We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel in Boston for years the hotel was decidedly starting to show its age (much like the Four Seasons in London before it was renovated). Looking for something new we tried the Mandarin in Boston about a year ago and are upset we didn't make the switch sooner. The rooms are wonderfully new with great bathrooms. The staff is top-notch, especially the concierge (who have helped us arrange many unique things). The location is perfect for exploring Boston and is easy walking to all of back bay. Truly the best spot to stay in Boston.

Room Tip: Facing Back Bay on a high floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your family trip and for taking the time to share your comments. We could not be happier that our team was able to extend a warm welcome and that the concierge was able to provide unique family-friendly activity recommendations in our convenient Back Bay location. We truly appreciate your feedback and do hope you return to Boston again soon with the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything here reeks of spophistication and class, from the whisper quiet of the lobby, to the super bathroom, to the quietness of the rooms (we had one at the back as we are light sleepers) to the huge bed etc. I could go on, but won't. Can't think how it could be improved, which is saying something, as we are very very fussy. How all luxury hotels should be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent stay. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My 5 day stay at MO, Boston with a 1yr old was a wonderful experience! Room amenities included a baby-proofing kit, bath kit, and gift bag w/toys for my 1 yr old son. In room dining offered up milk or juice each evening and each staff member we came across seemed genuinely interested that our needs were met. Stroller was lost prior to arrival, and MO offered us the use of their in house stroller-what a relief!
In addition the attention and care offered to my son, my husband and I felt truly pampered by the staff. Room were clean, food & drinks were great, and staff was welcoming and kind.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston is truly looking forward to your next visit. We are delighted that you and your family felt pampered during your recent stay with us and that you were happy with our colleague’s attention to detail in order to meet you and your family’s needs. We always love to welcome our younger fans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Boston for a business trip/event and everything from check-in to check-out was fantastic. The amenities are top notch, the staff helpful and the food delicious. Not to mention the location is perfect for a walk down Boylston or accessing other parts of Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston is always delighted to welcome our business travelers. We are so pleased that everything from check-in to check-out exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy our convenient Back Bay location. We truly appreciate your feedback and we do hope you continue to frequent Mandarin Oriental, Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have a great home, and it is very rare we are as comfortable in a hotel as at home. This is the exception.
Everything was perfect. We were greeted by skilled valets who got us out of traffic and the car unpacked in a jiffy, with no worry over our car being carefully stored. The reception desk was well staffed and the upgrade tagged to our credit card was offered without prompting. They also kindly facilitated an early check in so we had time together settled before our meetings began.
The room was sparkling clean, and we are picky about cleanliness. Spacious and thoughtfully furnished -- plugs for charging phones and laptops at handy places, wonderful complimentary expresso machine with ample supply of a premium roast, a roomy safe that held two laptops, a spa like bathroom, a broad desk and a very comfortable bed, plus good sunlight. Location near convention center very convenient.
A welcome iced tea was refreshing, a personal escort to the room much appreciated.
Electronics were state of the art and easy to use. We especially appreciated the goodnight button that turned off all lights from the bedside.wireless access was very fast.
Everyone on the staff was customer focused, knowledgeable and pleasant. Room service was quick, piping hot and flavorfull. We regret there was no time to use the spa or exercise room, but heard from others these were world class.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEWscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston is truly honored to be considered your heavenly home away from home. We are delighted that our colleagues were able to anticipate your needs upon arrival, and that you enjoyed the entire experience beginning with the quickness of the valet, to the personal guestroom escort and completing with the welcome iced tea beverage. We are thrilled you were delighted with our guestroom amenities, found the electronic control system easy to use, and the wireless internet fast and efficient. Mandarin Oriental, Boston looks forward to welcoming you back, the next time business travels bring you back to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I travel often for work and was tasked with securing an event location for a Board Meeting my company was hosting in January. I was referred to the Mandarin Oriental through a colleague and from my very first interaction on a site visit, I knew it was the perfect choice. The building itself is almost brand new so all of the rooms come with the best technologies and conveniences. The staff, from the front desk team to the catering and sales staff of Carol Romano and Eric Czerlonka, are the best I've worked with and they were very responsive and helpful. They ensured the meeting ran smoothly and no detail was left unchecked. The meals were terrific throughout the day and ranged from a light continental breakfast with an omelet station in the morning to a beautiful sit down lunch of fresh seafood. We also had snack stations throughout the day with fresh baked pastries, cookies, coffee, and fresh fruit.

All of the meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows, which allowed for plenty of natural light. The audio/ visual group were terrific and stayed on site to make sure the logistics ran smoothly.

And last, but certainly not least, the hotel rooms are some of the nicest rooms you'll find when traveling. The rooms are very quiet, with comfortable beds and large, marble bathrooms. The location of the Mandarin is ideal along Boylston St. and walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants on Newbury St. and in the Back Bay.

In summary, our guests left the Mandarin extremely pleased with the accommodations and we have decided to return next year. I would highly encourage anyone to stay at the Mandarin when traveling to Boston and New England.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My 4 night stay for the Boston Marathon 2014 was a gigantic and pricey comedy of errors.

The staff here is the weakest I've encountered at any Mandarin Oriental. The door men are surly and grumpy; the front desk personnel look good, but for the most part aren't efficient, effective or bright; the housekeeping staff are friendly, but a bit too friendly; the room service staff tries, but boy did they fail a couple of times.

What went wrong: #1 room service dinner - oversalted, overseasoned, and delivered with a human hair garnish; #2 room noise - staff were well aware I was there for the marathon and needed quiet. They put us in a room directly above the 24-hr gym. At 10pm one night, a guest went on the treadmill. The thumping sound of the treadmill came directly into our room through the vent above the bed. Not good. Treadmill workout went on until 10:45 pm. The front desk manager investigated and was most apologetic. He moved us to another room the next (sleepless) morning. #3 - the front desk (big mistake - should've called in through room service) mentioned that I could order an ice bath post marathon. I thought it was a fine idea and requested they do so for a 4:30 pm delivery. The ice arrived 4:30 AM MARATHON MORNING. Needless to say, I had hoped for as much sleep that morning pre-race. Getting a 4:30 am wake up knock for ice wasn't great. Plus, this is an example of staff training. The front desk person was lazy and just put in 4:30, which should've been confirmed. To a runner, that would be considered an unusual request to ice pre-race.

The room was not inexpensive per night. I stayed for 4 nights which isn't insignificant. I think they should've tried a bit harder to accommodate a guest who was staying for a longer stay. With each mishap, I didn't throw a fit, but politely explained each issue. For room service, they offered to send something to make up for it, which I didn't need, but they should've taken it upon themselves to comp a part of the meal. For the room placement above the gym, that was inexcusable especially since I was staying for 4 nights. That room had to be the least desirable room in the entire hotel. And lastly, the ice delivery at 4:30 am...I was beyond shocked and just chalked it up to major incompetence.

Room Tip: Avoid being above or anywhere near the gym!!!! I liked looking out over Boylston, but my husband fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenGooseLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear GoldenGooseLV,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We sincerely apologize that your marathon stay did not meet the standards that we endeavor to provide to each of our guests.

It is my understanding that our Hotel Manager has been in touch with you privately to discuss your experience. Mandarin Oriental, Boston does hope to welcome you back as our guest for next year’s marathon with the hopes of restoring your confidence in Mandarin Oriental, Boston.

Most sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,971 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,429 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £371 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing