We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 June 2014

No better location possible! I have stayed here several times and it is my favorite Back Bay hotel. If you are interested in the Pride Parade, it is just steps from the front of the hotel. Great conference venue, as well. Haven't eaten in their restaurant, but it is adjacent to Copley Square Mall, Prudential Center. Newbury St and Boyleston Street offer upscale shopping and restaurants as well. It was a fabulous, though brief, stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank ASDMD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our central location in Boston's Back Bay. Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 3,337 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were there mid June and loved the service, location and ambience of the hotel. Staff was fantastic at check in and every other interaction. Concierge was extremely helpful and the restaurant served a great lunch. Prime location in the middle of everything, close to the subway and within running distance to the Charles ( love the running map) .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank boog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

(Review of Fairmont Gold room on 4th floor)
This hotel boasts a few excellent features that outweigh most negatives one could find.
1. Location, location, location- The Fairmont Copley offers quick access to Downtown, The Park, The Back Bay, & The South End.
2. The Oak Long Bar - One of the best bars in town is right downstairs.
3. The rooms are small, but very very nice. Great linens, and furnishings. Lovely bathroom.
In addition, the lobby is stunning, the front desk staff is very professional, and the gym was well equipped and maintained.

Now.. for the downsides. Breakfast was good but not great, and the staff in the breakfast room was a little inattentive. And the coffee was awful. All of these issues can be addressed by going elsewhere for breakfast.

Overall, a great experience. I will gladly return.

Room Tip: This review is of the Fairmont Gold quality room on the 4th floor. I cannot speak to rooms on other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Ian,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, from our central location and comfortable guest rooms to the "stunning" lobby and attentive staff. I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with breakfast, though it sounds like you enjoyed the bar's atmosphere in the evening! Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Fairmont in San Francisco many years ago we decided to stay here at the start of our road trip to New England. We arrived from London very late to be given an interior room. Nothing wrong with the room just the view. OMG facing the air conditioning duct. Rang down immediately to be told that there was nothing available until the morning. Called down at 8am to be told by the very efficient duty manager Eva that there would be 2 available rooms for us to look at. We chose the room overlooking Copley Square. Due to the move the hotel immediately comped us breakfast for the 3 days. How lovely. We upgraded our room at extra cost. The hotel is fabulously located, extremely we'll run apart from the restaurant at breakfast time..... Disaster! Terribly run, terribly slow. So much so we were told on our last day today that they were very
busy and we would have to wait! Days 1 & 2 we waited 45 minutes to be served! Have breakfast out if you're in a hurry. Can't otherwise fault the hotel. Lovely welcome from the resident dog too. Well worth the money. Lovely hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. While I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay overall, I'm disappointed to hear about your experience at our restaurant. I have shared your post with our restaurant Manager as I think your comments could represent a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues there. Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a stunning hotel! The grand entry hallway is sumptuous - the staff so polite and helpful.
I was upgraded to a King room which was a very lovely, large room and marble bathroom.
Nicely appointed furniture, very comfy bed and pillows. Quiet - perfect for sleeping.
The health club has multiple cardio machines each with it's own TV screen - nice! Headphones, towels, water, fruit are provided. There are weight machines and free weights - everything you need for a great workout.
Will stay here again - worth it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from your comfortable guest room to our rooftop health club! Thank you, again, for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boston.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our Forty Second Anniversary, Fairmont Copley Plaza had Ballanchine's "Jewels" tickets ready, delicious dinner at The Oak Room, breakfast, apps, wine, great other diners, ambience yes, noilse level high though....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank belo1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic location, gorgeous hotel! Our room was huge (we were upgraded from a standard room to deluxe King room) and very, very quiet. The quality of the linens was amazing. Though the bathroom was a bit small, the size of the bedroom made up for it. Every president since Taft has stayed there! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank CajuninOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,897 reviews
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £142 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing