We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I looked at a lot of reviews for the Hotels in Boston,and plumbed for this one and we weren't disappointed.it's in a good location,the rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable,the breakfast were very good,we have stayed in various Holiday Inn's in different countries and the they all have done a good breakfast,this was no exception.The staff on the front desk were very helpful with all the questions that are thrown at them by travellers,always had a smile for you which was nice,we liked Boston not been there before,I would like to go back one day and I would stay at this hotel next time,thank you.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Main Street,couldn't hear any noise from below,maybe it's quieter In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear andandsand,

Thank you for the 5 star review we really appreciate it! We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations and that everything from the location, to the room, to the breakfast and our staff were all a great experience for you during your stay in Boston! We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    195
    108
    41
    26
See reviews for
132
155
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were allowed to check-in early. The front desk staffers were extremely friendly ,cordial and very helpful. The room was outstanding. It was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of towels and related items. We were placed in a suite which was quite roomy. It contain a fridge, microwave and a sink. The breakfast was real good with a large selection

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear bnshirt,

Thank you for your "wonderful" 5 star review! It is great to hear that our staff was able to check you and your family in early and that you really enjoyed the suite and large selection at breakfast! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
235 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed when seeing the Celtics. The parking is off venue and expensive. $60 for 17 hours. They have vallet, extra charge. The room was older, but ok. We reserved a queen. They gave us a full, when asked about it, they said there were no fulls in the hotel. Well, it's a full and the headboard was too large for the bed...anyway, they switched us to a queen. The bathroom is very small and needs to work. Location is the key here. The staff was very friendly. Will stay again, but will reserve a king and end up with a queen lol.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TELLITLIKEITIS04901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear TELLITLIKEITIS04901,

Thank you for your choosing to stay at our hotel. We appreciate the wonderful compliment regarding our friendly service staff. We’re glad to read that after some initial issues with the room, these were sorted out and allowed you to enjoy your stay. We’re sorry you were not satisfied with the bathroom. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this allows us to focus on improvements and guest satisfaction.

We look forward to hosting you again should your travel plans bring you back to Boston.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ns.ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed another stay at this Hotel and want to say thanks to the staff who made our stay feel very special. All staff are very friendly and helpful. A very special shout out to Amy the guest service manager who helped us sort through the details of our booking. The room was modern and had a fridge, microwave and sink plus a coffe maker. TV was a flat screen with all the channels we would ever need. Breakfest was great, just another great feature. Now for the real important part, the bed was truly one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on and the pillows were perfect as well. Now some might find the bathroom a bit on the small side but it was updated and had a walk in shower that had lots of hot water and was very functional. One of the things we also liked is the location, across from the TD center and one block from North station as well as a short walk the the north end. All in all it was a great stay because we were made to feel so at home. Highly recomend and will revisit next time in Boston!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear darged,

Thank you for the 5 star review and recommendation! We are thrilled to hear our staff made your stay special and thank you for the nice comment about Amy, we will be sure to share this with her! We are glad your room provided everything you needed and that you slept well on our comfortable beds and pillows! It is our goal to make our guests feel "at home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed there this week in room 407 for 3 nights using IHG points.

I was told the building was built in 1890 but the hotel was remodeled last year and it gives you a new feel while staying in a historic building. You can still see that you are in an old building but the renovations done was impresive.

The rooms has all you would find in a newer property but the room I was in is shaped differently, I guess to accomodate the building.

The bed was awesome comfortable but been on the 4th floor, the windows were high as I if was in the basement but very quiet as in the back of the building. I think the rooms in the front has normal height windows.

The breakfast is the same as any other HI Express and there are 10 tables, 7 with two seats and 3 tables with four seats so it can get packed fast but this is a small hotel.

There is a Gym in the basement and a office to work on the computer.

Its located only 2 short blocks from North Station MBTA station. You can walk everywhere or take the MBTA anywhere, 11$ day pass or 18$ week long pass. Price to be revised this week. I find the valet at 39$ is expensive and not available during midnight and 6AM, this is why I flew to Boston on this trip.

There is no restaurant on site but there are quite some good place to eat nearby within a block.

The elevator can be slow at times due to the service elevator being out of service.

My only regret is that I forgot a personal item in the room, called and they took my information but I did not hear back. It is very basic item to most but I have had this item for 25 years. Now I know not to bring old items that has a meaning to me anywhere. I think housekeeping thew it in the garbage. I am back in Boston in 6 weeks and could of recovered the item myself, this is why I cannot give this a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: I think the front rooms has more daytime light but the back rooms, you get no city noise but my wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Luke S,

As previously mentioned via your IHG Review, we thank you again for taking the time to write this descriptive review. We are always eager to hear our guests take on each section of the hotel, from breakfast, to the gym, to the comfort of the bed in the room, on everything! The service elevator for staff to use is up and running and is no longer out of service. We are sorry to hear about your forgotten item, if you would like to call the hotel and speak with a manager we would be happy to check for that item again for you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I wanted to travel to Boston to see all of the historical sites. I travel for work and I am also a member of IHG Rewards Club. I picked this hotel because I was able to stay for free using my points. I was concerned with the location because it isn't located in the center of it all. Little did I know, it didn't matter. The location of the Holiday Inn was perfect. We were right across from one of the trolly stops and TD Gardens (where the bruins play). Our room was clean with a view of the Bobby Orr Statue. The Staff was very kind and helped us every way they can. The building looked old but, the rooms were not outdated. We were able to walk to many destinations and when we couldn't walk, we hopped on the tour shuttle.

I would stay here again if I was headed back for vacation or if I was going to a Bruins game.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RatherBScanninG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear RatherBScanninG,

Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member and our recent guest. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, the location of the hotel and the staff. Boston is a great city and we are glad you were able to explore it and see some of the sites. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you are coming to Boston for a show at the Garden, this place is literally across the street from the Garden. While the facility is older, it is clean and neat. The staff is very friendly and ready to help. The view isn't much, but you are in the city. Just other buildings.

Seems like a fairly save place to walk around a bit at night and take in the local clubs and restaurants.

Warning: No self parking. Valet only and the parking fee and valet fee are a bit high I think!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Bryant A,

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad that you felt we had a great location, the hotel was clean and neat and that the staff was friendly. Please visit us again when your travels take you to Boston. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing