We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay in the city”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was in town for a conference and brought my husband along for the ride. The Mandarin Oriental was by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The staff was very helpful, the location had great access to everything (it's even connected to a mall!), and the room was very luxurious. Though luxury comes at a price - the restaurant was quite pricy! I will definitely need to stay here again when I visit the city - 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent conference stay. We are so glad you were able to share this experience with your husband and could not be happier that you enjoyed our helpful team, convenient location and luxurious guestroom accommodations. We will actually have a new restaurant opening in the fall of 2014, which will have a very approachable look and feel. We cannot wait for you to try it the next time you are able to visit with us again in Boston. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    89
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
129
195
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My family has stayed at the Mandarin for two consecutive years during marathon weekend. Even with a full hotel and thousands in town to enjoy the Patriot's weekend experience, the Mandarin focuses its staff and resources on making the stay a memorable one.

The staff is incredibly polite and extremely helpful from the valet car service, doormen, front desk, dining room, housekeeping and support team.

Having stayed at the other "five star" hotels in town on numerous occasions prior to the Mandarin opening I can honestly say it rates top in my family's list of must stay places.

This Mandarin in fact has outperformed others I have stayed at.

Great place. We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run4fun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is simply delighted that you and your family have celebrated Patriot’s weekend with us for the past two years. We are honored to be considered top of your list for places to stay in Boston. We are always grateful to receive feedback from our guests, it is fantastic that you found our colleagues to be extremely helpful and that we were able to provide a memorable experience for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We traveled to Boston for the Marathon this year, and the Mandarin Oriental was the BEST spot in town. The hotel was quiet, sleep was easy. The service was great and personal. And marathon day was a dream with the finish just 859 feet away. Everyone was nice, helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: We wanted to be on the backside of the hotel for quiet over views, and we were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleemayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent Boston Marathon stay; we are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location close to the finish line. We are delighted that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable, quiet and restful and that our colleagues were personal, helpful and efficient. We do hope you will stay with us again next year for the 119th Boston Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

this hotel provides full facilities for business and leisure. What i like most from this hotel is the breakfast! and the strategic location which is near shopping center. The staffs are friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: choose the room with street view,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arya-dwicandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed our convenient Back Bay location while visiting with us for business and leisure. We are absolutely delighted that your favorite part of the stay was breakfast and that you were able to engage with our friendly and helpful colleagues. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend of the Boston Marathon which I was running. Position is superb, within a few 100 meters of finish line. For anyone spectating only, a room facing onto Boylston Street means you can see the finishers and avoid the crowds or, much better, venture out. Only downside is security during the race but it was not too difficult to manage. Good position for local restaurants and shopping too.

Staff were lovely and helpful. We had a (relatively!) cheaper room but it was still spacious and well equipped.

I had only one grumble, which is when you are paying c$600 per night (room only) to then charge extra for wifi access is irritating and penny pinching. If margins are that thin then crank up the room rate by a few $s but don't indulge in 'drip pricing' to this degree. Its irritating. In Europe and Asia at least most hotels have realised that wifi is standard and charging for it is like charging for pillows! On principle we went to the Prudential Mall to check emails but we would have probably done it in the bar (over a drink) if that had not come at a price. Wake up MO!

Room Tip: During Marathon weekend, get a room looking onto Boylston Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zouppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston appreciates you taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience during your marathon stay. Congratulations on finishing the 118th Boston Marathon! We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location and close proximity to the marathon finish line, local restaurants and shopping. We are also thrilled that you found our colleagues to be lovely and helpful and our accommodations to be spacious and well equipped.

We do appreciate you also sharing your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi charges. Mandarin Oriental, Boston does provide our guests with 1gb high speed internet bandwidth, one of the fastest in the city. To avoid internet charges the next time you stay at any Mandarin Oriental Hotel worldwide, please be sure to secure your reservation directly through the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group website and create an online profile. Complimentary internet for up to six personal devices is included with the reservation.

We hope this helps and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have visited The Mandarin Oriental in Boston for the second time with the entire family and everything was perfect, the location is excellent and the service they provide you with even more wonderful. When going to Boston surely choose this hotel having a straight connection to the prudential mall and other incredible services. So don't hesitate with your choice. The rooms are very clean and quite a big space. Their staff is always ready to help you at whatever time you would need them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivani1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Regardless of the time of day, whether it be your first, second or tenth visit with us, we are always delighted to hear when our colleagues provide superior service. We are so glad you and your family had a perfect experience and enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming the family back for your third visit, which will hopefully be soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au, Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had stayed in a few mandarin oriental hotel like malaysia, singapore, etc.. and yes they never dissapoint me. The location is very convenient, there are many restaurants, bars around. the room service, housekeeping.. are perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we always enjoy hearing from guests who have experienced other Mandarin Oriental Hotels worldwide. We are simply delighted that you and your family enjoyed our convenient location; being attached to the Prudential Center and one block from Newbury Street does provide our guests with numerous restaurant and bar possibilities. We are thrilled you also experienced amazing service from our In-Room Dining and Housekeeping colleagues. Thank you again and we hope to see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing