We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have not been back since 10 years ago. Came back again for business and was booked at this hotel again by my company. The room has been beautifully appointed, even though it's on the small size, but adequate. However, as I mentioned in my last review on this hotel, the wall is still thin and voice travels from hallway and next door (my room, 532, was right next to the service elevator, so I could hear the bell ringing every time it stopped on my floor). And the water pressure is still weak (my colleague describes it as "old-man peeing"). This is all due to the age of the building, so I don't think it will be changed. And that's the reason I would not pick this hotel if I have a choice.

One big plus is their newly added fitness centre. Not the biggest, but has every equipment needed, in a very open, bright space.

Service-wise, I find it hit-and-miss. Some I find are truly friendly and willing to go above and beyond. Some are just going through the motion, saying all the right things, but action and attitude do not match.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKLVancouver_Canada_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,306 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Truly exceptional service. Even the porters are perfect. This kind of training isn't accidental -- they must work at it. Also loved the location, of course -- great view of Copley Square and walking distance to everything. Public rooms are stunning. Very nice cafe bar with great food. Super room service. Nice touch -- nothing to sign on the room service delivery; the receipt is in a small envelope. Only complaints were minor -- couldn't make steamed milk for a room service latte (they only had one machine & it was on the fritz); not enough water pressure for the big showerhead to work well. But overall very enjoyable & a good value too.

Room Tip: We liked the view of Copley Square -- worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyricskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have stayed in the Copley Plaza many times, even before it was a fairmont. But clearly the best stays at the Copley Plaza have been during the Fairmont years. The lobby is lush with its hih ceilings the grand entrance hall from st james ave. and the decor on the gold floor is warm and luxurious, but not in your face as the lobby may seem to a first time Copley guest. The room has a beautiful chandelier and comfy beds, not to mention the great all marble bathroom. The room has a huge window overlooking the square with a large sit-in window sill. The Oak Room downstairs has delicious steak and a classical ambiance. The service of the whole hotel is unparalleled. They even set up my son's stuffed animals on the bed. The private gold floor check in was speedy and our bags arrived within five minutes. The maid even left us a Christmas card on the nigh of Christmas Eve (turndown is also complimentary :)). The Copley Plaza is a must stay in Boston.

Room Tip: Book the Fairmont Gold Signature! It's worth the $$$ with a view of the square a plus it's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I recently stayed at The Fairmont Copley Plaza for a conference and while I initially heard the hotel was undergoing some renovations, it looks as if they are in the very final stages. The hotel is charming, something that you don't always get today with many of the cookie-cutter chain hotels. This is a historic building, originally opened in 1912. However, the recent renovations have restored the building and brought the interior to more modern standards. The room was luxurious with a very comfortable bed, new furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and a large flat screen and a solid, functional work desk. The bathroom is beautifully done in marble with a wonderful rainfall shower head (amazing, going to buy one for home!) The high end soaps and shampoo provided were such a surprise. They smelled amazing. I wish the hotel shop sold these or that they could be obtainable from the retailer, but it looks like they're specifically made for the hotel only. The restaurant and room service both delivered excellent quality and well prepared food. Room service was served punctually and temperature appropriate. Nothing left to desire as far as food in my opinion, but food is very different for everyone, of course. The renovation has definitely transformed this hotel although I did notice some areas like doors and door frames, for example, that were a little rough around the edges. It looked like the work was done, but some of the finishes just looked a little odd, as if they were not a part of the renovation plan or just done with poor craftsmanship or as a result of cost cutting. I found it odd that not everything would be completely finished after a renovation of this scale. Also, speaking of doors, they are loud, and noise from hallway traffic and conversations and door slamming at night was a little annoying while trying to relax. This certainly isn't an issue unique to this hotel but maybe the doors could have been constructed differently so they do not have to be slammed. Nonetheless, this is an excellent grand hotel with friendly and attentive staff and I would not hesitate to return if in Boston for business or pleasure. Oh, and be sure to spend a little time with Catie Copley. I've never stayed in a hotel with a resident canine, so this was unique and special!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILove2Travel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed in Gold level room with a king sized bed. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. I left the car with the valet service, which was polite and efficient. Check-in was fast polite, despite my dischevelled appearance.

My wife liked the breakfast in the club level lounge.

One complaint: the carpets would benefit from daily vacuuming. My room was not vacuumed during my three-night stay. The remodeling that is being performed left quite a mess in some of the hallways, and I cannot understand why there no one vacuumed after the workers left for the day.

Overall, a beautiful hotel with almost-excellet service. A new frequent-vacuuming policy, and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casp3pos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Hello and thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us on Fairmont Gold. I’m disappointed to hear about the state of the hallways, however, and I will be sure to share your observation with our Housekeeping team to be addressed. Thank you, and we hope you’ll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The service was great
The elevators were tricky to use
The rooms were very clean
The rooms were also fabulous
The beds were comfertable but there needs to be more beds in the room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont Copley for a conference in 2008 and was disappointed in the shabby condition of the rooms. This and the odd bites on my feet and ankles had me convinced that I would never return. Glad to say, the latest renovation has breathed new life into the historic hotel. The drab, dirty and dreary carpet and furnishings now sparkle with a nouveau Cape Cod style with soft tones of silver and gray. A vast improvement.

It is important to note that the Oak Bar is still under renovation and the temporary bar in the St. James restaurant is fairly inadequate. The Gold floor lounge is nice, but isn't always well-stocked for breakfast or evening hors d'ouevres. The service there was outstanding, however, thanks to Aja, one of the supervisors at the desk. She helped make this stay a memorable one. In terms of Catie Copley, the canine ambassador, it may be time for her to retire. At 10 years old, she looks a bit too weary and deserves time off.

All in all, a repeat visit is warranted. Copley Plaza is a great location with easy access to all the major sights. The hop-on, hop-off trolley with the harbor cruise is a great way to see Boston whether it's your first time there or not. And nearby is Legal Seafood, a place where the fresh seafood and sangria are simply sublime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxFirstTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,888 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £142 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing