We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbury Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Newbury Guest House for 4 days pre cruise in September.
A great location and way more personal than chain hotels of a similar price.
Close to the T, Copely Place shops and a 10 minute stroll to Boston common.
Good shops, bars, restaurants and a small supermarket with a great wine cellar nearby.
WiFi and an excellent breakfast included in the room rate.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jivechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    246
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
97
291
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights over the Easter holiday season, and all I can say is that it was ideal. Superb location in the heart of the great boutique shops and cafes of Newbury Street while being short works to all of Bostons lovely attractions (Boston Common, Beacon Hill ext..) But perhaps the best thing I can say about the Newbury Guesthouse is that it feels quintessentially Boston, and in my personal opinion much better than the bland and boring chain hotels that our also available at a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent 4 nights here. It is a charming inn in the middle of all the action. We were within walking distance of everything/ or close to the T that we could get where we needed to be without any trouble. We had a quiet, comfortable room on the fourth floor ( yes, there is an elevator). The breakfast each morning was very good......just wish offerings varied. Rather pricey, but I guess location and season played a part in that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This place is in a good location, but the hotel is shabby and needs a lot of work. Our room faced the alley and there were chunks of peeling paint falling off the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet in the reception area and up the stairs looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days.

The breakfast was mediocre, and the girl at reception was somewhat surly. Shop around!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for one night and wished we had more time.

We just finished a half-tri in NH so we were too exhausted for too much exploring. We were on the door step of everything we wanted and needed.

Its close to the subway system and the park is close enough for a quick stroll.
The restaurants are a great place to relax and people watch and many of the shops are unique to Boston.

Breakfast was ok, it was a "creperie" so I was disappointed when there was only the usual "breakfast included spread".

Parking was great and the staff were helpful. Price wise it was what I expected for what I got.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leandraky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Sox game close to Fenway and great shopping! Hotel clean. Great buffet breakfast included. Didn't spend much time on the room but clean and very comfortable mattress. Parking easy and guest house has its own lot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our "tour of New England" and it was the best hotel during our 10 day trip.

Easily accessible off of the Mass Turnpike, located close to the Copley Square metro stop, and right in the middle of the great shopping on Newbury street.

The room was well maintained during our stay and even though we were in a front room, the noise from Newbury Street was not bad at all (although we were on the 3rd floor, so lower rooms could be a bit worse on noise). The price was better than some of the downtown hotels which are no more conveniently located than this place.

The big factor on our excellent rating was the staff. We had to move our car a few times and had a few requests during our stay...and each one was met with a smile and a very courteous demeanor regardless of who we spoke with at the front desk. A friendly and helpful staff go a long way when considering where to stay, and we will be staying here on our next visit to Boston.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing