We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boston Marathon Stay”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boston Marathon Stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I both ran the Boston Marathon this year and chose this hotel because it was in a very convenient location. Short walk to the expo. Pretty much right on the course. My kids were able to spectate (with my inlaws) just across the street.

The room looked newly remodeled. The bed was VERY comfortable!

The staff was fantastic. Super friendly and accommodating to marathoners. I would highly recommend this hotel not only for marathon weekend, but any time.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and had a view of Fenway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    301
    84
    37
    26
See reviews for
392
365
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was going to Boston anyway to speak at a large medical conference when my daughters aged 21 and 30 announced that they thought I should take them too. As an Expedia Elite member I was upgraded so that we shared a very nice 2 bedroom suite. The staff from the moment we arrived were charming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a lovely part of the Back bay area of Boston with Newbury Street very close by. The daughters felt that it would be a shame not to check out the shops there. Although the weather was not great it is always wonderful to see all the magnolias in bloom In Commonwealth Avenue and the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have stayed here twice, once as a layover for a delayed flight and once over Boston Marathon weekend. Great location across from T stop, surrounded by all kinds of shops and eateries. 5 min cab ride to Fenway Park. Doormen were very prompt and helpful in opening doors and hailing cabs. Friendly staff at front desk as well. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. There was a constant whirring sound from the air vents but I expected something like that from an older hotel. No wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicesomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here during Boston Marathon and a day after. We were in room 542 I believe - a corner suite overlooking Mass Ave and Comm Ave. We could see the marathon runners running past our window which was fun. Bed super comfortable with enormous pillows and sofa bed for daughter also comfortable. Only problem with bedroom was that the bathroom was tiny and only 3/4 bath, and had to step over the toilet to get into the bathroom (which is why I give them 4 instead of 5 stars). I think this is simply because it is an old hotel and like many old hotels, bathrooms are smaller. The toilet also was tankless like you'd find in a public restroom so every time you flushed it sounded like a jet engine taking off! But that wouldn't deter us from staying here again - loved this place and location is perfect.

Uni Sashimi restaurant in the lobby is outstanding and I'd highly recommend it - very creative dishes and we loved every one of them.

Service here was really, really good. Probably the most accommodating and friendly I've experienced in a long time - well done Eliot Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatinicusRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Always a pleasure to be at The Eliot Hotel. Staff always friendly and helpful. Location is great with easy walking to good restaurants, Museum of Fine Arts, Fenway Park. We've happily stayed three times.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Three night stay on marathon weekend. We had a king suite, so two rooms with foldout couch in living room. We found the front desk people attentive and friendly, the doormen got to know you fairly quickly and room service providers attentive and friendly as well. Great location for the marathon, right on the route with the last km to go. Easy walk to restaurants and shops, a bit distant to the finish line area to meet runners just because you had to pretty much walk around Boylston unless you wanted to go through multiple security checks. We had breakfast in the restaurant, it was very good and great service. A nice cocktail bar as well, the bartender was a real pro, made some great drinks. The only complaints I would have would some things re the room setup. The HVAC was real noisy when it was on, so we tried to keep it off as long as possible during the night. I would say get rid of the mini bar fridge and put in a small fridge so that you can actually use it, and a small microwave would be nice if only to warm up coffee. Our suite layout had the bathroom off the master bedroom which is great if you are two but if you have people in the other room then you have traffic through the bedroom to the bathroom. the bathroom itself is quite small, the toilet is right by the door so easy to bang your knee on it at night, shower worked well but you can't reach the handle to turn it on without stepping in and soaking yourself with cold water to get it started and water can run out onto the floor when the shower is in use. It would be better with some sort of shower curtain design rather than a half wall out from the shower control wall. The person who designed the bathroom should have to use it and there would be changes! I give the Hotel a 4.5 out of 5, it would be 5/5 but for some of the querks of the room and when a suite is $500 per night you shouldn't have querks. We would definitely return though don't get me wrong, just wanted to point out the good with a little bit of constructive suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I stayed at The Eliot for two nights after the 2014 Marathon. This hotel was a oasis of excellence.
Location, rooms, service, personnel (especially the doorman) were really incredible.
Everyone was truly polite. We all felt home.
Amazing. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing