We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful five night stay at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston. From the moment we stepped in to the Hotel we were met with smiling friendly faces. The Hotel was very nicely furnished and will be even better with the renovations that are going on at the moment. We had no noise from these at any time during our stay. Our room was very large with two queen sized beds and a large walk in wardrobe and the bathroom was huge. Our room was clean and tidy and much better than what we were expecting due to some of the negative reviews of the Hotel on this site. We had breakfast in the Hotel every morning and the waiters were extremely friendly and efficient. We also had free wifi in our room after signing up for the Presidents club online. They have a resident dog called Catie Copley who was able wander around the Hotel and even had her own bed in the Reception area and guests were able to take her for a walk. The Hotel is in a great location and we walked everywhere We would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again if we ever returned to Boston.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,515 - 2,521 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Every encounter with staff in this hotel was warm and so hospitable. I have not had such a pleasant experience at hotel ever and I marvel at this since it is such a large size. It also was great to see the black lab in the lobby. Love it! The historic building definitely has a lot of charm and is a great area to go shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treetica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at the Copley for business recently and was pleased. It's a bit dated and the continual renovations were a bit of a headache, but the staff and facilities were very nice. I took advantage of the Gold level and was surprised to find charges for the offererings in the concierge loung, other hotels do not do this on their concierge level in my experience. The rooms were spacious and were nicely decorated though the heating unit in the hotel could not be moderated so the temps in the hotel were quite high throughout the stay. Nice hotel but not exceptional.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have stayed at the Fairmont on several occasions. However this time it did not live up to previous stays. The bed was ok but not as comfortable as in the past. The pillows had seen better days. The housekeeping staff was very loud in the hallway (slamming doors, loud conversations). After returning from a conference the room had not been cleaned...had to call the front desk. The heating/ac was difficult to control. I have high expectations from a Fairmont hotel and this time it did not live up to them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in this forum. I’m disappointed to hear that your latest stay did not live up to your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping team, as your experience could represent a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues. Thank you again, and we hope you will return to The Fairmont Copley Plaza again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was a girlie few days for shopping and some shows. The hotel is beautiful, the Oak Room was always buzzing with activity and the food & cocktails were delicious. The room was large and clean. Be careful with the hair dryers - we plugged it in and blew a fuse so no lights for a bit - but quickly repaired. If you want shopping, the hotel is two minutes walk from The Copley Center and the Prudential Center - shopping malls. A ten minute taxi ride (around $10) gets you to Quincy Market - a fun few hours of shops and restaurants. Boston has the friendliest people, from the hotel, to taxis, everyone in the restaurants and shops...I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: All ice machines are by rooms that end in '28', so if you don't want to hear that all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerhawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel seems great at first because of the great location and great service and the cute hotel dog that everyone can touch but when you are trying to sleep you nearly feel like if the people in the next room are speaking right next to you. The hotel was built in 1912 so I'm not very surprised. Apart from that everything at this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yacineawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Hello and thank you for sharing your comments with us in this forum. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central Back Bay location and high quality of service, and I appreciate your feedback on the building’s structure. The hotel is currently undergoing a complete renovation and restoration project, which includes many enhancements to our historic building’s interior and exterior structure. I hope you will return to The Fairmont Copley Plaza to enjoy these and other updates. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

my husband and i stayed here for a long weekend getaway nov 4 - 8. i was familiar with the area from a previous trip to boston, so knew we would have great access to public transportation, shopping, restaurants, etc. our room was very clean, HUGE (for older hotel standards) and very quiet. the only complaint i have is the HVAC which was located in the closet and ran constantly. the door was closed by a magnet and it would come unlatched every so often. the hotel is located less than 2 blocks from TWO T stations (copley and back bay) so we could go to either one and reach all our destinations outside of walking distance. the staff were incredibly (genuinely) nice, and the concierge gave us some very helpful info. water pressure was super, though i don't love the waterfall shower heads. large bathroom with a window that opens!!! bonus!!! we did not eat in the restaurant but a peek inside revealed a very Mad Men-esque environment with dark wood, low lighting and beautiful people. the lobbies, stairs, hallway to the front desk, ballrooms - all were very elegant, tasteful and period to the building. the only improvement could be the addition of an in-room coffee maker. overall we were both very happy with our choice and will continue to stay at a fairmont every chance we get.

Room Tip: join the president's club for free internet access and great email offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtchick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,415 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,394 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £143 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing