We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms, central location”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this Hyatt Regency for 8 nights with our two children.
The staff was very kind and helpful in every way. The rooms could use a little updating. But all very clean. Comfortable beds. Clean sheets every day.
The location is very good. One block from the park and shops and subway around the corner. Taxis in front of the door. Hotel is connected to Macy's.
Restaurant is nothing fancy, but has a very good kitchen for all tastes.
We did miss a safetybox in the room and wifi is not free.
Loved our stay and we will definitely come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Nicole R, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that we were able to welcome you and provide a home away from home for you and your family for eight nights! We have implemented laptop-sized safes for personal use, which will complement room renovations at the end of the year and look forward to hearing your thoughts the next time you are in town. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    1,283
    534
    196
    87
See reviews for
924
1,033
186
980
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency for the second time. Both times I booked the hotel through priceline negotiating price and got the room for really cheap! The location was great, central and easy to walk to historic sights, restaurants, pubs, beacon hill and of course the commons. The service was also great, especially the bar tender Josephine who went well out of her way to recommend a variety of pubs and restaurants, all of which worked out really well. Only reason I wouldn't rate this Hyatt higher was the room my second time was only average. Restrooms off lobby were dirty. Also, I know this is really nit picky but it is a little annoying having to take one elevator a couple flights of stairs to the lobby only to hop onto another to get to your room. But for a 100 bucks a night, who can complain. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dover809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Dover809, Thank you so much for your review! I will surely pass along your kind words to Josephine. Our location is among our best assets and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our local restaurants--and Josephine always has the best recommendations! I sincerely apologize for the opportunities with your room and the lobby restroom, as well as the confusion of the elevators. They are a design inherited from the building and, while a bit annoying, serve as an additional security precaution. Hope to welcome you back soon! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is in a really great location. It is in the heart of downtown and within a few blocks of every T line. It was really easy to take the free shuttle from the airport to the city and then just a quick walk to the hotel.

The rooms were pretty standard for a Hyatt, so there is nothing exceptional to rave about. The lobby has free wifi which is nice (if only it was free in the room as well).

Overall for the price we paid it was a great hotel. If you are looking for a room where you are a quick walk or a 10 min subway ride away, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terpchica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Terpchica3, We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Our location certainly cannot be beat when looking for a hotel that is centrally located and close to public transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Boston soon! Please be in touch! Warm wishes, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Boston. Location is ideal and central to a bunch of great restaurants, bars and shops. hotel feels very luxurious with great amenities and spacious rooms, and better again it was incredibly reasonably priced. staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the city. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Enjoy the view from a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello DubT2014, Thank you so much for your "5-star" review and your recommendation. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentine's Day and could not have been happier! Though we booked through a blind-booking website, we were treated no differently upon arrival. We were given a lovely room with a fantastic view. The hotel is well-situated and close to many attractions and the "T" is nearby. The staff throughout the property were professional, friendly and genuinely happy to be of service. The fitness center and pool got ravereviews from my boyfriend. I make it a point NEVER to dine in a hotel restaurant when there are so many fabulous restaurants in a city but we found ourselves hungry at 9:00 p.m. and wandered down to the on-site "Avenue One" and were so glad we did! The food was delicious (highly recommend the Tender Tips and Lobster and Crab Fondue!) and our server was so wonderful we wished he could join us for dinner. The Valentine's Day touches (candy dishes on the tables and a rose at departure) were so appreciated. The evening was the icing on the cake of a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello Nikki C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We'd love to wish you a belated Valentine's Day and am so glad that you had an amazing experience, with the hotel, our associates and Avenue One. We hope to welcome you back soon, for another amazing stay. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a great stay here, while visiting colleges for our daughter.
The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly and very helpful! My daughter enjoyed the pool. It is a great location in downtown Boston. We were able to walk to the public transportation and there were lots of ammenities close by. We would definitely stay here when we come back to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi MommaT2014, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. Our location is among our best assets and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as the pool and the gym. Best wishes to your daughter, we hope that she chooses a university in Boston. Looking forward to welcoming you back! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was in Boston on Feb 17 - 19 with my triplets touring colleges. From check-in to check-out the entire staff was 5 star. The team at the front desk was terrific and welcoming ...the servers in the restaurant were wonderful. Everyone remembered us and wanted feedback about our tours and how things were going in general. These people really cared about us and our experience. My kids and I noted that many members of the Hyatt team graduated from various Boston colleges and were more than kind to share their personal experiences with us.
We had 2 rooms 619 and 621. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. The beds and pillows were very comfy. Considering were were touring outdoors in a blizzard and then an ice storm..coming back to the Hyatt and its staff was pure heaven. Since the 6th floor is also where the health club/ pool is located I would probably ask for rooms away from the entrance to the club which is where these 2 rooms are located. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was good. There is no internet in the rooms but you can access it in the lobby which is modern, open and bright. The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to transportation. Bottom line...we loved it..we'll be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoc109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi eoc109, Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our associates. I will be sure to pass along your words to Mitchel, who I'm sure will be very happy to hear from you. We hope to welcome you and your triplets back again, soon, for warm weather and please be in touch should you have additional questions about Boston or the colleges, we are happy to help. Wish them well on their college endeavors! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,656 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing