We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in Boston”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Attended a wedding at the Fairmont and got a fairly decent rate as a wedding guest for two nights here. What an elegant hotel! Stayed in a King room and it was spacious, classy, and very comfortable.

Location was great, right in Copley Square. Within walking distance to all the shops on newbury street and the prudential center shops.

Oak Bar in the hotel had excellent drinks and service.

Bathroom was slightly odd shaped, toilet in a weird position in the corner and two closet swing-like doors that weren't good for privacy. But aside from that, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbznyc603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as well as the location. The hotel and our neighborhood make a wonderful location for a wedding celebration and it's terrific that you made it a nice weekend away. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    677
    251
    107
    46
See reviews for
641
931
109
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
341 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Fairmont is a gorgeous well maintained property in the ideal location for seeing Boston. Shopping, great restaurants and all the fun of Boston are at your doorstep. What puts this hotel over the top is service, friendly, informed and very polished. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Words cannot express our sincere gratitude to the Fairmont Copley Hotel for treating our father like a "KING" on his 70th birthday. Our father's only wish for his birthday was to spend the day with bride, 4 children, and 10 grandchildren. But, since we, his children and grandchildren, all live out of state and couldn't travel to Boston to see him, we decided the next best gift for him would be to see his favorite team, the Red Sox play and to spend the day and night, with his bride of 45 years, at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel. Thanks to the hotel's front desk and Dan, their Concierge, we were able to make this happen. Our father was not only greeted with a "Happy Birthday" at check-in but upgraded by the hotel manager to the Concierge Floor - quite something! My parents have always loved this hotel. It is by far the best hotel in Boston and the only hotel that any of us would ever recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmittelholzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We arrived in the evening on the 30th August, staying into September for a total of seven nights. And we loved it!

Mr Batty and I were treating my brother and sister-in-law to this holiday as a celebratory present so we wanted something special - the Fairmont Copley Plaza certainly delivered something special.

This is a truly wonderful hotel where every single person tries hard (and succeeds) to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and in a very friendly way. Talking of comfort, I'd have to say that the beds were probably the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in in a hotel, with 'proper' pillows :)

Our room arrangements were perfect. We'd asked for adjacent rooms and we were given 501 and 502 which are at the end of a corridor with a second door, effectively making the two rooms into a suite.

We all loved the Oak Bar, and it was great to relax here with a Samuel Adams after a busy day. Also loved the way they serve the martini!

And what can you say about Pasquale? Bless him! He was our server when we dined in the Oak Room - what a character, oozing with old-fashioned Italian charm - he really made our evening something special. Our meal in the Oak Room, by the way, was superb as was the marvellous Amarone.

As other people have already said, the location of this hotel is excellent - very handy for the Trolley Bus which stops right outside - and is great for the Prudential Centre, Newbury Street, the Copley Plaza, and all the other many attractions. And with many great restaurants within walking distance. The harbour and acquarium are very easy to get to too.

We really can't dredge up anything negative to say about this hotel, however hard we try. Our stay was as wonderful as we'd hoped, if not more, and we would definitely love to stay here again (and I'm sure we will as we love Boston, and now so do my brother and my sister-in-law). The only 'bad' thing about this hotel is that it is expensive; as we had to use the telephone quite a lot we were somewhat alarmed at the $4.50 charge just to make a non-local call, likewise the charge for wi-fi in the room. Hence, I couldn't give Value a higher rating.

To finish on a positive note, we'd like to thank the Fairmont Copley Plaza for such a wonderful stay and we definitely hope to be back before too long.

Oh, and would someone kindly give Catie Copley a hug for me? She's so beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and while it was a bit of an expensive treat, it was a fantastic experience. Staff were super friendly and helpful, location was just perfect (about 10mins walk from the start of the Freedom Trail, a pleasant stroll to start the day) and the rooms were spotless and plush (although the shower looked a bit dated).

The dog in reception is a nice touch that we haven't seen anywhere else, she is a docile and gorgeous rescue dog - you can even take her for a walk if you want to!

The restaurant was very overpriced, so we only ate breakfast in the hotel once (the waiters were a little odd too, couldn't decide if they were being over friendly or rude and patronizing), the other days we wandered out and found cafes.

Overall though, those negatives were only blips compared to the quality of the rest of the stay. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service experience and meeting Catie Copley, our canine ambassador. The reviews in this forum provide us with valuable feedback, and I will certainly share your comments about the shower, as well as the restaurant with our operations team. We appreciate your feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Fairmont Copley is situated within walking distance of Boston Common, Shopping Malls, Church, coffee houses. The service was excellent and the concierges were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much bother for them. It is quite a grand hotel with weddings and conferences a feature but this did not interfere with our stay.

There are plenty of eating places close by if you don't want to use the hotel dining room.
Beautiful wood pannelled bar which was a haven!

Only gripe is having to pay for wi fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

oak room full of flair from something like Casablanca

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TROUT706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing