We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Location was very close to activities. Amenities were not as good as lower priced hotels. Many
Hotels in this price range would have complimentary flowers or fruit in your
room. There was not a coffee pot. The bathroom was small. Beds very
comfortable. Clio restaurant excellent with excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsister07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    289
    81
    37
    25
See reviews for
369
340
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

The suites at the Eliot are very comfortable, traditional and offer great value. The room service menu was eclectic and more interesting than the usual room service offerings. Service is good, only room for improvement is in the valet parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rocco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel in December 2013 after a night out with friends. It has a beautiful lobby, clean and elegant with a professional staff that made me feel welcome. I thought it was a great value. It is a short walk for shopping on Newbury and Boylston Street. It was a easy walked to Fenway Park. I have stayed at a number of hotels in Boston. I think this is the best value for the experience.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with a separate living room and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

First let me start by saying we travel a lot and have seen quite a few hotel rooms. The room size and layout is a great value. Well decorated and very clean. Overall a good experience. Now for the nitty gritty... We stayed over NYE and it was hard regulating the room temp. We had to turn the heat off completely because it was far too warm to sleep. Even then, the temp was never great. The temperature and bed was probably the worst part of our stay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. We barely slept the two nights we were there. The bathroom, although adequate and aesthetically pleasing, was not as functional as we like when traveling. The only electrical outlet was by the toilet and sink even though there was a nice mirrored vanity area, it made it tough to use a hair dryer anywhere other than in the front entry using the coat closet door mirror. The shower was one that only has a half glass wall and no door making it chilly even while showering. No fan in bathroom which was also an issue when trying to get rid of steam etc.
our rate included continental breakfast in Clio, which was very good, but the waitstaff was not very easy to communicate with.
For reference we booked a king suite.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venezia594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after going to a wedding. Wife picked the hotel and since she has a nose for this stuff I didn't question. I liked the feel of the hotel as soon as I entered the lobby as it has a lot of character. It was my wife's birthday and they were kind enough to upgrade us to a corner suite. Our room was huge! The bed was firm and very comfortable and the hotel is close to restaurants and the train stops. We did not need a car. For a weekend in Boston this hotel met our needs and we definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Waterman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our recent stay at the Eliot was a huge disappointment. We planned a short trip to Boston, and the Eliot came highly recommended. While the staff was pleasant, the hotel is tired and in need of a face-lift. Our bedroom was so dark, I asked for an extra light. Housekeeping did a poor job- we went out for the day and when we returned, our pillows were just as we had left them- tossed on the chairs of the sitting room- the beds were lumpy and not neatly made.When I asked the evening housekeeper about it, she told us she was just there to turn down the beds, and that it was the morning housekeeping staff's problem, not hers. The hallways and staircases were not clean with dust on the edges of the stairs. The restaurant's restroom smelled of urine. At Clio, we both ordered the truffle risotto special. The entrees were so salty we returned them. After we complained, our waitress sent over an officious captain who all but suggested we didn't know what truffles should taste like! We assured him we did, and that the ones they brought us were wildly oversalted and impossible to eat. We will certainly not return, and I would advise travelers to avoid this overpriced, poor place.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctraveler12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
It is regrettable this guest’s experience was fraught with disappointment. This experience is clearly the antithesis of what we strive so hard to provide, impeccable accommodations and unsurpassed service. Although the hotel’s accommodations are continually upgraded and maintained, I am excited to inform all potential guests that as of January of this year, all of the rooms in the hotel will be newly decorated, creating a new modernity featuring crisp clear lines, flatter surfaces and warm, relaxing colors, resulting in a product that would be pleasing to even the most discerning guests.

I would like to apologize to this guest for the extremely callous and unprofessional response of the housekeeper. I wish to assure all prospective guests that this is contrary to our standards and is being investigated with the utmost priority. Our entire staff has been groomed to be proactive and highly attentive to all our guest’s needs, something we take great pride in, and certainly not anything we wish to jeopardize. I am grateful this has been brought to our attention.

Lastly, our restaurant Clio’s manager who was the “captain” this guest refers to recalls the event. As a restaurant of Clio’s caliber and with national reputation, the entire staff is always concerned whenever a patron is dissatisfied. The experienced and knowledgeable manager did not intend to challenge the guest’s assessment, but simply tried to obtain more information to determine weather there was a genuine flaw or simply a matter of subjectivity.

Although striving for perfection is our mission, problems can, nevertheless, arise, in which case it is usually best to make one’s concerns known soon as soon as possible; this way, the hotel has an opportunity to address the problem and find the best resolution to ensure guest satisfaction. I invite this guest to contact me directly the next time he or she visits Boston. If so we will ensure a stay that is commensurate with both of our expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very convenient location- minutes from the T. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Have stayed in many hotels in Boston- this will become our go to hotel in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mychelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,083 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing