We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staffs are friendly and their service are very convenient. Many stuffs are available for you in case that you did not bring it with you, such as tooth paste, hair brush, and razor. Their fitness facility are equiped with top-of-line facility. Very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Kuolung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Kuolung H, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with Hyatt Regency Boston. We strive to make each guest feel right at home and have stocked up on products to help lighten the load of your suitcase when traveling. Our mantra: Hyatt has it! We look forward to welcoming you back, soon. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,151 - 2,157 of 3,896 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Internet should be free and it is not PLUS no free wifi either. This hotel is in downtown Boston and you can walk to plenty of stores, the mall, restaurants, and banks. I cannot recall the prices for the wifi and the cost of using their computers but it was over $5. For a hotel already charging over $200 a night, free wifi is a requirement.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Elizabeth L, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing location, including the mall, and restaurants. We do strive to provide the comforts of home at every communication and apologize that we were lacking in this area. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our public spaces, but it is feedback like yours that helps us to improve each and every day. We hope to have you back soon. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

i checked in this hotel for a business trip. Also brought my parents. The location is perfect. Steps from subway, the opera house and China town. Several blocks from the common. The staff checked in us early because of my parents. The only thing to improve would be their bathroom. Was a little outdated. And the in room internet was slow. The staff was always very friendly. They greeted guests aorund the building, which was nice. This hotel is nice for college visit or sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Xiaoling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello, Xiaoling W, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are so happy to have welcomed you and your parents to our home. We certainly agree that our location, steps from the theater, amazing restaurants and historic attractions is unparallelled. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of all of the sites, even when here on business. We hope to see you and your parents again, soon! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A good choice for a downtown location that is only slightly compromised by remnants of the previous owners. Service is very good and rooms were of a good size. Bathroom furniture could do with updating. Bizarre lack of power plugs in the rooms, we could find only one. Good location, with great views from the upper floors. However, they did not have our reserved double room available on arrival and we instead had to sleep in a twin room. Upgraded next two days of our stay as compensation.
It is clear that the hotel was acquired from a previous owner and the makeover has been patchy in places. e.g. in the lift there were multiple, now redundant, features that were presumably relics of the previous management.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Clive M, Thank you so much for choosing the centrally located Hyatt Regency Boston! We are so glad you found the new Downtown Crossing area to be enjoyable! I do, however, apologize for the guest room confusion and do hope the upgrade made up for it! We are delighted to announce our rooms makeover beginning in November, during this facelift the elevators, rooms corridors, and guest rooms will be completely new to match with the theme of our lobby. We look forward to seeing you back to hear your thoughts. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for five days for a work project that I had in the area. I did get some time to walk around the area surrounding the hotel and a very large number of interesting places to visit lie within one mile. You can easily get to things like Freedom trail, the state capitol, china town, and the Faneuil Hall Marketplace. There is also easy access to the subway system at different locations. The location was very nice!
As far as the hotel goes, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was very nice with a consistent temperature and good water pressure. The help was very friendly and and helpful. The hotel does have a pretty good workout room with quite a bit of cardio machines and free weights and about 10-12 different lifting machines. There was also a swimming pool that was probably about 35 feet long and 15 feet wide. Right next to it was a nice place where a person could go and sit outside. All in all, most things were nice.
There are two main reasons I would not give it 5 stars:
1. For the high cost, I would have just expected more on some things. I would have liked some additional space in the room and maybe something like a couch or something other than a desk to sit at. The bar and restaurant on site was ok but once again, really overpriced although that is not abnormal for this kind of a hotel. Just nothing was really impressive although not bad either.
2. This was my biggest problem and that was the elevators. First it was one of the places where you have to take one elevator up to the check in floor and then another one to your room. Then the one that went up to your room had some issues. Once you got on it, it moved quickly enough but it seemed like at least once a day there would end up being a big line down at the base floor just waiting on the elevator. One time I would swear it had to have been close to 10 minutes before any of the four came to that floor so a big line got backed up. This could just be really frustrating when you get there and the elevator simply will not come by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello, jr1992, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay! We appreciate your feedback, however apologies for the wait at the elevators. You may be delighted to hear that we are currently remodeling our elevators to make them faster than ever. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back home, here at Hyatt Regency Boston. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very good choice of hotel in Boston. Good location and excellent standards. The gym and pool are great facilities to have and the breakfast buffet was very good too, a bit expensive though. Our room was very spacious with enough storage space. We had great view of the city too and we would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Eirini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello, Eirini K, Greetings from Boston! Thank you for visiting us all the way from the London and for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are so glad that you felt that you made a "good choice" in choosing hotels. We hope to see you again in the near future for another great view of the city. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and EVERYONE was friendly and helpful. I usually stay at Marriott's but I may switch to Hyatt if this hotel was an example of the service to be expected. The rooms were very nice as was the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcficke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello, mcficke, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments! We are thrilled to hear nice things about our associates, and will be sure to pass along your kind feedback. We can ensure you that this quality of hospitality and service is present in each and every one of our Hyatt properties and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing