We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SUPERB in every way!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My partner and I arrived at the Mandarin Oriental fairly early on a Friday morning after disembarking from a cruise and were hoping for an early check in. The front desk was totally understanding and we had our room before midday!

All aspects of the hotel impressed us and it certainly deserves it's great reputation. Front Desk staff were charming and found time to chat and make us feel welcome. The concierge team were excellent in the organisation of transportation - from the cruise terminal and to the airport the following morning at 6am...

The room was of a very high standard of comfort and amenity. Great bathroom and very comfortable bed. We received our (very) early morning call bang on time and an excellent continental breakfast was served just when we had requested it.

I found time for a massage in the excellent spa - a beautiful, relaxing space and an excellent masseur too.

Loved the hotel and it's wonderful central location and will certainly stay again when next in Boston!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind words. Mandarin Oriental, Boston is delighted that you had an excellent experience and we are honored you consider our hotel and staff to be superb! We would love to welcome you back for a second visit, hopefully for a longer stay next time where you will be able to really relax and enjoy the hotel and our beautiful Back Bay location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    90
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
130
200
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A comfortable, friendly, beautiful hotel in a convenient central location. It is home to the only 5-star spa in the region. This hotel may be pricier that others in the area but well worth the difference! The service is amazingly good and unobtrusive. Their friendliness and good hospitality seems genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a beautiful and comfortable hotel that is extremely welcoming and friendly and strives to pamper you. A wonderful experience--you truly get what you pay for--and more! The room service breakfast choices are remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok, not at the level of other mandarin where i have been so far and not at the level of a 5 star. The location is the inly thing that i can consider perfect as it is in the centre of Boston. When i arrived there was an issue with the breakfast as they were mentioning that only a credit was included and not the full breakfast. On my reservation was mentioned breakfast included, with no limitation. We had the suite package, meaning paying a considerable amount of money per night and had to argue (without results) to try to get what i reserved. Some people were nice some other were not. The lobby smelled of food as the "open to public" asana bar/restaurant was cooking all sorts of food. And also this is an issue: you do not have a bar where to have a quite nice drink in the evening as the asana is open to everybody and very loud. The suite was spacious but with stains on the carpet (i suppose coffee)...for more than 1000 dollars per night???not acceptable. The spa was middle level, even if they had written another time for my appointment although my confirmation email was reporting a different time. In this case the manager tried to sort it out at least. Conclusion: invest your money better than going here, there is no privacy, a lot of conferences going on, bar open to public, not adequate service and dirty rooms

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We live in a suburb of Boston, but sometimes you just want the whole Boston experience, and so my family and I stayed there for a few nights in July. The service was excellent, the meals superb, room service top notch, and the valet was very helpful. We will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: I always recommend the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORT MYERS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First time at a Mandarin Oriental- on a rewards trip that blended a little bit of business with a WHOLE LOTTA PLEASURE! Sleek serene comfiness that invites relaxation in all areas. Excellent location with plenty to explore on foot, shopping mall connected and boutique style shopping 1 block over, dining and enjoying the metro experience in a beautiful CLEAN city, Boston. The hotel staff is indeed phenomenal. The only thing I might suggest would be to put a coffee pot in the room with tea selections as well. One of our party's participants ordered a machine up to her room, but who knew it was an option?!? Otherwise, great value for such luxury!

Room Tip: 829- the only one we saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharynM102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We first tried the Mandarin Oriental at the suggestion of a friend who raved about it for a business stay, and will never stay anywhere else in Boston. Because we have family now in Boston, my family has traveled there six times in the past two years, and because of our experience during that first trip, have returned each time to the Mandarin Oriental. Needless to say, the hotel is extraordinarily beautiful, and the rooms are extremely comfortable, well appointed, and immaculate. It is the performance of exceptional staff, however, that causes us to return each time. Everyone, from the front doormen to the concierge staff, to the housekeeping staff is "top notch". The entire staff truly goes above and beyond a level of service anyone could reasonably demand from a hotel. Any small problem we have encountered(and they have all been small) has been handled immediately, and cheerfully, by one of the hotel's superb managers. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 574jeanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,357 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing