We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at a suite for 4 nights. Good location. Uni Sashimi Bar was an outstanding find. Other than that, the front line staff was like part-time college students - not well versed at handling our requests, providing a level of service that was courteous, inefficient and cold. Our sofa was hard and uncomfortable to sit on, and even worse to sleep on. You will get better value elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Hiker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staying in Boston and going to a show was a Christmas gift for Mom, and the Eliot Hotel made it so enjoyable - for both of us! The room was gorgeous and well appointed. Lots of space for us to spread out and feel at home. The beds were luxurious. We both slept wonderfully! The staff were excellent and SO accommodating. We also enjoyed a drink at Clio's bar and a scrumptious dinner there (onsite at the hotel.)

All in all - a superb experience. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: I don't think the Eliot has any "bad choice" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotels are tough to find this weekend and definitely not cheap. This nice little boutique hotel was in a great location relative to the finish line, race expo, morning bus pick up, and course for spectating. There were also numerous places to shop and eat within in walking distance. The room was comfortable and very accommodating. The staff was very helpful and personable. Given the location and quality of the accommodations the Eliot was definitely worth the price. We'll definitely consider it again for future visits!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElijahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I both ran the Boston Marathon this year and chose this hotel because it was in a very convenient location. Short walk to the expo. Pretty much right on the course. My kids were able to spectate (with my inlaws) just across the street.

The room looked newly remodeled. The bed was VERY comfortable!

The staff was fantastic. Super friendly and accommodating to marathoners. I would highly recommend this hotel not only for marathon weekend, but any time.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and had a view of Fenway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was going to Boston anyway to speak at a large medical conference when my daughters aged 21 and 30 announced that they thought I should take them too. As an Expedia Elite member I was upgraded so that we shared a very nice 2 bedroom suite. The staff from the moment we arrived were charming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a lovely part of the Back bay area of Boston with Newbury Street very close by. The daughters felt that it would be a shame not to check out the shops there. Although the weather was not great it is always wonderful to see all the magnolias in bloom In Commonwealth Avenue and the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have stayed here twice, once as a layover for a delayed flight and once over Boston Marathon weekend. Great location across from T stop, surrounded by all kinds of shops and eateries. 5 min cab ride to Fenway Park. Doormen were very prompt and helpful in opening doors and hailing cabs. Friendly staff at front desk as well. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. There was a constant whirring sound from the air vents but I expected something like that from an older hotel. No wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicesomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here during Boston Marathon and a day after. We were in room 542 I believe - a corner suite overlooking Mass Ave and Comm Ave. We could see the marathon runners running past our window which was fun. Bed super comfortable with enormous pillows and sofa bed for daughter also comfortable. Only problem with bedroom was that the bathroom was tiny and only 3/4 bath, and had to step over the toilet to get into the bathroom (which is why I give them 4 instead of 5 stars). I think this is simply because it is an old hotel and like many old hotels, bathrooms are smaller. The toilet also was tankless like you'd find in a public restroom so every time you flushed it sounded like a jet engine taking off! But that wouldn't deter us from staying here again - loved this place and location is perfect.

Uni Sashimi restaurant in the lobby is outstanding and I'd highly recommend it - very creative dishes and we loved every one of them.

Service here was really, really good. Probably the most accommodating and friendly I've experienced in a long time - well done Eliot Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatinicusRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 86 in Boston
4,566 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £152 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing