We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The room I was put in was right off the elevator, the TV did not work, and the room REEKED of smoke. I called the front desk about the TV, they sent someone up to fix it. I asked for a different room. I was moved to a room directly above the room I was originally in, so the room still smelled faintly of smoke. The shower didn’t drain properly, I was standing in 2-3” of water. I left a note about it, it was supposedly fixed. The next morning, I was again standing in water taking a shower. I left another note. It was supposedly fixed again. The next morning I again stood in water taking a shower. I did not receive any bottled water, I had to keep requesting it. I did not receive my bill the morning that I was leaving, I had to request it from the front desk. The front desk was not knowledgeable about the area and the concierge desk was not staffed. No signs in lobby about the events for the day and their location. Terrible experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 481gaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Reviews like yours are the one that help us to improve in areas where we have fallen short. I am sharing this with the other departments to ensure 100% satisfactory stays in the future will occur each and every time. We sincerely apologize for all the missed opportunities that we could have done that would have made your stay one that you would expect from our Hilton. Our team takes these reviews seriously and focuses on each opportunity to make it right! The team and I hope that you will visit us again soon to experience true Boston Hospitality and the changes made to ensure you have an extraordinary experience!

Best,

Dominique Marty
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,881)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,881 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before and this time experienced the updated executive lounge. Nicely stocked 24/7 with snacks and drinks which was a great touch. The layout was unusual and I liked the high tables and separate work areas but the assault of TV screens was intrusive. They are on ever available wall space tuned to different stations and some with sound on some not and all with sub titles. Not restful and highly distracting. These is not a restful retreat and you are better off grabbing a snack and decamping to the main lobby
There are some staff challenges. Check was not smooth and I only got everything resolved after 3 visits to the main desk. I would have expected some acknowledgement of a problem and someone asking what they could do to make it better but never happened. They were oblivious to the errors made that I could see.
The gym was underwhelming. Limited equipment and a few static machines and some free weights. Given the size of the property it seemed under equipped but was not busy when I was there. There's a nice outdoor deck and a small indoor pool
High rooms and river views are preferred - best to ask. Higher floors are honors floors
Linens and beds are delightful with new high thread count crisp sheets. Nice!
Convenient for the back bay and public transportation on the train system (called the "T")

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stays with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and input on our property layout and amenities and we will use your comments as we look for future refresh options. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality and value you expect from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed in the property for 4 nights in February 2014. The hotel is fantastic the rooms are big and with a very nice view. The staff is really warm and they welcome you with the best way. Every day there was fresh lemon and orange flavored water as a refreshment for all the guests at the lobby. It was a really fantastic experience...recommended for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here at the Back Bay Hilton! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the fruit infused water in our lobby.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I rarely stay anywhere else. I ended up with an end room, very good size for Boston hotel. Great location to "T" and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. As HiltonHHonors member I had access to lounge so I didn't use the restaurant. I will stay here again, even on personal dollar.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for writing a great review. As you stated making the most out of our convenient location is easy, with our hotel being in the heart of the Back Bay just steps away from some of the best eateries, shopping and transportation in Boston. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Boston Back Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for a visit to NU. It could not have been more convenient to the school, shops and restaurants. When we arrived there was self parking in the hotel which was a great amenity in Boston!. We were greeted in the lobby by Benjamin serving cups of orange juice...unfortunately no vodka in it! We were then prompt assisted with check in by Marco who also gave us concise directions to our restaurant (Atlantic fish was amazing!) and then to the school. The only downside was that our room overlooked the parking garage and there was no complimentary wifi...what hotel doesn't offer comp wifi these days??? Overall, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are delighted that your recent stay at the Back Bay Hilton was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated. I did see that internet cost was a bit of an issue with you. We do offer complimentary WI-FI in our Lobby, Starbucks area as well as in our outstanding restaurant and bar Forty Dalton. Hilton also has an amazing rewards program and complementary internet is one of the perks! I thank you again for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon. (Hopefully when your daughter chooses NorthEastern!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for a conference. Great location for the conference we attended next door. Room was clean and had a decent view of the city around me. The whole week I was there I had to go to a conference for 8-5 and it was nice to just be able to walk across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during your conference! We hope you stay with us again, hopefully for some leisure travel so you can enjoy even more of your stay at the Hilton Back Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location for seeing the sites of Boston. Within walking distance of Fenway Park, the Charles River, Newbury Street, Boston Common, and the Prudential Center. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. As a Diamond member, I enjoy having a delicious, hot breakfast in the Diamond Lounge. Jasoda Ramcharran, and the rest of the staff at this hotel are warm and friendly and always greet me and make sure we have everything we need during my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

On behalf of my team, thank you very much for your very gracious review. We will print and post on our Team Member bulletin board so all can read your kind comments. I consider myself very fortunate to work with a bunch of true professionals. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Back Bay Hilton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,366 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,855 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £134 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing