We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here during Boston Marathon and a day after. We were in room 542 I believe - a corner suite overlooking Mass Ave and Comm Ave. We could see the marathon runners running past our window which was fun. Bed super comfortable with enormous pillows and sofa bed for daughter also comfortable. Only problem with bedroom was that the bathroom was tiny and only 3/4 bath, and had to step over the toilet to get into the bathroom (which is why I give them 4 instead of 5 stars). I think this is simply because it is an old hotel and like many old hotels, bathrooms are smaller. The toilet also was tankless like you'd find in a public restroom so every time you flushed it sounded like a jet engine taking off! But that wouldn't deter us from staying here again - loved this place and location is perfect.

Uni Sashimi restaurant in the lobby is outstanding and I'd highly recommend it - very creative dishes and we loved every one of them.

Service here was really, really good. Probably the most accommodating and friendly I've experienced in a long time - well done Eliot Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatinicusRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Always a pleasure to be at The Eliot Hotel. Staff always friendly and helpful. Location is great with easy walking to good restaurants, Museum of Fine Arts, Fenway Park. We've happily stayed three times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Three night stay on marathon weekend. We had a king suite, so two rooms with foldout couch in living room. We found the front desk people attentive and friendly, the doormen got to know you fairly quickly and room service providers attentive and friendly as well. Great location for the marathon, right on the route with the last km to go. Easy walk to restaurants and shops, a bit distant to the finish line area to meet runners just because you had to pretty much walk around Boylston unless you wanted to go through multiple security checks. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was very good and great service. A nice cocktail bar as well, the bartender was a real pro, made some great drinks. The only complaints I would have would some things re the room setup. The HVAC was real noisy when it was on, so we tried to keep it off as long as possible during the night. I would say get rid of the mini bar fridge and put in a small fridge so that you can actually use it, and a small microwave would be nice if only to warm up coffee. Our suite layout had the bathroom off the master bedroom which is great if you are two but if you have people in the other room then you have traffic through the bedroom to the bathroom. the bathroom itself is quite small, the toilet is right by the door so easy to bang your knee on it at night, shower worked well but you can't reach the handle to turn it on without stepping in and soaking yourself with cold water to get it started and water can run out onto the floor when the shower is in use. It would be better with some sort of shower curtain design rather than a half wall out from the shower control wall. The person who designed the bathroom should have to use it and there would be changes! I give the Hotel a 4.5 out of 5, it would be 5/5 but for some of the querks of the room and when a suite is $500 per night you shouldn't have querks. We would definitely return though don't get me wrong, just wanted to point out the good with a little bit of constructive suggestions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I stayed at The Eliot for two nights after the 2014 Marathon. This hotel was a oasis of excellence.
Location, rooms, service, personnel (especially the doorman) were really incredible.
Everyone was truly polite. We all felt home.
Amazing. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked a Deluxe room at the Eliot for the Boston marathon weekend. Making the reservation online was easy and discussion with hotel staff by phone about amenities was demonstrative of the high level of service that awaited. The hotel does not have rollaway beds but they were willing to be accommodating in other ways regarding sleeping arrangements for our party.

The hotel is one block from the Hynes Convention Center stop on the T green line. The outside of the building is non-descript and its location on the corner of two very busy roads (Mass. Ave and Commonwealth) was concerning for street noise. However, the room was very quiet. I think I heard one or two horns the whole time. The entrance is small and attended by a doorman. The foyer is also on the small side (about four chairs) but adequate and nicely appointed with marble (or another a similar stone) floors and walls.

The desk is down a few steps and to the right of the elevators. The desk staff was superb: attentive, knowledgeable, friendly, and I never had to wait more than a few minutes to be served despite the hotel being at full capacity. The hotel uses traditional metal room keys, which I left at the desk when out. A few ins and outs, and the desk staff were greeting me by name. There are several other staff in the lobby - bellman and elevator man at least. I did not see a concierge per se.

The Deluxe rooms are a little below average size but not too tight to enjoy. The two full sized beds were quite comfortable and the room is well appointed with excellent linens and tastefully done furniture and decor. The bathroom lacked sufficient counter space but otherwise was 5 star. As mentioned above, the interior was quiet despite the adjacent busy thoroughfares. I also did not note any appreciable hallway noise. This contributed greatly to an excellent night's rest, which for me is the sine qua non for any hotel. The rooms, bath, lobby, and common areas were all sparklingly clean.

The hotel is about a mile from the Hynes Convention Center (site of the marathon expo), about 1.5 miles from Boston Commons (bus loading area for the ride to Hopkinton), and about a mile from the finish (though the walk is longer and roundabout on marathon day). It is also very convenient to the Charles river (about 3 blocks) and Cambridge (MIT and Harvard). Newbury Street and the rest of Back Bay's restaurants and entertainment are within easy walking distance.

The hotel does not have a spa and uses the facilities of private health club a few blocks away. The price is on the high end.

Room Tip: Two room types: suites and deluxe rooms. Suites are large, deluxe rooms much tighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler271828284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Eliot, our third stay, on the Saturday night before the 2014 Marathon. Despite the crowds in the city, The Eliot was a consistent oasis of excellence. Service and room were excellent - and my wife commented that she would like to return for several days just to enjoy the accommodation. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I accompanied my husband on a business/fun trip. He has stayed several times at the Eliot, preferring it to soul-less chains. Suite design also allows for small, onsite meetings. We used to live in the Boston area and know the city so we are familiar with many of the local hotels. Location is great for shopping/galleries/sightseeing/restaurants. Room was large, quiet, great linens, amenities. It is somewhat off the beaten path for most hotels in the city but worth it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is very minor--no makeup mirror and very little space for toiletries in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studiodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 86 in Boston
4,566 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £152 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing