We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution - booking fee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul, MN,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Caution - booking fee”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked several nights in March 2014 - a good 5 months away. The entire hotel cost went directly on my credit card. I wasn't expecting that - so cancelled my reservation within two days of making it.

When I cancelled - I was charged a $25 booking fee. All cancellations made before "March 2014" are charged this.

1. I understand a cancellation fee- but five months out? And within a day of making the reservation?
2. I did not understand the cost was going to go onto my credit card immediately. I know this can be standard, but I didn't understand that, and didn't read any fine print to point that out. I am saving to make the trip - don't have it all yet!

I'm sure this guest house is lovely, and I hope I may indeed stay there sometime. But - I didn't appreciate the charge, nor the immediate full charge to my credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StopSmellRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    254
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
102
305
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Newbury Guest House for 4 days pre cruise in September.
A great location and way more personal than chain hotels of a similar price.
Close to the T, Copely Place shops and a 10 minute stroll to Boston common.
Good shops, bars, restaurants and a small supermarket with a great wine cellar nearby.
WiFi and an excellent breakfast included in the room rate.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jivechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights over the Easter holiday season, and all I can say is that it was ideal. Superb location in the heart of the great boutique shops and cafes of Newbury Street while being short works to all of Bostons lovely attractions (Boston Common, Beacon Hill ext..) But perhaps the best thing I can say about the Newbury Guesthouse is that it feels quintessentially Boston, and in my personal opinion much better than the bland and boring chain hotels that our also available at a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent 4 nights here. It is a charming inn in the middle of all the action. We were within walking distance of everything/ or close to the T that we could get where we needed to be without any trouble. We had a quiet, comfortable room on the fourth floor ( yes, there is an elevator). The breakfast each morning was very good......just wish offerings varied. Rather pricey, but I guess location and season played a part in that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This place is in a good location, but the hotel is shabby and needs a lot of work. Our room faced the alley and there were chunks of peeling paint falling off the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet in the reception area and up the stairs looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days.

The breakfast was mediocre, and the girl at reception was somewhat surly. Shop around!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for one night and wished we had more time.

We just finished a half-tri in NH so we were too exhausted for too much exploring. We were on the door step of everything we wanted and needed.

Its close to the subway system and the park is close enough for a quick stroll.
The restaurants are a great place to relax and people watch and many of the shops are unique to Boston.

Breakfast was ok, it was a "creperie" so I was disappointed when there was only the usual "breakfast included spread".

Parking was great and the staff were helpful. Price wise it was what I expected for what I got.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leandraky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Sox game close to Fenway and great shopping! Hotel clean. Great buffet breakfast included. Didn't spend much time on the room but clean and very comfortable mattress. Parking easy and guest house has its own lot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,714 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing