We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Antarctica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Terrific location in the Back Bay area. Old world charm, but with contemporary styled rooms. Stayed for several nights in a Deluxe room (but no "padded luggage bench" in our room as stated on their website) and a night in King room. Very clean and comfortable. Bar fridge handy for keeping drinks and snacks (no mini-bar, which is my preference anyway). No coffee/tea making in the room, but available in the guest lounge - an opportunity to mingle with other guests. Free Wifi, but disappointingly slow. Both our rooms faced the back laneway and we got woke up at 2am on a Thursday by a garbage truck, so maybe a room facing Newbury St would be better, but it's a lively street so maybe not any quieter. Only a couple blocks to Prudential or Copley "T".

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    254
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
102
305
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Our room had a high ceiling with modern furniture, a 35-ish inch flat screen tv, Comcast cable, and a DVD player. The queen bed was a little hard, but hardly the worst I've slept on. It's in a very posh area of Boston (think Marina district in SF), with lots of fancy restaurant, shops, and nice park areas. Initially we balked at the extra $20 per night to park our rental car, but soon found out that's the same for all hotels in the heart of Boston. They have a great complimentary breakfast, with bacon, eggs, english muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, oj, and milk, but we could only wake up early enough to make 2 of them out of the 4 nights we were there (it ends at 9:30). Free wireless internet too, though it was a very slow connection.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freyballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our room overlooked Newbury Street on the 3rd floor. Room and bathroom were a nice size for the two of us, well decorated in a contemporary/minimalist way and clean (very imortant to me). At first I was concerned about checking in on a Saturday and staying in a room overlooking such a busy street with restaurants and traffic just below, but the noise level was okay for sleeping. Those more sensitive to noise may prefer a room that doesn't overlook the busy street. The location is great for walking around a neighborhood that is plush with stores, restaurants and people watching. Also easy access to the T(subway) to get around town. Only downside was a very odd/bad smell on the first floor and in the elevator that wasn't remedied in the two days we stayed there. Fortunately we didn't have this in our room so it wasn't a deal-breaker kind of issue. Good value and nice place to stay for the money. I wouldn't recommend they raise their prices though.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We spent a night in this hotel-in-a-brownstone July 20, 2009.
The room seemed recently refurbished and well appointed, with new furniture .
The A/C was effective and the bathroom vent minimized mirror fogging.
Did not hear any neighbors ( maybe no one were there on a Monday ); the room was nice and quiet.

The complimentary breakfast was limited but of high quality; regular/decaf coffee & tea, fruit,
English muffins and very well prepared bacon and scrambled eggs.

The front desk was attentive and helpful.

Great value for a classy little hotel
Will definitely consider the next time I need a hotel in Boston.

Be sure to reserve car parking when you reserve the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san fran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was small, but very nice, clean & comfortable. Super great location! Close to everything! Great to go and sit in the lounge after a full day and have a coffee and talk with other guests! Absolutely recommend if you're not into the 12 story hotel scene. Will make this my "home-base" when I come to visit my daughter while she is at Northeastern.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

As one of the earlier reviews states they have recently refurbished this place, out with the victoriana and in with the modern minimalist sytle. Okay if that's your thing however at time of booking (Feb 09) we were not told and our original aim was to not stay anywhere that looked like 'any hotel' and yet that's exactly what we ended up with. We were initally disappointed feeling that they must have known that the refurb was coming up and it could have been mentioned somewhere.

However the place was kept very clean by housekeeping, even with the sheets being changed everyday. The room was a decent size and even the bathroom was bigger than it stictly needed to be. Also this place seemed to have pretty good sound insulation, suprising in an older conversion. The hotel is in a great location, lots of shops and places to eat nearby, plus the green line nearby to travel around - though I think with a little effort you could really walk to everywhere from here. Also worth mentioning a great wash and fold business 1 block away if like us you a travelling a long time, extrmely cheap and the guy who runs it was a mine of local information.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful any time we had a query. Breakfast was a little disappointing as it was quite basic and there was zero variety day-to-day. Overall at the price we booked it at (circa $160 per night) I felt like it was a good deal, there's nothing in similar price bracket of similar quality or as good a location. But I get the feeling with Newbury Street going up in the world and their new re-fit they are likely to be upping the price sometime, then you could probably do better for a similar price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahx200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My husband and I wanted to stay in a reasonably priced hotel that was close to major attractions in Boston. The Newbury Guest House fit the bill perfectly and was an amazing value. The hotel is located in the heart of Newbury Street's shops and restaurants and is within easy walking distance to two T-Stops. The room was clean and well-appointed. Although the bathroom was small, that is to be expected in an older building that was converted into a hotel. The Guest House offers a free breakfast every morning, which is a nice touch. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, the Newbury Guest House is a great hotel in a wonderful neighborhood. A perfect base of operations for your visit to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
951 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,710 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing