We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, all that glitters is not gold................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We booked the fairmont gold and had high expectations. We expected the workd after a previous stay at the Fairmont Battery Wharf - one of the best rooms we have ever stayed at.

the Copley got so much wrong and so little right. First, they did not have the king room that we booked and paid for on the gold floor. They were not very apologetic. they offered us a downgrade to a queen that was not eemn made up and half the size.

they next offered us a non gold room, the room faced a building site with somebodt using an earth driller.......horrible.

We asked to speak to the duty manager, Brigitta. They said she would call. she never did.

The room we ended up with was faded glory, all the way back on the "gold" floor. Carpets had seen better days as had the plasma TV's.

they say this hotel is the sister of the Plaza hotel in NY. The plaza just had $500m spent on it, they must be dreaming.

This hotel does not deliver and they need to learn to better serve their guests.

Avoid at all cost and choose Fairmont Battery Wharf

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We read all our reviews, and I will share your comments with our operations team. Again, our apologies for the difficulties you encountered. We hope that you will give The Fairmont Copley Plaza another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,695 - 2,701 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

My two friends and I stayed at the Fairmont Copley Oct 13 - 16th/2010
We were given the deluxe room (Room 363) which was fantastic!

Their restaurant the Oak Room won the best steakhouse in Boston and the bar side is absolutely stunning! Definitely pop in there for a drink!

The building itself is gorgeous. Built in 1912 I believe - around there. It's right across the street from Trinity Church , the Boston Public Library, and Copley Square.
The metro station is only a block away and Boston's transit system is so easy to use and cheap!

The location can't be beat - you are right downtown with easy metro access to all the other touristy hot spots! It takes no time to get around in Boston - we even walked a lot of it! The metro takes you everywhere including Cambridge (great town - we got to see Harvard), the Aquarium where you can catch ferries to other places like Salem (that was a good day!), and to the airport! I was seriously impressed with their metro system. Far more superior than ours back home.
If you ever need a cab those are cheap as well! It was $9 to get from Cambridge back to the hotel - not too shabby at all!

If you stay here there is a good chance you'll meet the resident dog Catie Copley. She is an older black lab who has her own dog house outside and an area for her in the lobby. She is such a sweetie!! There is even a book about her that you can get in the gift shop called Catie Copley :)

The room was quite large and very clean and very quiet. We had a view of the street and of the Boston Public Library. The bathroom is all marble and it's quite large. The massive giant head is great and made for wonderful good pressured showers!
The beds were out of this world! They were so comfortable - it was hard to get out of them in the morning. I was tempted to steal their pillows as they were amazing (kidding, I would never steal those - but tell me where I can buy them!!)

Don't fall prey to their overpriced room service menu or their Refreshment Center. Read the fine print. They charge a re-stocking fee, a tax, and a %18 percent surcharge. If you want them to take away the basket of tempting goodies they'll charge you $25 for that as well. There is a 7-11 nearby as well as many pharmacies so get you snack attacks filled up there. Consider yourself warned.

All in all that was probably my favorite Fairmont stay so far - really nice hotel! I think anyone and everyone will love it! Contact me if you have questions!

Thanks for reading :)

Julienne

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jooolz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel is located in a fairly central spot within easy walking distance of tram stops and shopping areas. Check in was quick and efficient. The rooms were a bit "olde worlde" for my own personal preference, as was the hotel in general, but it may be to others tastes. The room itself was clean with a new HD flatscreen TV. The bathroom was also adequate. The hotel put on food for our conference which was of a good quality - though we didn't actually eat in any of the restaurants. The gym facilities are adequate - though a bit on the small side given the size of the hotel. Although i didn't personnaly use the internet (not complementary), feedback from my colleagues suggested it was a very fast connection.

Overall, a good hotel if you like period features, situated in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

First the good points, a wonderful old building in a great location, but it's geared up for corporate & weddings, there's no where to relax as a tourist, the price's for drink & food are extortanate, they boast of the best steak house in Boston, that's ok if you want to pay $150 each for a 2 course meal and a couple of glass's of house wine (we chose not to)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFussyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Fairmont Copley Plaza. While we are gad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our historic building, we were disappointed to see that you felt the hotel didn't meet your needs as a tourist. We have a significant number of guests who travel with us for leisure, and I often see them relaxing in our lobby seating areas or even enjoying a cup of tea in the Oak Bar so I'm sorry that you didn't find one of these spots for a little rest between exploring the city. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you'll be back to visit Boston again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I came into the city for a conference. Stayed here and loved every moment of it. White glove service from the doormen to the housekeeping staff. The hotel is situated in a perfect location within the city. Walking distance to many fun things. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tceddia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

What's not love about this hotel?? Gorgeous, spotless room, lovely staff, fabulous location and a friendly adorable dog in the lobby. Had 2 rooms, both were great. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Gold Floor was incredible and the Staff even more so. We were addressed by name each time we entered the lounge! The staff exceeded our every expectation -- which was quite high considering that the hotel is on the pricey side.

We've traveled quite a bit and usually stay on the Gold, Club, etc. floors because of the conveniences they offer. The Copley Plaza's has been the best by far with its attention to detail and wonderful selectionof breakfast/brunch offerings, afternoon snacks, and late night deserts.

WILL RETURN (in a heartbeat).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbus5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £143 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing