We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dolgeville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The online appearance is much nicer than in person. Dated. Screaming kids next door at 5:30am. Asked to move to a quieter room. The free upgrade was worse, smaller, and the Heating system ran all night. Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear bmurnion, Thank you for writing a review. Allow to me to apologize profusely for your less than quiet and comfortable night. We are working to update our guestrooms with a complete renovation in 2014. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston. We’d love a chance to welcome you back and get your thoughts on the renovations. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    1,236
    515
    185
    79
See reviews for
860
1,004
180
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Pretty much what one would expect – spacious comfortable clean room, spacious light-filled hallway, pleasant friendly staff. Building is a little strange, w/ small inconspicuous entrance, and an initial short elevator ride to get to the lobby and main elevators, but otherwise well placed, on a less-busy street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flopydope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi flopydope, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I am so glad that it was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed your clean room and friendly associate interactions. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Boston! Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed on this hotel on October 30, 2013 for the last game of the World Series. It has a nice location at walking distance from South Station, which easily connects to the airport using the Silver Line. My only complaint with this hotel is the two small double beds in room. Don't dare to touch the refrigerator, it has sensor that even you do not consume the products if you move it from its position it will charge you an astronomical price. The location of the hotel is on the financial district during the night the neighborhood is deserted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hacolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi hacolon, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We completely understand the frustration our guests experience with the motion censored mini-bars. You’ll be glad to hear that come January 1st, we will be replacing the mini bars with complimentary mini refrigerators for our guest's personal use. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay! Warm wishes, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara de Samana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I got this hotel on Priceline when I decided spur of the moment to head to Bean Town to watch my Tigers play the Red Sox. Stayed here for one night but it made me want to stay longer. We took the bus from NYC, rode the Hub Way bikes right outside the bus depot to our hotel, took about 5 min. Rode the bikes from the hotel to Fenway, took about 20 min. Everything was so close to this place and the hotel was immaculate. It's even connected to Macy's to keep the wife happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourSamanaWithTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello TourSamanaWithTerry, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to Fenway, and to see the Tigers and Red Sox play, wow what a game! Looking forward to welcoming you back to Boston, soon! Warm wishes, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip that ended up falling on the Red Sox WS parade. Awkward, being from NY!! Got a great (nonrefundable) rate thru bidding on priceline, $105/night, otherwise we probably would have switched weekends. That aside the hotel was great! On par with the other Hyatts I have stayed at. The bathroom is a little "dated" but still great! Clean. Great water pressure- all that truly matters. The room was comfortable & had a great view from the 22nd floor. The elevators are a little slow, but we didn't find it annoying, even with the whole elevator switch in the lobby. This is my 4th stay in Boston & I found the Hyatt right on par with the Millennium Bostonian (which depending on your room, has a similar elevator switch) and the Omni Parker House. Couldn't pick a favorite out of the three. One plus for the Hyatt is the self park option right under the building!! Our two and a half days of parking was less than one overnight in NYC. A great stay & I would definitely visit again!

A note to all hotels: For the love of God provide better blow dryers! If I wanted a travel-size I would just bring my own! Also, can we stop charging for Internet?? Every McDonalds I've ever been in offers free internet. Seriously.

Room Tip: low floor for faster elevator experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMetNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi MissMetNY, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are thrilled to hear that it was one that met your expectations! We hope that you were still able to enjoy the festivities of the Red Sox parade, even with being from NY! Please be in touch and we will make a note on your profile regarding your preference in hair dryers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston soon. Perhaps for a Yankee/Red Sox game? Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Accessing this hotel was a little strange at first, you come in on the street level and take an elevator up to the lobby floor, but I think it adds a little extra security, so I didn't mind. The main entrance and lobby are fresh and contemporary with warm purple hues. The place feels very inviting...until you get to the floors with rooms. The minute the elevator doors open it is like you have stepped off a time machine to the early 1980's. I mentioned this in a review I sent directly to the hotel and they have indicated that they are in the process of making renovations to the guest rooms.

We had an ADA room, so our room was quite sizable, however, the room door and the bathroom door could not be open at the same time or else they would hit each other. Keeping the bathroom door closed wouldn't have been a problem, but there is no fan in the bathroom, so we wanted to keep the door open so everything in the bathroom wouldn't be musty post-shower. The beds were comfy, I liked the feather bed on top of the mattress, but my travel companion did not. There was no light switch when you entered the room, instead you had to travel to each of the individual lamps to light the room. The only thing we found particularly odd is that the room has a fridge stocked with mini-bar items but it explicitly states that you are not allowed to keep your own personal items in this fridge. If you remove something you will be charged for it (whether it is consumed or not) and if it appears you have been storing your own items the hotel will charge you a $25 fee. I was glad I was not traveling with my infant child this time around because I have no idea what I would have done with her milk bottles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empire18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hello Empire18, Thank you so much for your detailed review. It is feedback like yours that is incredibly helpful to us as a hotel as we strive to ensure that each guest has an incredible stay. You are correct; our elevator set-up provides additional security to our guests and we will be undergoing room renovations in 2014. We are also adding mini-refrigerators for personal use to every room come January 1st, 2014. We look forward to welcoming you and your baby back to check out our changes! Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is bordered by Chinatown, a short walk to the tourism center and of course the beginning of the "Freedom Trail" with a short distance to the subway. We walked most of the time to any place, only two places we had to take the subway - to the Museum of Fine Art and Harvard, everything else we went hiking. the hotel service was very good , we got restaurant's recommendations for dinner - were very successful. Breakfast is rich and good. The gym, pool and SPA we have not had the time to "check".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Nili B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. It is so great to hear that you were able to take advantage of all that Boston has to offer, including The Freedom Trail, Harvard and amazing restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back and will have more recommendations waiting for you upon your return! Best, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing