We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eliot Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$434
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$402
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
US$401
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$339
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Boston Waterfront(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$225
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$283
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$585
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,425)
Filter reviews
1,425 results
Traveller rating
932
333
93
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
932
333
93
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewbury streetfrench doorsharvard clubupgraded to a suitemass avefenway parkone bedroom suitemarble bathroomcharming hotelgreat boutiquesmall hotelliving arearestaurants and shopsroom servicemini barthe location is perfectvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,425 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our stay at the Eliot for our honeymoon was perfect. The room was large and very clean. We had everything we needed, and the staff was extremely accommodating. The location was also the perfect starting point for all the activities we wanted to do whether it was shopping, getting great coffee, walking the riverside, catching a game at Fenway, or taking the train to Cambridge or Newton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Eliot (one bedroom suite, two double beds) when we visited Boston for the 10-year anniversary celebration of the 2004 Red Sox "curse-breaking" world series win. My wife had scored my daughter and me tickets to the game.

To be honest, we chose the Eliot largely because of its walking proximity to Fenway (about ten minutes each way). But that's just an added perk. The Eliot is a jewel. From the moment the doorman ushered us in, we felt as if we'd stepped into a 5-star European boutique hotel.

The lobby is not one that impresses with size, but rather with its intimacy, charming ambience, and attention to detail.

Check-in was efficient, and we found ourselves in our corner suite within five minutes of arrival. The suite was larger than we expected: a kitchenette (with a Keurig brewer), a living room with views of both Commonwealth and Massachusetts Avenues, and plenty of seating (including a pull-out couch).

Waiting for us on the living room table were delicious chocolate-chocolate chip cookies wrapped in gift cellophane and tied with a bow.

The roomy bedroom, with two double beds, is separated by beautiful French doors, adorned in white sheers for privacy. Soundproofing was excellent; with the French doors closed, we did not hear the television in the living room.

The bathroom, accessible from the bedroom, was immaculate. It features a shower, but no tub (which suited us fine). This is the one room that is a touch on the tight side. The toilet and sink are right next to each other. My wife got a nasty bruise on her elbow when she accidentally hit the sink.

The Eliot does something very right--it provides an abundance of pillows. My wife was pleased. She often requests extra pillows at other hotels (even when we've stayed in suites). There was no need this time. "Every hotel should provide this many," she said with a happy sigh.

Because my wife did not attend the game, she ordered room service. The crispy Asian dumplings, which she insisted that my daughter and I try, were, we all agreed, the best we've ever had.

The beds were comfortable. We slept soundly (and contentedly--the Sox won that night).

We highly recommend the Eliot.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor, a corner suite if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our stay at the Eliot was booked at short notice for our first stay in Boston. What a find! We were upgraded on arrival and found our room on the eighth floor to be extremely spacious and comfortable desite not having a view. We had one excellent meal at the in house restaurant Clio. The menu was interesting and the food great, the waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. Pity there was not enough time to try their Uni Sashimi Bar too. We spent two days walking and visiting the sights close by and to top it all Newbury Street was around the corner for incredible retail therapy. Lovely city, lovely people. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japoia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location for walking to subway and Newbury Street area. Hotel was clean, bathroom too small for 3 people. I was hoping for a newer hotel and restaurants were a little to spend. Could easily hear traffic at night which kept me awake too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Eliot is old school-- there's nothing about it that makes it feel like a business hotel or a big luxury brand (for us these were positives). Instead, it's small and charming. So, keep that in mind. If you want a big lobby, wide hallways, big rooms, and large bathrooms the Eliot probably won't work for you. We were in a double-- so no living room-- at the back of the hotel-- so no view. The decor is beautiful-- first class, and the room was ample but not large. The bathroom has nice fixtures and tile but is small. We found a TA rate that included the continental breakfast which is, like the hotel's decor-- first class. At $345 + tax + $36 for valet parking the Eliot is competitive vis a vis the other nice hotels nearby. We'll likely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite-- we didn't this time but I will next time.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews