We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff were friendly and almost everything ran smoothly. Room was a good size and the restaurant was pretty good too when needed. Location-wise, it's pretty near the common - on the Downtown Crossing side. This side of the common isn't as nice to walk around as the Charles Street end and you sometimes get the feeling you're not far from where things might get just a little sketchy but I experienced no problems at all and appreciated the convenience to everything. Huge amount of restaurants, bars and everything else within easy walking, and while the T is right there, a lot of Boston's main attractions are within walking.

Only real annoyance, and it was a minor oversight, was that our rooms weren't ready when we arrived so they sent us away with a promise to call as soon as they were ready, but neither myself nor my co-worker ever got a call. Of course, eventually we just wandered back in and asked again (and had spent the time in-between profitably at a local bar...). As others have pointed out, the elevators can't always cope with the demand in the mornings, so be prepared to wait a while at times.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreetsOfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear StreetsofLondon, Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Boston! I apologize that we did not have a room ready for your arrival. Learning that you found our location convenient made my day! Not only do we love our centralized location as well, but we are so happy that you had a good experience with our service, guest rooms and our restaurant! Please, come back and visit soon. We can't wait to see you again. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    1,237
    516
    185
    79
See reviews for
862
1,004
180
940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at this Hyatt for a long weekend over Memorial Day. I chose it for the location, within walking distance to the waterfront, Boston Common, great restaurants, State House. Public Pkg is right next door. This Hyatt is tucked right in the heart of Boston with easy access to everything. Their customer service is far superior to other hotels in Boston proper. Staff bent over backward to accommodate my requests, including extra towels. Always cheerful, knew my name, loved it. Cabs drop you off in front, or will drive you into the underground drop-off lobby entrance, out of the inclement weather. Main lobby is 4 floors up, with full bar and restaurant, as well as gift shop. Never a wait for elevators. The impressive thing about this hotel is the quiet. The room entrances are off a labyrinth of connector corridors with the main lobby and elevator area the only "communal" spot with noise, and there was none. No noise at all. Amazing for a Boston hotel. Slept soundly all night with no corridor noise. I had an 11th floor room with a city view and early check in for an extrm $55, worth it, got into the room and changed at 9 a.m. in the morning. This hotel has a connector elevator to Macy's and the parking garage, very convenient inside access to stay out of the bad weather. Only drawback, the pool and workout area was qite a few stairs down (3) and no elevator access. Nice area, but quite a trek to get there. The outside lanai area was lovely, but it was raining while I was there so I did not get to have cocktails under the sun. All-around great stay at this Hyatt for the price.

Room Tip: If you need early check-in, you may give up a high room. Ask for a high room with a view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello,DeborahfromSeattle, Greetings from Boston! Thank you for taking the time to post a comment and review your experience at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are thrilled to hear that you received great service and enjoyed our centralized location! I will be sure to pass on the positive comments to our staff members. We hope to see you again next time you’re in Boston, we'll be sure to keep the rain away! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

stayed over the holiday that passed,and redeemed a free night that expired in oct.The hyatt regency thats connected to the macys downtown boston.I had a double room as i had my daughter with me.The room was a good size had a desk chair refrig flat screen and a closet with robes and a basket that you can leave your shoes to be shine for free.the bathroom was on the small side and the shower was behind the door that would not stay opened.They had good bath abd body products.The view i had was over looking another building.The hyatt is walkable to many downtown attractions and food outlets and the mbta to go other places.

Room Tip: this is my first time at this hyatt i had room 1431 and we didnt here any kind of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjones2Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello, jjones2Boston, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Macy’s department store as well as additional area-attractions! It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the spacious guestrooms and amenities. We are excited to announce our complete rooms renovation starting in November, we hope you return to see the new and improved Hyatt Regency Boston. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hyatt Regency is very convenient for me when I'm in town on business. It's close to our headquarters, Macy's is right there if I forgot anything as is CVS. Short walk to many of the historical locations as well. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and they continue to make improvements to the property. I've stayed at this property for over 10 years now and keep coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Marwalker2, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for being a frequent Hyatt Regency Boston guest! We are luck to have you as a part of our Hyatt family. Our location is certainly an asset, especially with our direct connection to Macy's. However, next time you forget something, just let us know! We strive to make each guest feel right at home and have stocked up on products to help lighten the load of your suitcase when traveling. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk for anything you need in the way of amenities. Our mantra: Hyatt has it! Best wishes, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in a Lafayette suite and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Hotel is right in downtown crossing, so easy access to the T and a lot of other stuff. Comfortable bed and pillows, and my room was very quiet- which is exactly what I value in a hotel. Staff was great, as was the gym. Minor quibbles- Internet, unless you purchase premium, was slow. The elevators don't have enough capacity, so I had some long waits, and ultimately took the stairs once. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi M C, Thank you for your kind words and your review. We are thrilled that your stay warranted "5-stars" and that you were able to take advantage of everything that Hyatt Regency Boston has to offer; including the comfy beds and easy access to the T. Looking forward to seeing you again, soon. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here one night but it was a great experience. My flight arrived late and the hotel staff was very accommodating. The room was sparse, but neat and clean. Above all, what makes or breaks a stay is the hotel staff. Even at midnight when I checked in the desk agent was very friendly and helpful, and it was clear that she wanted to get me on my way in the most efficient way possible, which I appreciated. Overall, great hotel, and I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank crimsonpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello, crimsonpal, I am thrilled to hear that even though your travels were a bit delayed, we were able to accommodate you with a swift check-in. It is our hope that each and every guest, regardless of their purpose of stay, has a relaxing and comfortable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for more than one night on your next stay! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. The service as required was good and the room was nice enough...clean and the bed was comfortable but still, it's and cement box. One enters at street level but the lobby is actually on the second floor. When coming and going you have to get off one elevator and walk down a hallway to get on another elevator to access the rooms. This became a bit of a nuisance after awhile. The hotel was chosen for it's location...a short cab ride from South Station and an easy walk to all the historic attractions located in the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Roy C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you found absolutely nothing wrong with our downtown Boston hotel; including, the service and the guestroom accommodations; however, we do know that the general layout of the elevators can be frustrating. We are looking forward to our guestroom renovations towards the end of the year which will surely include additional Boston ambiance and decor. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston, we'd love to get your thoughts! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing