to a bed!) were very comfortable! We all slept great! As an added bonus, they brought us yummy cookies and chocolates each day! The hotel is right around the corner from Fenway Park and within easy walking distance to numerous restaraunts and shops. I would definintely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if ever back in the Boston area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leecam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Great place for a romantic weekend...with a taste of Boston eligance! It was lovely and clean though and the bed was very comfortable. The room (which was at the end of the corridor), there was a small entry, a bar room to the left, and the living area beyond. The bedroom was separated from the living area by french doors. The striking feature of this superb hotel is the courtesy of the staff. Helpful and charming throughout our short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeAG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I must start off with saying we did not have the best room in the house. In fact, our room looked out to the back alley, not picturesque. It was lovely and clean though and the bed was very comfortable. I did see other rooms along the hallway that were much roomier than ours. I would recommend one of those. We stayed in 309, my parents were in 709. they complained the air conditioning was noisy. Ours just was not very efficient, but fortunately the weather was cool. This is an old hotel, so some of the ammenities for business travelers may be lacking (like a good desk and outlets), however they provided a power strip for charging our laptops etc. The staff was very polite and accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Eliot, and we loved it. Our room, number 702, was a large suite facing Commonwealth. As we entered the room (which was at the end of the corridor), there was a small entry, a bar room to the left, and the living area beyond. The bedroom was separated from the living area by french doors with obscure drapery for privacy. Beyond the bedroom was a bath with walk-in shower and the closet area. The closet was behind the door into the bathroom, which was inconvenient but workable (I can't think of where else they could place it, frankly, so that's no big deal to me).

The staff were very friendly, greeting us at the door and each time we entered the hotel. We had breakfast in Clio twice, the first and last mornings, as we wanted a fuller breakfast than, say, Starbucks (coffee, fruit, oatmeal, omelets). We did eat nearby one morning and found the cost to be almost the same without the quality, so we figured we'd rather eat in the beautiful setting at the hotel. Again, the wait staff were just great.

I looked at a lot of hotels before deciding on this one, and I have to say, it's a winner. For the cost of a room, we got a huge suite. We didn't hear anything from the adjoining room or the hallway. The bed was comfortable, and there were several lighting options for ambient or reading light. The location - close to Newbury Street with tons of restaurants and shops and maybe 1 block from the MTA and Hynes Convention Center - was fantastic. As someone else said, stylistically it was more like a little hotel in Paris (albeit with a lot more room).

If I had to make a suggestions for improvement, I'd say, put a Nespresso in the room, replace the open nightstand with a dresser for unpacking, and add a marble shelf below the existing one in the dressing area. But these are minor quibbles!

Great hotel! HIGHLY recommended, and when we go back to Boston we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook Commonwealth are beautiful. Those ending in -02 and -04 are larger, I think (bas...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,467 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £160 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing