We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location, Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Newbury Guest House. The Hynes Convention Center is a short block (5 minutes or less) away. Boston Common is about a 10-15 minute walk. The setting of this four-story hotel is wonderful. Newbury street is loaded with boutique shops and restaurants, and it's close to the Copley T (Boston's subway) station---in fact, we bought a one-week T pass ($18) and took the T from the airport to the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was roomy and had a shower with a half-size tub. There was not dresser in the room, but the closet had shelves. There's a table with two chairs, no desk, and one other padded chair. The hotel offered a free hot breakfast daily (scrambled eggs, English muffins, pancakes, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and cereal) and free Wifi. The Wifi signal was consistent and strong. The lobby is a comfortable sitting room with a fire place and lots of books and magazines. The staff was attentive and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 205, a bay window room on the second floor. It was right across the hall from the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved the location, with so many restaurants and shops close at hand. The Guest House feels much more personal than a large hotel chain and everyone was very friendly and efficient. Our room on the 4th floor at the front was comfortable and spacious. The street was lively but not noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewburyGuestHouse261, Manager at Newbury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. We hope to see you both again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'd always wanted to visit Boston and did so after three weeks in New York. Boston is a wonderful city, with so much history. The Newbury is a delightful boutique hotel in a row of 19th century townhouses in a very trendy part of Boston. The street is peppered with boutiques, restaurants, specialty shops, and there is a large mall shopping centre only a block away. I stayed for 4 nights and loved every moment. My room was spacious, with a super comfortable queen bed and a strong shower in the bathroom. Public transport is close by, including trains and buses which can take you to all the amazing historical landmarks in Boston, including Harvard. I enjoyed the Newbury's breakfast, which was included, and a great start to a busy day of sight seeing. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this to anyone visiting Boston - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Selected this place due to its location. Perfect distance near all the local sights, pubs, entertainment, etc. Nice place, cozy, and comfortable. Free breakfast buffet, next door in restaurant. Great selection. Has elevator and stairs. Decent size rooms. Good bathroom. Ice machine right outside door. Room had a refrigerator., large flat screen tv., table and 2 chairs. Everything within walking distance or the "T." I would recommend this place for couples who want a change from the big named hotels. Staff not quite as friendly as I would have expected, but what can you expect from college students.... some of the nearby pubs were like that as well. They would rather cater to the younger crowd than the older ones with more money to spend, go figure. So expect this attitude throughout down town Boston.

Room Tip: We selected the 4th floor to stay above any night time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013


We recently stayed in the Newbury and had a king room with a bay window.
The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice big bathroom and comfy bed.
Breakfast is included and does the job without being gourmet.

What you need to take into account is that Newbury street is very busy until early morning and that really is all that stops me from giving it a 5.

The location is brilliant for Boston sightseeing and exploring but if you come from outside the US then be warned the room rate is before taxes and we paid $80 worth on a basic price of $598 for 2 nights.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In all fairness to the hotel, this was at the end of a cruise and two other segments of a vacation and everyone was tired and wanted to go home. That did not bode well for a good time. The hotel is in a very trendy, hip part of Boston and something that isn't us!! I thought everything was expensive, as in the restaurants, and frankly thought that the room was expensive for what we got. I booked two rooms with bay windows and thought we would be looking out on the tree lined street, but we looked out on the alley. I thought the decor was a little worn and tired. We asked for a recommendation for dinner one night and were sent to a very noisy, fully booked restaurant. When I return to Boston, I would choose to stay in a different part of the city. The pluses were that staff accommodated us by giving us early access to one of the rooms; that was appreciated and we liked that breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annpriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Newbury and am I glad we discovered it. In all our travels we have never stayed in such a delightful location. The room was very comfortable and the staff friendly. It was also a bonus to have breakfast there, although I found it a bit lacking in variety. One thing I did miss was not being able to make coffee in the room. Aside from that everything else was perfect. Newbury Street itself was so unique with all its quirky shops and places to eat. Could have spent a week just visiting the shops in the 1 street! Perfect location to the Prudential which was just around the corner and also the "T" at the Pru. Copley Square was also within 5 min walk. In fact everything about Newbury was perfect. The staff even posted my jersey which I had left there, back to Dublin, paying some of the postage. I would definitely recommend The Newbury to anyone going to Boston and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, given the opportunity.


hinh

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
970 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,783 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 84 in Boston
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £119 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing