We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a treat to stay at the Newbury Guest House on the famous Newbury Street in Boston. All the staff went beyond what was expected to make our stay so wonderful. Our room had beautiful windows overlooking the street. There was a delicious crepe restaurant right below our room and a fantastic pastry shop opened the last day we were there. The room was very comfortable with spacious ceilings and even a sitting area in front of the window! Am looking forward to returning there in the future.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the street was a treat.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Newbury Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Newbury Guest House staff was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable located right in the heart of it all. Boston's finest shopping and restaurants are foot steps away. The very good included breakfast was a major plus. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Newbury Guest House is located in the Back Bay area of Boston--safe for walking and perfect for shopping and eating. It is conveniently located near public transportation. You can even take the T to/from the airport. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Breakfast is included--saving you time and money. Next time I am in Boston, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Our standard rooms in the back were quiet, clean, comfortable, and efficient.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3onaquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Loved Newbury Guest House. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean. Located in the beautiful Newbury Street I was amazed with how beautiful the street was so Boston. The shopping was incredible and the restaurants aplenty. Close to all you need whilst in Boston. Would definitely stay again didn't want to leave.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my second visit to this guest house and I wasn't disappointed. We had a slight problem when checking in but it was dealt with very professionally by Bianca. Within no time we were settling in to our room. The room was spacious and clean. There is no tea/coffee making facility but it's not an issue as there is complimentary coffee in reception. The big bonus was a safe in the wardrobe that is free and very easy to use. Very handy for iPads and cameras etc. there is also a complimentary breakfast that is extremely good and very tasty. If you are looking for an inexpensive superb location close to the shops and park then look no further...there is even parking if you need it

Room Tip: We stayed at the back on the third floor which was quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsybeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely boutique hotel, in the heart of the iconic Newbury Street. We had a large room, with a great king-size bed. Very comfortable. Breakfast is a treat too, with bacon to die for. Fresh coffee is always available in reception, whenever you need it. A perfect location for all the shops, bars and restaurants in the Back Bay area. I would recommend staying here over one of the bigger hotels downtown everytime.

Room Tip: We had one of the bay rooms, overlooking Newbury Street. Not at all noisey.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Newbury Guest House. The Hynes Convention Center is a short block (5 minutes or less) away. Boston Common is about a 10-15 minute walk. The setting of this four-story hotel is wonderful. Newbury street is loaded with boutique shops and restaurants, and it's close to the Copley T (Boston's subway) station---in fact, we bought a one-week T pass ($18) and took the T from the airport to the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was roomy and had a shower with a half-size tub. There was not dresser in the room, but the closet had shelves. There's a table with two chairs, no desk, and one other padded chair. The hotel offered a free hot breakfast daily (scrambled eggs, English muffins, pancakes, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and cereal) and free Wifi. The Wifi signal was consistent and strong. The lobby is a comfortable sitting room with a fire place and lots of books and magazines. The staff was attentive and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 205, a bay window room on the second floor. It was right across the hall from the eleva...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
960 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,856 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £149 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing