We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in April 2012 for a convention. I loved the close proximity to The Prudential Center Complex (right across the street where the Hynes Convention Center is located), Fenway Park, and the Charles River, which are in short walking distance.

The property itself seems to be well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful when I asked for directions or information about landmarks and destinations in the area.

The room I had was spacious and with a large flat screen TV. I was also on the 24th floor which afforded a great view of the city. The beds were comfy and I had no problems with the initial cleanliness of the room or how it was maintained.

There were some noise issues that were bothersome, the toilet flushing was extremely loud and I could hear toilets flushing in the rooms surrounding mine. There also wasn't great insulation from hallway noise. Additionally the air conditioning unit was frighteningly loud. The unit turned on almost explosively and I was startled and jumped every time it cycled on. These annoyances were very disruptive when I was trying to go to sleep.

The things I hated about staying here was the parking rate (an exorbitant $41 per night) and the internet policy (in room internet $14.95 PER DEVICE). If you must charge for in room internet, why charge the fee per device? The charge should be per room regardless as to the number of devices you use while in your room. Hilton, that's just greedy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPhiDivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. I understand that the price of parking and internet was a concern, we try to stay competitive in our prices and make sure that our prices are in-line with other hotels in the area. However it is feedback and reviews like yours that will help us to make improvements in the future. Once again thank you for review.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Bay Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Service is on par with most Hiltons but nothing really stands out. I dont remember any bad incident while I was there but nothing to make you smile about either.

They have a nice little cafe in the lobby with an internet lounge. The food is good in room service and breakfast is above average. We got a high level floor and the views of boston were nice.

The location is extraordinary. Its located right next to copley square and walking distance to fenway park, boston commons and alot of good places to eat! Its also very close to the "t" if you are of those who likes to act like a local (myself included). Parking is a fortune at the hotel but very convenient. It is something around $40 a day!

The rooms are nice and on average with sheratons and marriots. It has the giant flat screen (with actual HD channels), marble bathroom, cozy double beds and very adequate for 4 people to a room.

It is a 10-15 minute walk to major nightlife places but also very close to bolyston and newbury streets, which is where alot of restaurant/bars are.

I would recommend it for a good place to sleep for the weekend but not a place where you want to spend most of your day in. So this is a good fit for boston because there is so much to do!

Room Tip: High floor facing newbury street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHAH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thanks for the comments. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you return soon next time you are in the Boston area.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I was check in by a lady named Linda and she didn't have a clue what she was doing. Just a hassle after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional Guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I rarely stay in Hilton properties anymore, but this one was very nice. They were able to meet our room requests and the room itself was very ncie. The service was also very good. I would stay again. It is very close to a couple of T stops. prudential was most convenient for us. Just a few blocks walk.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon.!

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A famous musician I sometimes work for asked for me to find accommodations in Boston near Berkley. There was a special available on line to stay here at the Hilton Back Bay, so we booked here. Besides the wonderful location, it has it's own parking garage for convenience. There is also free internet (lobby only), a coffee lounge and a restaurant/bar. Or you can walk around and enjoy what Boylston and Newbury Streets have to offer. The T is around the corner. The rooms are nice and include sweet views and a bottle of water. The best part of my stay was the customer service. I could not sleep (snoring roommate) and the front desk found me earplugs. There's also a nice pool, hot tub, exercise room and roof deck. My only complaints are that the beds are uncomfortable (for me; I notice this at all Hilton's), parking is expensive and the wifi isn't free in your room. I'd like a little bang with my buck.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvnLif e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Boston Back Bay . Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels!

Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for 4 nights in April, 2012. When we were greeted at the desk it was found that our reservation was no in the HIlton system. We reserved the room through American Airlines when we bought our tickets. We presented the desk clerk with our reservation number and rate information and were given a room promptly. (Even though she said that she had no rooms available.)

Upon entering our room it was found that the bathroom had not been cleaned properly (there was hair still in the tub and there was only about 1 use left on the toilet paper. Our coffee maker still had old coffee in it and there were used coffee grounds in the machine.) We went and told the front desk staff and were given a complimentary breakfast to use the next day. We didn't end up using it, but it was a nice gesture.

All and all it was an okay stay. I'm really glad we got a deeply discounted rate or else I would be giving a much lower review. It was not worth the posted $230 a night... try $100 less... then we're talking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. My apologize that there was some confusion with your reservation but happy to hear that our front desk staff was able to make the situation right. We hope to see you soon upon your next visit to Boston.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in the Hilton family, but the Hilton Back Bay hotel is one of the best. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was nice and very clean. Our room was on the 24th floor with an very nice view of Boston. The beds were excellent, some of the best we have tried in a hotel. The continental breakfast for Hhonors was very good, and above the average for such a breakfast. No need to pay for the full buffet. The internet was stable and fast.

The hotel has a perfect location, close to the Prudential center and the Back Bay area. Also, conveniently located for the Beacon Hill and the Downtown areas, whether you walk or take the T from stations near-by.

The only negative point about this hotel is the 41$ for the overnight parking which is simply too much even by Boston standards.

Room Tip: A room at the higher floors will provide you with a very nice view of Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writers_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our Team Members took such good care of you and you found the amenities of our property to your liking. We understand that parking can be a little pricey, but we try to remain as competitive as possible and in-line with parking prices at other hotels in the area. Unfortunately this is the price we have to pay to be in the downtown Boston area. Hope to see you return soon!

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,410 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,881 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £118 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing