We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option when in Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great option when in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Back Bay hotel.
The check-in was fast and easy. We had a panoramic view room the the very top floor. The view from here did not disappoint, it was simply gorgeous. The room itself was large, very roomy for the two of us. We had a kingsize bed that was very comfortable, providing us with a great nights sleep.
The large LCD TV had great reception and HD with plenty choices of channels. We had a in room coffee maker with really nice coffee. The added touch of take away cups for your coffee is a great idea. The shower was also great, with plenty of hot water at full pressure. The in room safe was large enough for a laptop. We found the room clean and modern, with a really comfortable ergonomic chair and an equally comfortable chase. My only annoyance was no free in room WiFi. They did have free WiFi in the business centre though. The free Starbuck's coffee in lobby was a nice touch, especially after a long day sightseeing.
For us the location was fantastic. It's a short walk to various subway stations one of which (the Prudential Centre station) is just 5 minutes away. The subway will pretty much take you to most places around Boston. Speaking of the Prudential Centre, they have have a lot of shops and eateries, so we found it a very good option for dinner close to the hotel. Such as PF Chang's and The Cheesecake Factory. The are around the hotel is quite beautiful to look at with a combination of businesses and residential. The Back Bay Area is very nice to walk through.
Overall we had a great stay at the Hilton. We really couldn't fault it apart from the lack of free in room WiFi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Boston, whether business or pleasure.

Room Tip: A room in the higher floors for great views of Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwie-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are glad you chose to stay with us , as there are a great number of hotels to choose from in Boston. Our team members will enjoy hearing about this detailed account of your wonderful experience with us and will be more than happy to welcome you again soon. Regarding WiFi, we have complimentary Wi-Fi located throughout our lobby, Starbucks, and restaurant, Forty Dalton. We would also love to sign you up as a member of our Hilton HHonors rewards programs, which offers amazing perks such complimentary Wi-Fi. Your business and loyalty is appreciated, and we look forward to the next time you stay with us

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    1,089
    456
    154
    62
See reviews for
691
709
163
800
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I arrived Aug 19-22 at the Hilton Back Bay Hotel. The whole experience was very easy. They went out of their way to make sure I felt at home. Paul and Thomas (bartenders) really exemplify what the Hilton hotel stands for. They go above and beyond knowing the customers and making sure you are treated well. They greet you by first name and make you feel like you already know each other. It makes for travelling that much easier when you have employees like this. Way to go Paul and Thomas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to commend our team members for providing you with excellent guest service. We are delighted that your recent stay at the Back Bay Hilton was one that exceeded your expectations and will be sure to commend Paul and Thomas for their efforts. They both will be happy to hear that they lived our Hilton Values and culture. We greatly appreciate your business and loyalty, and hope to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, we have pondered over our review and although we have given it a 3 it was close to a four. (Maybe a 3.5)
The beds were small and they were definitely not comfortable! The bathroom was tiny and you could hear everything going on in the next room including them going to the loo!! And no wifi in the rooms! In this day and age this is a must!
On a plus note the staff were very polite and friendly, in particular the housekeeping staff who were always smiling and chatty.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations and would like to apologize for the cost and service of our Wi-Fi. For your next stay with us, please enjoy the excellent coverage of our complimentary Wi-Fi located throughout our lobby, Starbucks, and restaurant, Forty Dalton. We would also love to sign you up as a member of our Hilton HHonors rewards programs, which offers amazing perks such complimentary Wi-Fi. Your business and loyalty is appreciated, and we look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Boston is a beautiful city to visit and the Back Bay Hilton is centrally located to wonderful restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. Our room on the 11th floor had a Panoramic city view which was stunning, beds were comfortable, the only thing lacking was the absence of a tub in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 02Africa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay and the convenience our location afforded you. Providing positive and memorable experiences for our guests is the reason for our success along with our excellent location. We are absolutely thrilled you took the time and effort to share your experience at our property with you. Please call us the next time you are planning to stay with us so that we can assign you to a room with a bathtub. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

First I wanted to give it a 4/5 but I reconsidered because of the issues we had with the payment (billed two CCs).

For the hotel itself:
Location top, clean, good fitness facilities & pool, room nice enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel_von_eder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We always appreciate guest feedback and continuously take comments into consideration as we strive to improve our guest service experience. Secondly, we would like to apologize for your billing issues. I would like to hear a bit more about what the issue was if you would call our hotel directly at 617-236-1100. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hilton Boston Back Bay.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a great location hotel, period. Close to all that Boston has to offer and very close to all kinds of transportation, activities and food. As a Diamond ember there is a great executive lounge that serves full breakfast and all the goodies that go along with it. Would be nice if they had more selection of appetizer in the evening with drinks. Our room for a family of 4 was neat, roomy and relaxing. Good wifi and the staff is amazing. Very convenient to subway, PF Changs and Cheesecake Factory and about a 10 minute walk to Fenway for Red Sox games and 5 minutes from trendy shopping around the corner at the Prudential building and upscale avenues. Great trip and very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pellenils64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are glad you chose to stay with us with your family, as there are a great number of hotels to choose from in Boston. Our team members will enjoy hearing about this detailed account of your wonderful experience with us and will be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst site seeing. The staff are excellent, very friendly, and always willing to help with a smile. Rooms are very clean, spacious, and very comfortable beds. Location of hotel is very safe and good for shops/restaurants of Back Bay and Copley Square. If you are visiting downtown Boston/Aquarium/Harvard - then this hotel is a little further out, however don't be out off by this, the Subway is easy, cheap, and very quick to get you to these places.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We greatly appreciate such high praise as well as your choice to stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit when we will have the opportunity to build on the trust and loyalty that we have with you.

Best,
Dominique Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#20 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Property: Hilton Boston Back Bay
Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing