We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to be upgraded to a
Fairmont Gold room which was superb. Excellent complimentary breakfast every morning and delicious evening hors d'oeuvres. Breakfast for our kids in restaurant was pricey. Excellent, helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again. Good gym as well.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from our rooftop health club to the additional benefits of Fairmont Gold. While we do not currently offer a kids menu in the restaurant, I am happy to share this feedback with the team there. Thank you, again, for your post.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,892 of 3,341 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Fairmont Copley Plaza has a lot to offer. From great products to a delectable restaurant, passing by a fantastic location, even though renovated, this hotel lives up to its charm and authenticity. Every staff member was pleasant to deal with and we even had the chance to meet one of their Canine Ambassadors, such a great addition to the team!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank JERLEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here because we like Copley Plaza and the reviews here were good. We were very happy with the choice. The hotel was clean. The amenities are fine and in line with the reasonable cost of this hotel for Boston. The Oak Bar was the best part of the three night stay. It was a great place to meet before we went out or for a few drinks when we got back. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially that you found OAK to be such an enjoyable nightly spot. Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back to Boston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Currently a guest at this classic hotel until Friday; arrived yesterday morning to the warm welcome of John--the doorman who escorted us into the reception area. Staying in a renovated, well-appointed, spacious suite overlooking Copley Plaza, Trinity Church and the Public Library. I appreciate all the beauty that is Fairmont Copley Plaza. We met the General Manager, Mr. Paul Tormey, who asked about our stay; I thanked him for a wonderful first day. The previous reviewer, TheAmorfati, said it best 'Old World Elegance'. Will follow up with full review and photos upon our return home. Until then...enjoying The Fairmont and the city of Boston!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rose1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the warm welcome to your comfortable guest room. I have shared your post with our General Manager, Paul Tormey, who was quite thrilled to hear that the remainder of your visit went well. Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Bus, airport shuttle, and trolley all have a permit drop-off/pick-up area right across the street from the front of the hotel. The subway is only one block away. The Fairmont is two blocks away from Newbury Street (amazing shopping/dining), three blocks away from Commonwealth Ave and just a few blocks away from the city parks. You can walk out the front door and take a left on Boyleston and it is a straight shot to Fenway park. About a mile. A fun mile walk though, with all the bars and restaurants. I loved the city! The hotel is grand and the updates to the guest rooms are very nice. Yes, some of the furniture us outdated, but the updates to the bathroom, wallpaper, fixtures are all very nice. If you did not already know, keep an eye out for the hotel's two black labs, Catie and Carley Copley. It was so much fun to see these two running around the lobby. Unfortunately, we never got a chance to walk them. Another benefit is the sun deck on the top floor. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: My room was between the ice machine and the hotel staff floor access room. It was very noisy both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FunTravelsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location here in Boston, as well as the lovely sun deck just off our new, rooftop health club. Please don't hesitate to contact us prior to your next visit in order to arrange a walk with Catie and Carly - though, I should warn, they will walk you! Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our Gold Lounge check in I found a little disappointing. Stefan was most apologetic the next day and was glad to hear of our problem and also sent us a complimentary bottle of wine. My husband, I have to say, was not upset by the inconvenience but I felt a little let down perhaps as my expectations were extremely high, we have used many Fairmont hotels, and felt well looked after previously. The service and extras such as substantial nibbles and breakfast remained good and the room was spacious and had a great view of Copley Square. It did seem a very busy week but please don't let the aura and splendour of this hotel ever detract from the service. We will happily continue to use Fairmont in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Poppybess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially that my colleague Stefan offered such quick resolution to your check-in issue. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you both back to Boston soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

In the heart of one of my favorite walking cities, with a beautiful French façade and striking red awnings, stands the historic Fairmont. Fans of architect Henry Hardenbergh will be more than pleased. The moment we were greeted by Kelly, the attentive doorman, we were able to escape into an old world stay...which is an anomaly in an age of no-frills lodging and travel. Be sure to have your camera in hand when you enter the lobby to capture the remarkable coffered ceiling. Everywhere you look, you find impeccably maintained niches for relaxation and respite. The Oak Room is a masculine yet comforting space, with a thoughtfully planned variety of freshly prepared fare, and courteous service. Outdoor dining is also an option, which is great for people watching on Copley Square. Forego the elevator at some point during your stay, so that you can enjoy the vintage marble staircase with its' intricately carved banister that rises in an oval spiral to the top of the hotel.

The rooms have recently been refurbished, and they maintain the historic essence of the hotel while providing a very comfortable, modern stay. Our room featured a very large walk in closet, which was a pleasant surprise. Since the Fairmont is centrally located in the Back Bay, you will be within walking distance of most of Boston's finest neighborhoods, dining and attractions. Best kept secret: plan to walk across the street to the Boston Public Library to have a morning coffee in the magical hidden courtyard nestled in the center of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheAmorfati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,470 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#39 of 86 in Boston
2,898 reviews
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,769 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £142 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing