We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is smack across from the Garden in a very boisterous part of town. If you are coming to a game you can't go wrong staying here. This hotel has valet service for parking and is close to Logan if you are cabbing it.

Positives:
Very close to the Garden
Lot's of night life / bar's within spitting distance
Nice staff
Free WiFi
Good rate (around $100/nt when I was there)
Clean decent rooms

Negatives:
Small lobby area (hotel is really packed into a small building)
Noise. It is hard to fault the hotel for this, but even though I say the area is a positive it also had people pouring our of a bar screaming at each other 30 feet from my window at 3am
This is a Holiday Inn EXPRESS so some of the services are limited (room service, etc.)

I would stay here again based on the location (things to do or a game at the garden) and the price.

Go Sabres!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side if you are noise sensitive when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hello and thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is feedback like yours that assists us in getting better and providing a great hotel that , you, the guest enjoys. We were glad to hear that the location was a good fit for you and that you received a clean, fresh room. Also thank you for the comment regarding the nice staff. It is a top priority for us to provide great customer service! We do however apologize that noise was an issue. Although mostly out of our control, we are looking into new options to help our guests receive a better night's sleep. Please come back and visit when your travels bring you back to Boston. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed here for one night with a group of friends as a birthday celebration and it was a great experience. It was easy to find, in a neat location, tucked between several sports bars and restaurants. The place is literally directly across from the TD Garden (hence the name) and its a great spot for people watching! We checked in with no problem. Don't be turned off by the relatively simple decor and small lobby, the place still has class. The service is EXCELLENT and the staff was very friendly, plus we did valet parking which was easy and (somewhat) cheap and the valet guys are really nice. We wanted to head right over to Fanueil Hall which we were told was a 10 minute walk but it actually turned out to be just 5 minutes and a very direct route! We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms; very spacious and well kept with a nice little kitchen and walk in closet. It was plenty of room for 6 of us for one night. Plus we were on the top (5th) floor so we had vaulted ceilings which was really cool and made the room feel much grander. We had read reviews that recommended asking for a room near the back of the hotel due to noise issues, though we didn't think we'd be bothered by this so we ended up on the front corner room which was fine because we had awesome views of the Garden and the city streets. The hotel provided ear plugs which none of us used but probably could of as there was definitely city noise (cars, music, drunk people, etc) till about 2am, though not overly bothersome up on the fifth floor. In the morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the lobby which was decent, no five-star meal but better than I expected. Eggs, bacon, pancake-maker, cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee and juice, etc. The only annoying think was that they had all these bread products but their toaster was broken...lame! Overall I would recommend this hotel for groups of friends, young people, families with teens or couples.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are (supposedly) quieter as they are farther from the busy street. 5th floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Hello and thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours is crucial in knowing how our guests visit was and what we can do to improve. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience and the location was to your liking. It was great to hear that you received "Excellent service" as we pride ourselves on making a memorable experience with guest satisfaction being our priority. I do however apologize for the toaster issue. It was replaced immediately, but we did experience some down time. We thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon. Please say Happy Birthday to the birthday person from myself and the entire staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

On a frigid night this week, getting to the hotel was a quick sprint across the road from Boston North Station, thank heavens. When we checked in, I discovered that I had booked the wrong dates through Hotels.com!

The lady I first spoke with at Hotels.com said there was nothing she could do as it was a non-refundable reservation. But the guest services manager Amy Krawec said, "No we can do this, I'll call them". Suffice it to say not only did it get worked out, but the rate had dropped so I save $63 on two rooms.

As an added bonus, there was a classic sports bar across the road which my husband and friend could retire to while we worked out the reservation thing and a great selection of good places to eat and drink within a hundred yards; we particularly liked the Beer Works on Canal Street - brew pub with excellent food.

The corridors are a little tired, and maybe the included breakfast buffet was not the most thrilling, but the rooms looked as if they had been very recently refurbished and were stylish and clean. And loved the touch of supplying earplugs.

If only the Celtics had won! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caza1ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and for leaving your feedback. We are happy to hear that the location, the service and Amy were all great! I will be sure to share your nice comments with her and the team! Also I am glad that she was able to work out the issue with hotels.com. Again thank you for staying with us and providing helpful feedback. And we wish the Celtics would have won as well. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If your going to the TD Garden stay here! It is a typical Holiday inn express inside, outside on game night it is like Bourbon st in Lousiana! It is 40 bucks for valet and the hotel is pricey, but then again you are steps away from the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a hanicap room. The rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeerandFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and for leaving valuable feedback. We are glad the location worked out great for you! We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Boston. Thank you again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you are in town for any event at the TD Garden then this is the place to stay. My husband and I were in town for a Celtics game and chose this hotel because it is literally directly across the street from the Garden. It is also close to great restaurants and bars. Our queen room was tiny but I think we spent a total of 10 hours in our room, 8 of those spent sleeping. It was a little worn but very very clean. I was concerned about sleeping on the bed as it was pretty hard but I surprisingly had no trouble sleeping. The price of this hotel is also significantly cheaper than any of the surrounding hotels that are farther away from the Garden. Lastly, everyone we encountered working at this hotel was extremely friendly! I would definitely choose this hotel again for any future events I attend at the Garden.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello and thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay, clean room, a close proximity to your event and the TD Garden and that the service and staff were extremely friendly. Please return and be our guest soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in the Garden was perfect for my overnight stay! Quick trip to city for a Celtics game and I couldn't have asked for a better place to lay my head for the night! The hotel is literally across the street from the TD Garden as well as surrounded by quite a few spots to experience Bostonian nightlife....which lends to the fact it can get pretty loud, but the hotel provides ear plugs in the guest rooms (I personally slept through it all sans earplugs). Next time I'm in town this is definitely my go to place!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxDiva719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate your kind comments and are glad to hear you had a great stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Only thing keeping this from a 5 star is that the heat in the room was unbelievably hot...even with the windows open, it was heat only...otherwise, great location, lots of pubs and food around, right at the "T" and the Garden...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hello and thank you for giving us your feedback. It was great to hear that you had a nice stay, but I do apologize for the heat issue. We have recently installed a new system so that AC can be turned on year round for our guests that find their room to hot. Please come back and see us soon and thank you again for your comments and for choosing to be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#29 of 86 in Boston
1,475 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 86 in Boston
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 86 in Boston
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £102 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing