We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but could be bettter. Great Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Clemente
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, but could be bettter. Great Staff.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Typical Hyatt for a downtown town location. Seems to be a older hotel. Very clean, but has a few things that are annoying. One is having to take 2 elevators to get to the street level. One goes from street level to the 3rd floor, then you have to walk from one end of the lobby to the other to get to the guest elevator to the upper floors. The shower in our room was made maybe for the handicapped and took a while to figure out and would only direct water straight at the shower curtain, very odd. The room was nice, very clean, but seemed dark even with all the lights on. However the pool, sauna and workout room were very clean and had a great selection of new equipment. The best part of the hotel was the very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Everyone one from the waiters to the concierge to the door man were all excellent, really made staying there pleasant and enjoyable. One other thing to be aware of is the valet parking is $50 a night, self parking not much better at $38 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,591
    1,281
    532
    195
    86
See reviews for
920
1,032
186
976
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good location , decent size but not large rooms but a bit dated in style and decor , not enough to not stay just do not expect a five star. The fitness room is rather good with modern equipment. Higher floors are better but the elevators are crowded all of the time and the two sets to get to the street is a bit of a pain

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you, JonToronto, for the feedback. We are glad that you were able to take advantage tof our amenities, location and StayFit fitness center. I am pleased to inform you that we are scheduled for a full guestroom renovation come the end of the year. Once complete we hope to welcome you back to earn that last star. We are always reaching! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mastic, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We've stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Boston several times now. Each time we plan a trip we look around checking out other places to stay, but we always seem to end up at the Hyatt. You can't get much better when it comes to the location of this property: squarely set in downtown crossing, it's a short walk to Boston Common and the Public Gardens. It's also a nice walk to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. Walk a bit further and you're in Back Bay at the Prudential Center.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Greg P, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston and thank you for being a part of our Hyatt family. We are so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our hotels close proximity to so many amazing Boston sites and I'm sure you are thrilled to see the recent renovations of our neighborhood to include new restaurants and stores. Thank you for staying with us, here at Hyatt Regency Boston. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staff are outstanding. Food, drink and service were impeccable. Great location. A minor gripe is that you have one lift to take you to the lobby and another to your rooms. At peak times, there was a delay, but the staff are very well trained and I cannot fault the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lintlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Lintlaw, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Hyatt Regency Boston, and will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chef and restaurant team! We do apologize for any inconvenience experienced with the elevators. We've been working to update in the hopes these kinds of delays don't happen again! We hope to see you, soon! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the July 4th weekend.

The Plusses: nice friendly staff (despite what some other reviews have said). Large room, perhaps because we got some sort of upgrade, with plenty of room for a rollaway in addition to our king bed. Great location.

The minuses: first, when we checked in, we were told our rollaway would be there in 10-15 minutes. One might ask why it couldn't be put in the room before arrival, but in any case that didn't sound bad, until we had to keep calling and calling to see where it was. It took about 50 minutes, with the delivery person saying he kept getting stuck in elevators (!). Then a few minutes later a second bed arrived! It was pretty late by this point, close to midnight, and it had been a long drive. Would have been nice to get it at least within 20-30 minutes.

The bedroom was pretty good overall, and there is a lot of space by the bathroom sink, a big plus. But it's dated, and in particular, there were no free outlets by the bed, and the outlets that were over there were obscured by the bed. Surely Hyatt you can upgrade the lamps to ones with power outlets at the base? I discovered a power strip behind the TV and brought it to the top of the cabinet to then run my own extension cord from there to the bed. It was incredibly dusty, being behind the cabinet, but surprisingly the maids never made an attempt to dust it off, or at least not a good one.

Finally, the restaurant. We ate there for a breakfast, a lunch, and a dinner. The food was tasty but overpriced (what should I expect for a downtown hotel I guess). At the breakfast, my wife had to ask 3 different people before she could find someone who understood her enough to bring out bowls for the oatmeal. Worse, when we left, the manager/host/whoever asked if he could separate our two 2-person tables to make a 4-person table next to us (no problem, we were leaving), but to my surprise took off the dirty tableware and never even wiped down the table before presenting it to the next patrons. Really?

On the whole, not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Fred152, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment and review your experience at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are thrilled that you chose our centrally located hotel and that you enjoyed our friendly associates. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments to our team. I do sincerely apologize that we weren't able to accommodate you with a swift check-in. That is certainly not up to our standard and is being addressed internally to ensure this doesn’t happen. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back with an amazing stay the next time you are in town. Please be in touch. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really liked this place. Only stayed for a few days but we enjoyed it. Lots to do in the area.
All the good restaurants are near by and great coffee shops. The have a nice workout room and a indoor pool. This place is great for kids, business travelers and people on road trips.

Room Tip: Rooms with the king size murphy beds are huge!
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone working at this hotel is friendly and accommodating. No rude people here. They are inviting and helpful. Self parking available and cheaper.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeremtulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello, zeeremtulla, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that you chose Hyatt Regency Boston for your travels from Los Angeles, and even more thrilled that your stay was to your liking. We are glad that you had time to experience our up-and-coming area filled with new restaurants and coffee shops. We have to agree--our hotel is the perfect space, smack in the middle of the heart of Boston, for business travelers, kids and road-trippers, alike! We hope to see you soon! Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find a better location than this one. We used rewards points for a one night stay to do some touring around Boston.

The hotel is clean and there were no issues with the room. Due to the way the building is built, you take an elevator up from the street level to the check-in area and then a separate bank of elevators take you to the rooms. So, a fair deal of moving bags around, which isn't particularly ideal. But, it is what is. The front desk staff was great - very efficient, very friendly.

The only problem was that as a Gold Pass member, I was given a late checkout and they didn't honor it. We left the hotel the next morning to tour the city. But we did not check out at that time. We took our bags to the car, but left some food behind in the in-room refrigerator. Our intent was to tour the city, go back to the hotel to freshen up and grab the food and then check out and be on our way. But, when we got back, the room had been cleaned and the food had been pitched. The staff was very attentive to this when we made them aware of it. But the food was gone. Had I known this would happen, I wouldn't have bothered with the late checkout and would've checked out at 9 AM when we left to tour Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWtravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello, MWtravelinfool, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We love to hear from our Gold Passport members regarding their stay--what they loved and where we can improve. I sincerely apologize that our communications were botched during your late check-out. However, we are glad to hear that our associates were more than attentive to your needs otherwise and that our service, in all other aspects, were to your liking. We appreciate your business and loyalty to Hyatt and hope to see you again, soon--with late check-out. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,652 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing