We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school luxury at the heart of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old school luxury at the heart of Boston”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I enjoyed a 4 night stay here with my husband and one year old. Impressive reception area lead to high expectations...unfortunately we found the room quite cramped by the time we got the travel cot in. Also, room service and breakfast in the Famous Oakroom was overly expensive. On the upside, we really liked the traditional style and feel to the place. It felt like the couples and families we met here had been coming back for years. In terms of location, it was perfect for us- close enough to nice shops and restaurants on Newbury street and great shopping in Copley Place and the Prudential centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel's classic ambience and the central Copley Square location. I will certainly pass along your additional feedback to our operations team. Again, thank you for feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,729
    673
    249
    107
    45
See reviews for
630
923
108
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here for the start of of our USA and Canada tour, it is ideally situated on the edge of the city center area, so only a 5 min walk to Boston common. We were traveling to NYC by train, so it was perfect with the train station just around the corner too. Only one minor criticism, house keeping managed to "throw away" some expensive skin cream I bought for the trip !?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I travel frequently to the Boston area, and this is the first time I have stayed at the Fairmont Copley Plaza. Yes, it is beauftiful when you arrive, but the first words out of the valet's mouth were Yeah, that will be $42 a night to take your car. Really!? I travel a lot..and that price is outrageous..especially since I was staying with a rate of $167.00 a night...it does add up! I was greeted by a wonderful staff, and when I arrived in my room, I found they put me in a room that was for handicap acess, which I did not request or need. I could not hang up my clothes in the closet due to the bar being low, and the shower was for wheelchair access...great for a wheel chair,but for me, it was water all over the floor! I also went to grab a robe...which was well worn, almost threadbare, with lipstick on it from the last guest....even the towels were thin and needed replacement. I proceeded to log onto my computer to finish some work, and I was forced to pay $14.00 for 24 hour access!! Really.????.even the small inexpensive hotels never charge....I was shocked..in all my travels I have never had to pay! Then when I went down to the business center to print out my boarding pass for the next day flight...I had to swipe a credit card to use the computer! I feel like I was nickel and dimed to excess...and when I came back from breakfast my room had been cleaned..there was no fresh tolietries...and the water glass I had by the bed the night before was still there, and the ice bucket was left with the melted ice, and the top on the floor!! Yeah...great attention to detail for a luxury hotel! I have always stayed at the Back Bay Hotel down the street, but was lured by the $40 price difference...which as you can read was sucked up by valet and internet access in no time..never again will I stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. I was disappointed to see that your stay did not meet with your expectations and have shared your feedback with our operations team. I did however want to provide some clarification with regard to the charges you reference. Internet access is complimentary for members of Fairmont Presidents Club, which is free to join, and in terms of boarding passes our concierge desk is always happy to assist with printing our boarding passes for no charge. We do apologize for the difficulties you encountered, and please understand that this is not the typical guest service experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Wow, this place is tops. The staff even put up with my dogs who were not well behaved for this trip. The lobby is over the top elegant. The staff was pleasant. Free valet parking included (which isn't advertised). The garage is an easy walk if you need something. The room was very nice and all updated (marble baths), but not large. The wedding we attended was beautiful in the architecture of this wonderful building, only the elegance of a bygone revealed its history (not a hint of old). No back ache the next morning. Based on the location, luxury and dog tolerance, I would rate this a good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

This is my second stay at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston. My previous was in Jan. 2009. Both experiences had been very positive. I loved their friendly staff rarely found on deluxe hotels.
My queen bedded room was perfect for me, lovely furnishings. I enjoyed the large mirrors on the closet's doors and the plush robes/ towels. Being my second stay I did not have to pack my own toiletries knowing their Miller Harris toiletries were there, waiting for me :-) (You can purchase them at their gift shop)
The restaurant service was very good and so the room service. Food was excellent on both sites.
I truly like the hotel location.
Concierge service was great and I loved the restaurant suggestion.
If you have walking issues ask for a room near the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel - and the Miller Harris products - and hope that you will be back to visit us again soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed in Boston for 2 nights whilst on a road trip and rate this hotel as one of the best, front desk were excellent and attentive & went out of their way due to the room allocated being not quite ready for us & offering us a very welcome complimentary bar drink, would most definately rebook if I visited Boston again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullitU_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

It was my fourth time back at this hotel (gold floor, the best!) and every time it surprises me with its excellence! The room was pure luxury, with all the state of the art facilities, food was really good from breakfast to evening canapés and I really appreciate the all day coffee and cookies available.
But what makes the real difference are the amazing people who work there, They remember you after months, they greet you, welcome you back and help you out in any way they can making your stay an unforgettable one with the perfect mix of luxury and warmth. I was travelling solo and they made me feel at home, thanks to you all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#31 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing