We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely accomodation”
Review of Verona's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Verona's B&B
Ranked #20 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely accomodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

we had a great size room with ensuite although decor a little dated.
excellent location in a lovely tree lined avenue in a very safe area. back bay station, copely sqaure etc all within easy walking distance.
hosts dominic and jose where superb and provided a fine breakfast including fresh fruit every morning.
i would highly recommend staying in this friendly establishment

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hello110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
38
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We recently stayed at 82 Chandler for 3 nights. We booked the trip last minute and didn’t have many options in central Boston so this was the best we could find. We paid $215 a night which I think is fine for Boston but for the room we got I find it was overpriced. Plus was charge 5% for using my credit card which they didn’t tell me in advance that would happen as they prefer to take cash or cheque. The room we had was at the third floor. It was very large and had nice big windows. In terms of the décor though it felt like it was decorated with leftovers from grandma’s house. As well the layout was weird. There was a sink in the room and the bathroom was basically a closet. And there was a little kitchenette in another closet. Overall it felt like a student bachelor apartment. The bathroom was the worst part of the room. Like I said it was tiny. Just enough room for a metal shower stall and toilet. When sitting on the toilet the bathroom door was almost in your face. For the price I would expect something nicer. I almost didn’t want to step into the shower stall without flip flops on as it had a hostel type feel to it.

The hosts Dominic and Jose were very nice though. Breakfast was served at 9am at the top floor. It was a continental breakfast with coffee, tea, orange juice, fresh fruit salad, and either bagels or baked bread. It was nicer then I had expected.

The location of the inn is fantastic though. The residential street it’s on is beautiful and there are lots of restaurants around. The area felt very safe to walk around at night. As well the Back Bay subway station is closeby which is really convenient. Though pretty much all the attractions you want to see are within 15 minutes walking distance away. The hotel does not have parking so you either have to try to find a visitor parking spot which there are very few empty ones. On Clarendon st is where most of them are. Or park at the lot on Warren St which is $26 a night. For the first 2 nights we parked in the lot but on our last night we were lucky to find street parking for free.

For dinner try Franklin Café. It was chaotic when we went on Friday night but we were able to grab some seats at the bar and the bartender service was excellent. We ordered drinks and a whole bunch of apps and everything was great. Mussels were especially good. We also had dinner at the Metropolis Café which has a quieter atmosphere and that was very nice too. The salmon was excellent.

Because of what you get for the price I would not stay here again. If we had more options with our last minute trip I would find something that had more value. I am definitely not against smaller inns and b&bs and I often enjoy them more then large hotels. But this one was not up to par for the price. Our next stop on our trip was Cooperstown and we also stayed at a b&b and I breathed a sigh of relief when I walked in the room. I realized what an exceptional b&b experience should be like, and it made 82 Chandler seem like shabby student dorm. If they completely redecorated the room and rehauled the bathroom it would be something really special but until then I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unplainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed 4 nights last week and absolutely loved it. Don't stay if you want a contemporary room - stay if you like a bit of character, if you like a congenial breakfast with your host and other guests.
We had great breakfasts - Dominic makes his own blueberry jam - absolutely fantastic, good coffee and excellent fresh fruit - melon, pineapple, etc.
Dominic is charming and his assistant Jose is equally nice.
Our room at the back on floor 2 had a kitchen area with fridge and microwave.
There are some nice restaurants nearby, the Back Bay station is < 5 minutes walk away and not that far from Boston Common. We had no issues walking around the area at night - it all seemed pretty safe. There are shops at the end of the road towards Tremont - dry cleaners, a convenience store, there is no street parking - use the carpark in Warren Street - 2 streets away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maeofberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

First of all, if you are looking for a high end, $300 a night, specialty inn furnished in priceless antiques with large flat screen TVs and staff catering to your every whim, this is probably not for you. If you are looking for a quaint 5 room B & B on a quiet tree lined street in a neighborhood of renovated C1900 4 story red brick row houses at a very reasonable price, then this could be for you. Our price range was $150 (no tax with B & Bs). Our only disclaimer is that we try to be honest and tend to base our ratings on price and value. So, our ‘excellent’ rating is not to be compared with a property costing more.

LOCATION: Located between the trendy Tremont Street restaurant area (try Stephi’s on Tremont) and the popular Boylston and Newbury streets in the Back Bay Area. On a map – Chandler Street between Clarendon and Berkeley. Don’t worry about being close to the I90 freeway as the freeway is below street level and well away from the neighborhood. 1 block from the ‘T’ transit system Orange Line (which after one hour in Boston you will appreciate to no end). We were able to walk everywhere and felt comfortable returning late at night. And there was always the ‘T’ right around the corner. Great location!

ROOM: Our room was a nice size with king bed and other furniture (including sink, fridge & microwave). Space was ample and motif was pleasant common antique. Bath was a little dated (fiberglass shower stall) but everything worked and was clean. Can’t speak for window mounted AC unit as our June weather was spectacular. Windows open at night. Separate staircase with 2 rooms to a floor, so never had the feeling that we were imposing on the host. However, that would not have been a problem because our host, Jose, was delightful, helpful, and all of the above. Seems there are 2 hosts that trade off duties. Breakfast is served in a large full kitchen area on top floor where they offer the usual B & B fare at a sit-down nicely set-up table. It is a 4 story walk-up if that is a problem.

PAST REVIEWS: One somewhat confusing business structure is that they offer rooms under their own name and Web site as ‘82 Chandler’, but also rent out as ‘Verona’s B & B’ at the reservations service www.bnbboston.com (whom we used and found to be VERY helpful). Had trouble finding reviews prior to knowing this. We did read some of the older reviews at 82 Chandler and feel that the negative issues have since been addressed and we found no evidence of the complaints noted.

RECOMMENDATION: Back again? You betcha. Couple of tips: upon arriving Boston, get a “Charlie” pass for the “T” – you can ride it everywhere. Also, distances look far on maps but you can walk to most things (example: we walked to Paul Revere’s house in one direction and to Fenway in the other). This little gem is in a perfect location – right in the middle. Great find, sort of hate to rave on too much risking making it popular and hard to book, but they deserve the praise!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toughbutfair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

First of all, if you are looking for a high end, $300 a night, specialty inn furnished in priceless antiques with large flat screen TVs and staff catering to your every whim, this is probably not for you. If you are looking for a quaint 5 room B & B (or Inn if you prefer) on a very quiet tree lined street in a neighborhood of totally renovated C1900 4 story red brick row houses at a very reasonable price, then this could be for you. Located between the trendy Tremont Street restaurant area (try Stephi’s on Tremont) and the popular Boylston and Newbury streets in the Back Bay Area. On a map – Chandler Street between Clarendon and Berkeley. Don’t worry about being close to the I90 freeway as the freeway is below street level and well away from the neighborhood. 1 block from the ‘T’ transit system Orange Line (which after one hour in Boston you will appreciate to no end - we didn’t take a cab in 4 days). We were able to walk to everything (Fenway, Back Bay, The Commons) and always felt comfortable returning late at night. And there was always the ‘T’ right around the corner. Great location!

Our room was a nice size with king bed and other furniture (including sink, fridge & microwave!!!). Space was ample and motif was pleasant common antique. Bath was a little dated (fiberglass shower stall) but everything worked and was clean. Can’t speak for window mounted AC unit as our 72 degree June weather was spectacular. Windows open at night. Separate staircase with 2 rooms to a floor, so never had the feeling that we were imposing on the host. However, that would not have been a problem because our host, Jose, was delightful, helpful, and all of the above. Seems there are 2 hosts that trade off duties. Breakfast is served in a large full kitchen area on top floor where they offer English muffins, juice, fruit coffee, etc at a sit-down set-up table. One somewhat confusing business structure is that they offer rooms under their own name and Web site as ‘82 Chandler’, but also rent out as ‘Verona’s B & B’ at the reservations service www.bnbboston.com (whom we used and found to be VERY helpful). Had trouble finding reviews prior to knowing this. All in all, our price range was $150 (no tax with B & Bs) and this was a real hit. Our only disclaimer is that we try to be honest and tend to base our ratings on price and value. So, our ‘Excellent’ rating is not to be compared with a property costing a lot more.

Back again? You betcha. Couple of tips: upon arriving Boston, get a “Charlie” pass for the “T” – you can ride it everywhere. Also, distances look far on maps but you can walk to most things (example: we walked to Paul Revere’s house in one direction and to Fenway in the other). This little gem is in a perfect location – right in the middle. Great find, sort of hate to rave on too much risking making it popular and hard to book, but they deserve the praise!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toughbutfair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2009

At the end of the 80's we stayed several times at 82 Chandler with Dennis and Dominick. It was our "home away from home" as we traveled from Japan to see our son at BU. We loved the charm of the house, the decor and comfort of the rooms, the hospitality and good breakfasts afforded by the innkeepers, and the location. So, 18 years later, we were thrilled to book there once again and looked forward to meeting up with the innkeepers again.
We were disappointed. Dennis and Dominick were absent. The room we were given was clean but shabby looking. the window blind lacked a control to close it. The bedding was shabby, the pillows were "tired."
The breakfast was charming and congenial, but not as extensive as in years past. All in all, we thought the attention to detail and upkeep was not evident in our room. Don't know about other rooms. We don't know when or if we will be back, but hope Dennis and Dominick can put their hearts back into 82 Chandler.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightingaleDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We spent three nights at 82 Chandler St. celebrating our anniversary. This brownstone was located in a charming neighborhood within close walking distance to shopping and lots of great restaurants as well as the city transit system. Though the house needed some work and seemed "in progress" as far as decorating goes, the room was clean and adequate. Both hosts were friendly and the breakfast they offered included fresh fruit, cereal and toasted bagels or English muffins served family style in their attractive loft kitchen. For someone on a budget visiting costly Boston this place was a nice alternative.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,127 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,065 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona's B&B

Property: Verona's B&B
Address: Chandler St. at Clarendon St, Boston, MA 02115 (Formerly 82 Chandler Street Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental This beautiful, historic, four-story brick townhouse in the South End in Boston was tastefully renovated in a traditional style that provides modern day convenience and comfort. The rooms are accessed from a lovely Victorian central stairway; and they are equipped with private baths with showers, kitchenettes, a comfortable queen bed, direct-dial telephone, high speed Internet, and individually-controlled window air conditioners. The lovely rooms are beautifully decorated in unique color schemes and are filled with antiques and appointments that evoke memories of the home's original era. Each room has a kitchenette with a Microwave, 2 burner stove, small refrigerator, sink, and a tea kettle. Unit 7, on the 4th floor is a private 2-room suite with bedroom with a queen and a single bed, bath with shower, and full kitchen. In the winter the rooms are rented for extended stay periods with one month minimums. The location is ideal for tourists and those attending events in Copley Square and the Hynes Convention center. It is near many shops and restaurants and a quick walk to the Back Bay Subway and Amtrak lines with easy access to the Boston Convention Center and other areas of Boston, Cambridge and Brookline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing