We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at the Fairmont!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at the Fairmont!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We opted to stay at the Fairmont Copley Plaza property for our family vacation!

We had an amazing experience from the uniqueness of the hotel property to the staff and their attention to details. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is clean with great lighting. The hotel's workout facility is on the roof top which is pretty cool if you work out early in the morning.

Finally, the hotel's location is ideal. For families with small kids, there is the Commons park nearby where you can let them run and have fun. There is also the Boston library for the kids who like to browse through books. For those who want shopping, there is the Newbury St with all its stores.
The underground station is nearby allowing a family with small kids to go the Wharf quickly and check the attractions around the Wharf. Adults can easily walk to the Wharf.

Green Features: LEED certified facility with light sensors managing the facility hence reducing power consumption.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepetitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    690
    254
    111
    47
See reviews for
654
950
110
842
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived for a 3 night stay without luggage, tired after long flight delay. To top it all off the hotel reservation was missing and hotel was full! The staff were absolutely fantastic, taking us to the bar for free drinks whilst they contacted the booking agent to resolve the issue. They found us a room and provided us with emergency supplies (shops were closed) as well as following up with the airline on our behalf.
The hotel was clean and comfy and perfectly located in a really nice chilled out area... Far enough outside the hustle of downtown but with lots of unpretentious good bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
All in all a great 3 days and would thoroughly recommend both the area and also the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

An historic building and hotel , a short taxi ride away from the airport and ideally located for leisure. shops, and restaurants. The historic sites of Boston including Cambridge and Harvard are all within walking distance.
As a city centre and busy hotel with numerous group bookings the public areas especially around reception can be noisy and bustling detracting from the wonderful decoration of the areas. The hotels friendly resident black Labradors must be wearing ear plugs!
Staff are efficient and are "Professionally friendly" without creating a genuine warm feel. Most will go out of their way to advise and assist with sightseeing or other external events.
The Fairmont Gold is to be recommended as a relatively quiet haven where the receptionists provide a much more personal service. It is also a great benefit to be able to have soft drinks throughout the day or take water to your room. The hotels ration of providing one 250ml bottle of water per room per day is poor given the cost of the accommodation and the in room price for any extra water is extortionate. If not staying in a Gold room go to the local Pharmacy or supermarket and you can buy a weeks worth of water for the price of a single hotel bottle.
Some service requests from the Gold Lounge to other areas within the hotel seem to be more of a problem - for example the failure of housekeeping to provide the turn down service within the agreed time frames on 50% of our nights stayed.
The rooms have been well renovated and retained most of their old style character. Oversized flat screen TV's (too large for comfortable viewing) and ultra modern coffee machines in the rooms take up much needed space and do not blend with the rest of the accommodation. Suites and larger rooms are comfortable for a reasonable length stay but the small queen size standard rooms are very small and overcrowded - ok for an overnight stay but otherwise are claustrophobic especially if with an interior view.
Being light sleepers our big disappointment at the hotel was having selected a room described on the hotel website as having a "Quiet Interior Courtyard View". The hotel is built in the shape of a letter E and the view from any interior room is facing directly into the rooms of the next arm of the "E" no more than 10 yards away. By getting on one knee and looking upwards I could just see the sky, and looking down the "courtyard" is the flat black bitumen covered roof of the lobby and public areas, with all the extractor and air conditioning fans which run 24 hours a day. It was a relief to sleep on the plane when we left as the plane engine noise was much less than the constant roar from the hotels "quiet" interior. Taking an exterior room would at least have provided a view and I am sure would have been quieter at night once traffic had died down.
On the same note a false fire alarm shortly after midnight that sounded for over 20 minutes was disturbing. At least management could have subsequently posted notices or delivered notes to rooms to apologise for the inconvenience or give some explanation. but the event seemed to be ignored from a guest perspective.
We enjoyed Boston and despite the above comments we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay again although we would plan different choices within the hotel.
The big negative for Boston visitors is the airport. On arrival we were lucky and passed immigration ( after having to give finger prints!) quickly. Leaving was far worse even though the new security checks on electrical items enforced on other countries were not complied with in Boston. Other guests on arrival queued for over 3 hours just to get through the immigration desks and were pleasantly surprised that it only took 90 minutes on departure - Welcome to Boston!

Room Tip: "Quiet interior courtyard view rooms" are not quiet and have no view try a City View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello Alfred,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. While I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, I am disappointed that we missed the mark on a few things during your stay. I'd like to take this opportunity assure you that your comments have been shared with our Director of Rooms in order to facilitate further review of standards with the Housekeeping team. Thank you, again, for your post.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the Fairmont, it was a rocky start to a new city, taxi ride from the airport was to say the least not the best, but from the time we stepped out of the taxi unitl we left we couldn't have asked for better service. Nothing more to be said about the Fairmont cannot beat perfection. Staff we encountered Allison, Laura, John and Ted. Sounds like a version of Bob, Carol Ted and Alice, but really not. These four people made our stay. Hats off to all.
First tip if at all possible stay on the gold floor, impecable service, beautiful lounge with everything you need. One great tip going out of the side entrance of the hotel by the bar, continue straight up the hill going west, there is a super market called star which has everything. The subway system is extremely easy to get around, just have to remember the terms inbound and outboud and avoid E on the green line if traveling to Fenway (get off at Kenmore) Speaking of Fenway if you get a chance it is a must see. Tavel to Faneuil Hall, on the green line getting off at Park, heading east on Tremont travel the complete Hall before deciding on food, it has everything.
Enjoy your stay
PS if traveling on Air Canada , don't go through security until the last minute, nothing at the gates. It is interesting Air Canada has their own security gates

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RESPOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went to a wedding reception and stayed in the Hotel. It was great! The service, the food, the location, and decor are wonderful! We enjoyed being on Copley Square and seeing the fabulous Art in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our first trip to Boston and we chose to stay for 4 nights at the Fairmont, Copley Plaza; we were not disappointed!
From the minute we arrived we experienced a very high standard of service. A lovely greeting from Jennifer on reception who we had several pleasant conversations with throughout our stay.
We stayed in a suite which was very big and super clean, lovely decor with exception views of Copley Square. The hotel is in a fabulous location!!
Our stay included breakfast, I would recommend this package; fabulous choice on the menu, all options we tried were gorgeous! Special shout out to Dan, our breakfast server, who was not only attentive but went out of his way to help us with ideas for our trip, thank you!!
Nothing was too much trouble for the concierge, always happy to help and super efficient; Thank you Vincent and Jason, 'good job'!
The Oak bar is beautiful not only for breakfast but we enjoyed evening drinks in this bar too which seemed to have both locals and hotel guests which we felt made a great atmosphere! The bar itself has a grand 'Fairmont feel' with a modern twist!
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, would highly recommend it and would like to say a huge thank you to the staff we dealt with, we really enjoyed our 4 days in Boston and the start of our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall - especially that my colleagues Jennifer, Dan, Vincent, and Jason made it so memorable! We appreciate your post and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Awesome Hotel from the time to enter the Hotel, the entire staff works to make sure your stay there as comfortable as possible, great location, and the room was awesome. Would come back every time this hotel goes above and beyond what normals hotels do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank DonnieB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing