We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent Stay but Expensive”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ours certainly wasn't a BAD stay. The room was decent and clean, and the location is what I liked best about it. You're right next to Washington Street, the Theatre District, Boston Common, and so much more.

However, I realize that this is Boston and accommodations are insanely expensive; however, for the price you pay little things like WiFi should be included.

Finally, while the room was decent it was by no means fancy, despite the cost, and we have stayed in much nicer rooms in other high-priced cities - like San Francisco and New York - for much less.

That said, if you're going to Boston and you've surrendered to the inevitability of paying through the nose for accommodations you could certainly do worse than this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discodogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello, discodogman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our service was everything that you expected. We hope that you brought your WiFi concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could address it before your departure. You may also delight in the fact that we are preparing for a complete guestroom renovation this upcoming winter. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston. We’d love a chance to welcome you back for a stay that really wows. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    1,262
    526
    191
    80
See reviews for
897
1,020
184
960
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hyatt Regency Boston is ideally located less than a 10 minute walk from Amtrak and very easy connection on the MBTA's free Silver Line from the airport. Boston Common and major tourist attractions are a couple of blocks away, and the hotel is on the edge of Chinatown. Best are the attentive and helpful reception staff and spacious rooms. The breakfast buffet, often included in the price of the room, is extensive and well above average. But this is a busy, big city modern hotel. Airline crews are coming and going. The elevators are always busy with guests checking in and out at all hours. The hotel has a knowledgeable and accommodating concierge, oddly located not in the reception lobby but in a corner of the entrance foyer. In general the room was clean and well cared for, except inexplicitly for the air vent in the bathroom that was quite dirty. Perhaps a division of labor issue between housekeeping and maintenance.

Room Tip: High level rooms afford extensive interesting views of the Boston skyline and area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mikecbu, “Super hotel in a great location!” Wow! Thank you for your review and staying with us! One of our favorite room types is a high floor-room, as guests are able to experience Boston if they are not able to take advantage of our central location, walking distance to many of our historic attractions. Happy to see that you were able to experience it! Although we are a busy hotel it is of most importance that we show genuine and authentic hospitality to all of our guests. We hope you felt that and come back and visit soon! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Boston for a weekend to celebrate a wedding reception. This resort is right in the middle of downtown Boston. Easy walk to many restaurants and shops. There is a charge for self or valet parking; right now self park is $36.00 per night. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The bathroom was of average size. The view from the top floor was awesome. Housekeeping was good and quick to get things done. The bar area was nice, drinks were good and staff was pleasant. There is a work out room and pool; but we did not use, so unable to comment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank exfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello, exfedup, Thank you so much for your "5-star" review. It was a pleasure to read your comments about your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our central location and loved our guestrooms and the bar at Avenue One. We look forward to welcoming you back to try out our gym and pool. We hope that the wedding reception was above and beyond what you expected! We hope to see you, soon. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We requested a king room but were told that "third service" reservation room type was not guaranteed, so we had a double room instead. The room itself was ordinary, not overly large. After the first night, our room was not serviced at all, no clean towels, bed wasn't made, nothing. We told the front desk and they said the staff just didn't get to it yet. That was about 4 PM. No one ever came at all. The second day we had to call and request clean towels. WiFi was $10 a day which was unexpected. Overall, for the price, the hotel really was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alovele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello, Alovele, Thank you so much for taking time to leave your comments. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve each and every day. My sincerest apologies for your poor experience; unfortunately, room type is never a guarantee for any of our guests. We strive to provide authentic hospitality at every communication and apologize that your interactions were lacking in this area. This is being addressed internally to ensure that it does not happen in the future. We hope that you'll visit us again in the future and give us a chance to wow you. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We flew in Friday night and easily drove to the Hyatt from the airport. We were checked in, changed and out the door for dinner in 15 minutes! They upgraded our room to the top floor, which was a great surprise and we had amazing views of the city! The room was so spacious and the bed was super comfy. Everyone that worked there was so nice and the next morning check-out was again super easy. They handed us cold waters and pulled out car up and we were ready to drive up to Vermont for a wedding! I would definitely go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Jessica I, Thank you so much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay even if it was just for one night. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our views from a top floor while you were here. We do hope that you had a great time at the wedding and hope you'll come back to visit us again, soon. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for an appointment at Mass. general Hospital and we were put in a handicap room next to the elevator....we did not request handicap. It was so noisy. Also, the room smelled so bad like cigarette smoke and there were cigarette burns in the carpet. The beds are old an not comfortable and the room seemed dirty. It may have been this one particular room but I was very disappointed because we didn't get any sleep that night before a really important appointment with a neurosurgeon. I probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sheridy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello, DestinationHealth, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We know that it can be difficult to travel and strive to make sure that each person is completely satisfied with their room and their amenities while here in our home. A clean and fresh-smelling guestroom is one of our top priorities and I apologize that we didn’t get it right this time. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. We’d love to welcome you back, again soon. We promise your stay will be more than expected. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Hyatt in downtown Boston was both upscale and pleasant. The staff was friendly and the amenities were top notch. It is located near several theaters, and is walking distance to the central parks which were also lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Petros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello, Petros G, Thank you so much for your review and for making mention of our "top-notch" team. It truly means a lot, knowing that we played a positive role during your recent stay at our hotel and during your visit to Boston! Please be in touch the next time you are in town; we are looking forward to having you back. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,635 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing