We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, Ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed for a work conference, so didn't mind the cost (I wasn't paying). Beautiful, clean, spacious room. Nice fitness center. Yummy food at the conference. Friendly, knowledgeable, efficient staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sixstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    699
    257
    116
    47
See reviews for
678
968
112
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The Fairmont Copely Plaza is a Grand Hotel. Opened in 1912, it exudes the style, elegance and opulence of its time.

We stayed here for a week and explored Boston from this ideal setting on Copely Square. The T (underground) is very close, as is the rail station if visiting New York. Boston is easy to get around and the Fairmont provided a luxurious base.

There are many restaurants near by, and the Hotel long bar is a comfortable place to dine.

The room was large, with a walk in closet and king size bed. The Bathroom was a little on the small side but perfectly functional.

The staff were professional, friendly and could not have been more helpful. Room service was courteous and prompt and the meals as described in the menu.

The Public Library and Trinity Church on the Square are a must see and less than a two minute walk from the front door.

We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello John,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Boston, with us as your "luxurious" home base! In particular, it's great to hear that you found my colleagues "professional, friendly" and helpful. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for business for a week, and there's no doubt that this hotel is situated in the perfect location bordering the Copley square. The Boston public library and trinity church are adjacent to it. There's farmer's market in the summer on Tuesdays, lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. There are also many rotating food trucks that are nearby during lunch and dinner times.

The outside and inside of the hotel are very grand and elegant... lots of crystal chandeliers, high coffered ceilings, italian marble everywhere- simply gorgeous. The staff appeared friendly. The living area of the room was a decent size and bed was comfortable, but I found the bathroom was a bit small with the door opening right up to the bathtub. All in all a decent room for fairmont. Wifi will cost you, but signup for their membership for free wifi in all their chains. It's free and definitely worth the savings because those wifi bills can rack up!

A pretty good stay overall but not sure if I wouldve picked it if I didn't have a conference in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I understand why they call it the Grand Dame of Boston hotels....very elegant, charming hotel. Service and courtesy by all the staff was consistent...surrounded by beautiful buildings and churches, and a small park across the street - perfect for a visit to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaAbuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, MD
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

There is no doubt that this is a grand hotel -- or once was. It has a great presence on Copley Plaza and a spectacular lobby. The staff is very professional and helpful. There is a large, classy bar that attracts non-hotel guests. My room was spacious, well appointed, and quiet. The location is great.

On the negative side, not enough attention is paid to details and I was annoyed by the a la carte fees for items that are freebies in many hotels. Although I don't consider myself to be a cleanliness freak, I did notice a long hair on the toilet, another on the sink, and one (inexplicibly) at the six foot mark on the doorframe. They supplied only one bath towel, which I consider stingy since I am a runner and often take two showers a day. One of the hand towels had a stain on it. The bathroom had a scale but it was old and innaccurate.The iPod dock on the clock radio didn't work.The doors have intricate molding but they have been painted over so many times they have lost their distinction.

Internet/wifi is available but it will cost you. I was pleased to find bottled water near the coffeemaker but taken aback by the $7.00 charge to drink it.

In sum, this is potentially a fine hotel that has lost its shine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While I'm pleased you found our staff so helpful and our location great, I'm disappointed that we missed the mark on a few things during your visit. I have shared your post with our Director of Rooms, as your comments could represent a valuable training opportunity for our Housekeeping colleagues. In addition, I would like to point out that WIFI is complimentary for members of our loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, which is also free to join and includes many other attractive benefits. Thank you, again for your post.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel, the staff is wonderful. Alejandro, Zach and John are the best! Jennifer is always so helpful at the front desk. So nice to have staff remember you. The location of this hotel could not be better, short walk to great shopping.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Kim,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your multiple stays - in particular, that my colleagues have made such a lasting impression! I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. Thank you, again, and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Boston Copley Plaza for three nights and we couldn't have had a more wonderful time. Hotel staff, property and location are amazing. We most particularly enjoyed the old-world feel to this landmark hotel. You can't do any better in Boston!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stanley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Stanley,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your visit, from my helpful colleagues to our historic grandeur. Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you both back soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,236 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,274 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing