We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the little things make this better than most hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is your standard business/convention hotel next to Hynes Convention Center, but now most of the big convention action has shifted to the new Boston Conference and Exhibition Center miles east of the hotel, so you need to take a shuttle. But for tourists and others that want to be in Back Bay, this is a great choice. The combination of very good rooms, friendly and helpful service, amenities and location add up to a very pleasant experience. The main drawbacks are expensive add-on charges such as for parking and internet (if it doesn't come with your room rate).

The room is typical for this chain, but generally better than most. The beds are quite comfortable but not top of the class, and all the pillows were very, very soft with no head support (I needed three just to keep my head from falling backwards). The room is good size, with a fairly large sitting chair. The desk is average but the desk chair is top notch, almost Aileron quality. The internet connection is excellent and this is meant to be a business hotel. There is a fair amount of drawer storage space, a small closet (but with iron and board), only one nightstand and not enough table top space, a flatscreen TV with good choice of channels, a mini fridge and storage console for snacks and drinks, and a decent bathroom with the usual amenities but a rather weak showerhead. There are only 20 rooms per floor, so you don't feel overwhelmed by the size of the hotel, and ice machines are always nearby. The towels are very soft. The toilet roll holder is located behind the toilet, for no good reason. It could be moved four feet forward and still be under the sink vanity. But otherwise the room is very functional if not very inspirational. It's calm and soothing.

A very nice touch is the lounge off the lobby which has comfortable seating, computers with printers for the use of all guests. The elevators are room key controlled which is nice with such a big hotel and who knows what people meandering in the lobby. The concierge and front desk staff are knowledgeable and helpful. They seem genuinely interested in helping the guests and seem to like their job. The pool and hot tub are small for a hotel this size, but we never saw more than a handful of people there. The fitness center was larger and well equipped. I never went to the hotel restaurant or used room service. But why would you when the hotel is next door to the Shops at the Prudential Center with its half dozen restaurants, mammoth food court, and hundreds of shops.

Two subways stops are within two blocks on two different lines, and many bus lines run within a block. Plus it's only a one block walk to Boylston Street and the beginning of Back Back. This is a great location, like most of the Back Bay/Copley Plaza hotels. You don't need a car to get to a lot of attractions, and with the cost of parking, think twice before parking here. Cabs are quite expensive: a 15 minute ride cost $50, and I did that three times, so it was no fluke.

So in summary, if you don't mind a large chain hotel, this is one of the better options. If you can get a good price, grab it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here before a show at the House of Blues, it was a 10 minute walk. The rooms are really nice, staff was above average (not great). Very close to great shopping, site seeing and more. Duck boat tours are a short walk, and there are a lot of great pubs in the vacinity!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hehasawifeyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Always treat me well when I visit. Great location, steps from the shopping of Newbury Street or the mall. Try Trader Joes nearby for groceries, or Shaws if you are going cheaply. Ask for a north-facing room to see the river, MIT, BU, Harvard, Fenway Park, etc.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
6  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our Team Members took such good care of you and you found the amenities of our property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon!

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in this nicely located hotel in Downtown Boston with our two young sons. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Parking is on site for a fee. The rooms are nothing to write about. Very simple furnishings and decor. Modest spaces, but we weren't planning to spend much time there except to sleep anyway. The hotel is walking distance to several Boston attractions including the Prudential Center, the Boston Common and Fenway Park. The place is quite pricey, but most of the downtown hotels are.

Room Tip: We chose a corner room to have a little extra space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoagy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

After spending $1,300.00 at this facility for a 3 day stay, they nickeled and dimed us with a 123.00 charge for self-service parking. The room was nothing special even though the first room we checked into had a wet vomit saturated rug between the double beds. Our breakfast at the lobby cafe was exciting. The vendor made my wife a hazel nut capacuno that was served in a large to go cup. It was 3/4 foam and 1/4 coffee. When my wife went to complain, she was told that was how they came out of the machine and that she would have to purchase a new beverage if she wanted more. Not customer friendly.
The Bell Hops were the highlight of this stay. They were most helpful and a delight to deal with.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Djddretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with about the dirty rug in your guest room and poor service at the cafe have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in Boston with the kids after a college reunion and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel location is superb; it is not on a very busy street, but very convenient to numerous sites and shopping. A friend of mine mapped out a walk down Mass Ave to the Esplanade along the Charles, to Charles Street down to the Public Garden, then back down Commonwealth Avenue. Beautiful. We walked 10 minutes to a Redsox game, whereas the rest of the population is taking multiple forms of transportion and spending hours to get there. Newberry Street, with all of its shops and restaurants is a few blocks away. We would definitely stay again. Our room was large enough to accommodate an additional rollaway bed. I thought the room size was perfectly adequate, especially compared to a typical Manhattan hotel. The T stops are convenient as well for trips to the North End, Cambridge, etc. Excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pacem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Me and my best friend stayed here for one night during memorial day to go catch the red sox game at Fenway park! We arrived at 11am were so excited to be in Boston as it was our first time here and we went up to the check in desk where we were checked in by a girl named Nataliya. She asked us if we were here for the game and we said yes we are and are excited! As we were smiling away she didn't shoot a smile but was like "I was suppose to go but here I am at work" so we responded with "ya it must be hard working on holidays its memorial day and all official kick off to summer!" and what came out of her mouth was just shocking and we couldn't stop talking about it she said "I hate America i'm not from here I don't care about this country or their holidays, its like christmas I don't celebrate it who cares and we are a hotel open 365 days a year 24 hours a day" me and my friend were like UMM OKAY? We are both Canadians and were still irked by this. She just handed us our keys still no smile and that was that. The elevators were quick our room was easy to find it was spacious and clean the beds were very comfy as always at the Hilton. The view was nice it was of the city we were on the 15th floor. Location was PERFECT!!!!! About 3 blocks away from Newberry Street and 4 blocks from Fenway park very convenient and cabs are always lined up outside which was nice. Parking is 41$ per night extra so keep that in mind. There is a Starbucks which was great for a morning coffee and bite to eat it's located right beside the complimentary business center. Overall I would stay here again cause of the location and the rooms and hopefully next time I won't get such a odd check in experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that had a disappointing experience with a member of our front desk staff. I have addressed this issue with our staff. Exceptional Guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#53 of 84 in Boston
2,454 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,385 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £104 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing