We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orleans, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

My husband and I recently spent a Saturday night at the Copley Plaza and were more than favorably impressed by by our experience. When making the reservation and requesting a quiet room, I mentioned that it was a special occasion...our 45th wedding anniversary. Upon checking in, we learned that we had been upgraded to a Gold room and were wished a happy anniversary by the desk clerk. That attention to detail (a box of chocolates was left in our room after dinner with an anniversary card addressed in calligraphy) as well as the expert helpfulness shown by all staff marked our entire stay. The location, the "old world" ambience", and the beautiful Oak Room restaurant are certainly pluses, but it is the impeccable, outstanding service that sets this hotel apart from others. We have stayed in many fine inns and hotels over the years and this ranks right up there amongt the top. Expensive? Yes, very...but definitely worth it for a special splurge.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccjhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    664
    245
    106
    44
See reviews for
615
914
107
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

My friends and I stayed here because we got the room for half price. The doorman, valets and front desk staff were great. On check in we were advised that our room was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was larger.

The good: Spacious room, original wood in hallways, upscale feel, view of square below, huge bathroom with original tub and updated marble tiling.

The bad: We found discarded airplane liquor bottles on the top shelf of the closet. No big deal but it seemed like an odd place to stash them. We requested 2 rollaway beds and only one was brought. We called the front desk who assured us that a second would be brought, only to call back to tell us that there was a limit of one per room. At $433 after taxes including parking, I'd only ever stay at a place like this if it was half price. I usually spend around $100/night at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgonomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Came to this great city on a business trip and we were booked in to this great hotel.

Staff are wonderful so friendly :) would recommend it to anyone..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

stayed with my husband for a meeting
excellent location,service,ambience
really enjoyed my stay
very opulent interiors!
staff at concierge were extremely helpful .pleasant,polite and courteous at all times
realised ther were no complementary coffee/tea facilities
so i requested these and was given such immediately at no cost
also requested turndown service every evening and staff obliged
really an exquisite hotel with outstanding service
will stay here anytime and will recommend to others
i rate this a 5 star if not better!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saradurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Especially after reading some of the recent reviews, our decision to book a room on the Gold floor of this Fairmont seemed misguided. In fact, we were really pleased by our experience, on all fronts. Our room was traditionally decorated, but nicely done. The concierge desk staff was friendly and helpful in terms of checking-in/out and advice. The complimentary breakfast buffet, evening hors d'ouevres and honour bar in the lounge (which includes a library, living room and dining room) were excellent value. The location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smckToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Reserved a room on the gold floor for a four night family stay - given very postive past experiences with Fairmont Gold. Rooms were clean, large, but badly in need of renovation. Furnishings, carpeting, etc. all outdated. Air handling is poor - common room / hallway air very stale and stuffy. Lighting was somewhat dim. Service in gold lounge / desk was clearly understaffed and appalling. For a long period of time no staff was on hand to attend to guests during evening - garbage cans were overflowing, food trays hadn't been replenished, tables had not been bused, and guests were complaining to each other etc. Expected more from premium paid for a concierge floor. Lobby front desk staff was excpetionally friendly and helpful. Catie Copley (on site hotel dog) was fun draw for kids. Location great.
We decided to checkout after only one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWTravelerBoston, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We were disappointed to see that your service experience didn't meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience. Your candid feedback is extremely valuable and has been shared with our operations team. While your experience is unfortunate, this is not the typical Fairmont Copley Plaza experience, and I do hope that you'll be able to give the hotel another try in the future. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. pleasant, sc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

My family stayed at the Fairmont Copley for four nights at the end of October. From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, we felt we were staying somewhere special. The stately exterior gives way to an opulent lobby and grand reception area. The people at the reception area were quite pleasant. One man, noticing the kids, took special care to tell them about the hotel's connection with a particular Disney show and about Catie Copley, the dog who "works" there.

Our room was fairly large -- not the biggest I've been in, but certainly large enough for us. We liked having the walk-in type closet and the bathroom that was set apart by a short hallway. The bathroom was quite nice, with marble and tile. The huge shower head gave a gentle shower (pressure could have been better).

The beds were quite firm. We are used to a little more "give" in our mattresses, but I'm more on the side of over-firm rather than under-firm, so I acclimated. Having two kids - one girl, one boy - we had two choices: Mom & daughter in one bed and Dad & son in the other; OR have a roll-away brought up. We chose the latter and very quickly, a man arrived with the nicest roll-away bed I've ever seen. Many hotels these days seem to be going with the air-mattress for extra bedding. We've had the misfortune of having the air-mattress spring a leak in the middle of the night at one hotel. At the Fairmont, a REAL bed is brought in. It is like a trundle bed, not a cot. Daughter was happy as a clam sleeping in it.

The location is what really sold us on the Fairmont. We stayed in the Copley area two years ago and loved the proximity to the Common & Public Gardens, as well as ease of access to transportation. I can't say enough about the walkability of the Copley area. There is so much to see in such a short distance.

The kids were quite enamored of Fairmont’s furry “employee”, Catie Copley. She is such a docile dog and was extremely tolerant of the tremendous affection my kids and others plied upon her. She did seem to favor the attention of the children over the adults. She even was called into service to pose with a bride and groom, who were apparently having their reception at the Fairmont.

Now to the few negatives: This place is expensive, no doubt. I was surprised, though, at just how much "nickel & diming" goes on at this hotel. Most hotels we visit nowadays offer complimentary in-room coffee and bottled water. Not at the Fairmont. There is an expensive array of waters & snacks displayed in the room. Fortunately, my kids are old enough to understand that "we don't eat/drink those" and weren't tempted. Instead, they were scandalized by the price list. Wi-fi came at a $14.95/day charge. Additionally, the business center downstairs required a credit-card swipe (we declined using it). Finally, there was not a remotely reasonably-priced place to grab a snack or a drink. It was pretty inconvenient not to have a place to eat breakfast on the cheap. Breakfast choices ranged from $17.00 pancakes to $26 American Breakfast (2 eggs, hash browns, toast and meat). I realize this is a luxury hotel, and perhaps our family is not its target client base. But this is about my own opinion.

My only other complaint had to do with the temperature in the room. During our first night, my husband and I ROASTED. We realized the next day that the thermostat was set on 78 degrees! We turned it off completely and it stayed off for most of our stay. Even so, I had to open the (thankfully operable) window our last evening because the room was still too warm. Considering we are from the South, that’s saying something!

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. I don’t know if we’d stay there again. The Marriot Copley (where we stayed previously) was a better fit for our family and was conveniently attached to the Prudential.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountpleasantmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing