We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe & great location”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Deluxe & great location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Eliot upon the recommendation of a friend. I'm so glad we took her advice. This lovely old hotel is redone. I"m very fussy about interior design, and felt the room was beyond perfect. It was a suite, with a separate bedroom and living room. The interior was in a lovely neutral palette, which suites my aesthetic. The staff could not be more accommodating, professional, and helpful. The location is close to a major shopping area, with restaurants. We walked to Cambridge which took ten minutes. Very convenient location, lovely, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    310
    86
    39
    27
See reviews for
413
385
46
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had great service from everyone at the Eliott, it is located in a great area within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The hotel is old school, your key is kept at the desk, so upon leaving or returning you stop by the desk to retrieve your room key. Kids loved the old school experience! We stayed in room 408, there was lots of room for the four of us in the suite, but the floor plan was a bit wacky. The bathroom was interesting, you opened the door and the toilet was in front of you, blocking a bit of the entry to the restroom! Funniest thing I ever saw! Other than layout, I have no complaints. The service was amazing, and location very "walk friendly". We didn't eat in the hotel, we preferred to venture out for meals, so I can't comment on the meals.

Room Tip: No pool, so skip that review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We loved the Hotel Eliot. Its elegant décor was in the rooms as well as public areas. It was close to hop on hop off buses and as we were going to a baseball game within walking distance of Fenway Park. The breakfast choices were a little limited and we ate at the Prudential Centre a number of times (10 minutes walk away). I would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for room on one of the upper floors as Commonwealth Ave is a busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We picked the Eliot due to its location on Commonwealth and Massachusetts and because it wasn't a new high rise. We did not have a suite but did have one of the single rooms. I can't imagine a better location with its proximity to nearly everything, including the "T". Older, classy furnishings and tile are present. The service staff are ever present and helpful. All in all, we believed it to be worth the price. Two excellent restaurants are housed in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed one night on a short trip to Boston in the double/double (one of the few non-suite rooms at the hotel) and were not disappointed, nice size, with a small foyer, well furnished, small marble bath (guess renovated perhaps 15 years ago, but still clean and fresh). Staff and service first rate and friendly throughout the hotel; we used valet parking, not unreasonable at $36. Eliot is next door to the Harvard Club on Com Ave and certainly in very convenient walking distance to anywhere in Back Bay; although if there is a slight location negative, it is at the western edge of the Back Bay rectangle (so closer to the Pru/Hynes than the Public Garden) and sits at busy corner of Mass Ave and Comm Ave, so can be somewhat noisy. That said, it is unquestionably one of the best values in Boston, reminds me a bit of the Dukes in London. Also houses Clio, one of the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

one block from Newbury stree and a few blooks from the Charles River
location cant be beat
all suite hotel is perfect for families
staff is friendly and acommodating
this hotel is a yearly tradition for our family!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank highendfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited Boston for the weekend and Eliot Hotel is where we stayed. The location was perfect for us, just a short walk to many shops and restaurants. Decor was very appropriate for the Boston atmosphere. Everything was clean and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,438 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,327 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing